We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality and value, convenient for NEC or Birmingham Airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great quality and value, convenient for NEC or Birmingham Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times on Business and Pleasure.

The rooms are to a high standard. Gym & Leisure facilities are well equipped. Restaurants provide a great choice of cuisine and the breakfast never fails to impress. Unfortunately, Millers Restaurant was not open on this occasion, which was a little disappointing.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you have business nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,430
    1,154
    656
    461
See reviews for
489
1,015
320
2,342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel recently when they held the Starfury G2 event. The staff were friendly, the cleaners all wished me good morning and cleaned my room well. The event was a success and the hotel didn't charge me for my last night when I decided to leave early which was a bonus! Would deffinately stay again. The food was beautiful! The only downside s that the Costa coffee inside the hotel kept running out of the things I wanted, otherwise it was a perfect trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Katie

I was thrilled to see that you had seen your visit to the hotel as the "perfect trip". Glad you enjoyed the Starfury G2 event too.

We always endeavour to make all our guests feel welcome and I am pleased to see that you found our team here helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operlations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I recently purchased a spa deal via Groupon to use the spa facilities at Hilton metropole. I was very concerned when i first arrived as there were children screaming and splashing in the pool which was the same pool for the spa day. Quite frankly after seeing this I would have turned back but we had travelled some way. Unfortunately we were not informed that there would be children using this spa and it completley ruined our experience of a relaxing spa day, especially as children were running a bombing into the pool!

The massage was nice can't fault that but due to the noise in the pool we left after a couple of hours. The sauna and steam rooms are tiny and the jacuzzi was taken up by hotel guests. One of the Locker door's were hanging off and we didn't get offered the floral tea as part of our deal and last but not least robes and slippers were extra which again we were not informed of at the time of booking. All in all a horrible experience and since writing a letter of complaint nearly 2 weeks ago no-one has got back to me! Not very professional at all and not what i would expect from a 4 star hotel especially Hilton!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Mari

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent visit.

You will no doubt have received our letter to you dated 9 August in response to your comments and our offer of compensation.

As you will be aware, the leisure club is used by not only leisure club members but also guests of the hotel. It is unfortunate that the club was particularly busy during the time of your visit and I am sorry for any disappointment caused.

I do regret that you did not receive your floral tea as detailed in your voucher, clearly this was an oversight on the part of our team in the club and I can assure this issue has been discussed with them.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Swindon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I travel a great deal and make good use of the service given by The Hilton Hotel Group. We had not stayed at The Hilton Metropole Birmingham before, and therefore our visit of 6th & 7th August, 2012 was our first. Having stayed at many Hiltons throughout England, Scotland and Ireland, it is fair to state that this one ranks very highly in standards of excellence and service. It's location is superb being in the area of the NEC complex and within a very short walk of the NEC main halls. For arriving guests the hotel is easy to locate, either from directions given by the hotel, or by the use of Sat Nav. Our Tom Tom Sat Nav took us to the hotel entrance. There is ample parking. The hotel itself is palacial and of grandeur appearance. It is large, spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel is extremely well presented with an abundance of hardworking, professional, and friendly staff who are second to none. The Reception is adequately staffed by very smart polite individuals dressed in smart suits. Adjacent to Reception is a Concierge desk where the helpful staff are a wealth of information, not only concerning the facilities of the hotel but also of the surrounding area and attractions. If guests need any help or assistance the Concierge staff are the people to see. I can only speak for our own room, which was extremely good, spotlessly clean, well equipped, and a pleasure to occupy. For those who wish book an Executive Room, there is an Executive Lounge where guests can enjoy an array of complimentary refreshments including the most desirable of cakes etc throughout the day and evening. The general lounge on the ground floor is most impressive, being spacious, and well furnished with quality furniture, settees, armchairs etc. The bar staff are most attentive and helpful. The Restaurant is superb with well presented delicious food served to one's requirements. Several of the corridors in the hotel are grand - some with lines of chandaliers.
Complimentary papers are available in a stand for guests. For those who enjoy the 'Living Well' Health Club there are excellent facitilites. Use of this is complimentary for guests. There is a sauna, steam room, a most magnificent clean swimming pool under a glass roof, and a very well equipped gym. It was a pleasure to enter a pool that felt warm. The lighting in the pool area is superb. There are a large number of Conference Rooms available for business use. On the hotel web site there are ample photographs of the rooms etc., so I will simply attach to this review a couple of photographs of the corridors. Within three minutes of the hotel and overlooked by part of it is a large lake with a fountain. This is surrounded by grass and woodland. Wildlife is present and squirrels abound in the trees. A large flock of Canadian Geese use it as their habitat. It takes some fifteen to twenty minutes to walk around the lake - a wonderful place of tranquility. The hotel is also an excellent choice for persons travelling from Birmingham International Airport, in that one can leave one of the hotel entrances and walk directly across to an NEC enrtrance, then walk through there a short distance where one arrives at the entrance to the railway station. Adjacent to the railway station is a complimentary mono rail which runs every couple of minutes directly into the terminal at Birmingham International Airport. Also at the railway station in the NEC one can use the trains for general rail travel and a ride into Birmingham Centre by train is just a short trip. We were so impressed with the hotel and its location that we will return within a month to this hotel. Our overall assessment is that this hotel is a 'Well Oiled Machine' - in that it is very well managed with staff who demonstrate the best in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Frederick

WOW! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.

I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us and extremely pleased that you found our team here professional, friendly and efficient. Your kind comments will of course be shared with the whole team.

As a seasoned traveller your comments mean a great deal to us all here and we are delighted that you found the service you received at theh hotel to be second to none.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole in the very near future.

Thank you once again for your recommendation.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June when I went to see Westlife at their farewell tour. The first thing that hit me when I walked through the door was the smell of the hotel. It was absolutely lovely!
Every single staff member I encountered was friendly, happy and ever so helpful. One even joked with me about how long it’d be until Westlife’s reunion tour! I requested a couple of sachets of decaff coffee at a ridiculous hour (it was after the concert and a drink at the bar!). I was given many sachets of decaff coffee along with milk and shortbread by the concierge.
Breakfast was brilliant! Everything was freshly cooked. The eggs were so fresh that you took the egg in it’s shell to a chef and told them how you wanted it cooked! The selection at breakfast (cooked and continental) was astounding and I certainly got my fill!
The rooms were lovely and I had a great night’s sleep.
I was gutted at myself for forgetting that there was a pool so had no swimming costume. If you go to this hotel REMEMBER swimming gear, the pool looked lovely! There are also beauty therapists working at the hotel providing many different treatments.
An outstanding hotel at an unbeatable price.
The next time I stay in Birmingham this will be my first choice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Jess

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay with us when you went to see the Westlife concert.

I was very pleased that you found our team to be helpful and friendly - we always strive to make everyone feel welcome.

Glad to see you enjoyed the legendary Hilton breakfast - a great hit with all of our guests.

It is a pity that you couldn't use the pool on this occasion but I'm sure you will enjoy the experience on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

With many competitors it's hard to stand out at the NEC, but booking in advance can get you a great deal at the Hilton, and the service is of expected Hilton standard - rooms are nicely decorated and breakfast is very good. A good all round hotel, will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Dadio

Thank you for posting your review.

You can indeed get a great deal when booking in advance with us we also have many special offers and fly and park deals throughout the year.

Glad you enjoyed the legendary Hilton breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed with my daughters and I can honestly say that the hotel staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. The meals were very large and they did not mind us sharing them as we do not eat much. We would defiantly use them again and look forward to staying there next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Jackie

I was delighted to see that you found our staff so friendly and helpful, we always endeavour to make everyone feel welcome at the hotel.

I was also pleased to see that you had enjoyed your dining experiences here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing