We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent with Hilton standard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inconsistent with Hilton standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

As a regular traveller, I have stayed at several Hilton properties around the world. One can rely on consistency of standard associated with the brand. However, the this was a bitter disappointment. It may well be that the inferior quality rooms are allocated if booked as part of the NEC deal. The single beds are too small. The appearance of the room overall is tired and old. The bathtub was stained and the quality of the toiletries are poor. I had dinner at Miller in the hotel - good average food but way overpriced at upper London prices. Very slow service with a standard service charged added to the bill. I am struggling to find a positive, bu it is a short walk to the NEC with good proximity to the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoodlesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,431
    1,155
    658
    461
See reviews for
490
1,017
320
2,343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

You walk into this hotel and are immediately amazed by the large marble lobby and adjoining bars. Unfortunately the rooms did not impress to the same degree. I was fairly shocked to find my company had managed to book a single room, not having slept in a singe bed for many years and certainly not in any hotels. The room furniture was outdated and the varnished wood was very worn around the edges. The TV, although comparably large considering the small room had very poor signal (my colleague had similar issues in his room). The rooms did however have a balcony of sorts, albeit with a view of industrial rooftops. On a positive note, our evening meal was good, breakfast was very good and we (for an unknown reason) were given 20% off at the bars with our room card.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pih87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Hilton Birminhgam Metropole is so convienientlt situated for the NEC it is the obvious choice when attending an event there.What is surprising is how friendly it is for such a large hotel. The customer service shines out from recetion all the way through. The breakfast is excellent and the bar (although a little pricey) does superb cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

You get the impression this hotel is set up for a large number of guests coming and going on a frequent basis.

Luckily i was upgraded at the last minute by two very helpful front desk team members, so whether i would be happy with a smaller room i couldn't say, but the large twin room on the 5th floor was perfectly adequate for one night. The room was clean, had air con and the bed was comfortable - i couldnt really ask for more.

The gym was pretty good too, and a bonus compared to some hotels. The bar area is certainly pretty lively at night but obviously watch the bar prices. Breakfast was ok - typical buffet style but it did the job.

For a large hotel, it had a nice feel, but it's definitely one for business trips/NEC visits or pre-flight stays rather than a holiday in my opinion.

Room Tip: There isnt really a good view - Airport to the rear - Car park to the Front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 773RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Overall

I constantly travel for work and am in hotels 3-4 nights a week clocking up over 180 room nights last year. I hadn’t stayed near Coventry before and was at the Hilton Metropole in Birmingham for 7 weeks. The hotel is huge with 3 wings all accessed by different lifts. A large number of conferences were held during my time there and the hotel could feel somewhat overwhelmed by the number of people actually in the building.
As this is a Hilton product I knew I would be safe. I had seen the trip advisor photos which show very different standards of room. Overall the hotel is quite nice, good location for business into Coventry and Birmingham and is really close to the airport. The hotel also offers a courtesy shuttle service every half hour to the station which is right next to the airport – only 5 mins away. The hotel generally has clean rooms, although size, shape and amenities can vary substantially. Each week, upon going to reception I was greeted by the staff who issued me as a Diamond HH member with my welcome letter, complimentary WiFi code and with the exception of my last 2 weeks, an upgrade to an executive room. The rooms are accessed through three lifts, Lobby A is the main one next to reception and takes you to normal and deluxe rooms on 5 floors. Lobby C is direct up to the executive rooms but links to Lobby A on each floor and as a colleague found out, Lobby B (rooms with only 3 digits) takes you to rooms right above the conference and function rooms at the back of the hotel – avoid these at all costs. He had trouble sleeping the whole week that Liz Earle, Specsavers and Avon were basically taking over the hotel with late night partys.

There are fitness facilities including a pool and it feels very open and airy.
Staff are really helpful but can appear over stretched – I generally cant fault them at all but on several visits wake up calls etc didn’t happen and papers weren’t delivered despite a few asks. Again this is when they are fully booked.

My biggest issue – and really only issue with the hotel is the layout of the lobby. The front desk is half moon shaped so HHonours check in is on the right, next to the main check in. When the hotel is busy the morning check out queue can be so long that you miss travel arrangements. I have stood for over 25 minutes. Generally a long line of guests queue blocking all access to the desks and when HHonours members skip the line to go up the HHonours queue – as they rightly should, miffed business men start to cry foul and create a scene. This is unfair on guests who stay more than 36 nights a year making them Gold or 60+ nights a year making them diamond. This should be rectified and managed better so that scenes do not occur.


Service
The service is very good – welcoming at breakfast and generally very attentive at dinner in the bar or in the restaurants. Again when the hotel is busy, the bar staff can be rushed off their feet so be prepared to wait for you food. Also when the hotel is booked out the exec Lounge – where the service is excellent – gets so overwhelmed that they created a space at the back of the bar area but as me and several colleagues found , there was still no space. If the hotel is granting access to large corporations please don’t forget about us loyal HHonours members, we like to use the services too.

Food
The breakfast food is almost exactly the same as every other Hilton brand. There are cereals, cooked breakfast and breads area. There is an omelette station and all food is as one would expect of a Hilton.

Value
Generally very good value for money given its location and amenities. I was on corporate rates but when I was looking at booking I could see advanced payment rates of £29 per night. Not bad.

Sleep Quality
As you would expect from a Hilton bed, sleep was great – except in single rooms. I havent slept on single beds since I was a teenager. Very awkward and in such small rooms they were jammed up against two walls. Double and above is fine.

Cleanliness
Very clean, couldn’t fault the hotel on this aspect

Location
It located within the NEC complex near Birmingham. Within walking distance of the rail station and airport connections (there is also the bus). Not much else to do around there if you aren’t there for meetings or a conference. Its 20 minutes train to Birmingham.

Rooms
I stayed in a number of rooms over my set of stays. The rooms are average sized – judging from experience of other Hiltons, Marriott’s, Hamptons, Jury’s, Doubletree, Radisson’s which are usually 20-25sqm or larger, the double and above rooms would be approx 25sqm. You have a double bed, small wardrobe with digital safe, fridge and 32inch flat screen TV. Most bathrooms are a good size. Single rooms cant be more than 9sqm and the bathroom not more than 2sqm. Avoid these!!! The bathrooms can be so small you have to step over the toilet to get in the bath to shower. Also in some rooms regardless of status, one can have trouble getting reception of the in room wifi, the signal seems to drop out the further along lobby C you are.

General
Very nice clean hotel with good service in a good location. I will be back should work take me back to Coventry.

Room Tip: aim for Lobby C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Iain

Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of the hotel.

I was pleased to see that overal you had enjoyed your stay with us and found service levels to be very good and our team here both welcoming and efficient. We always strive to make all our guests feel at home.

I do regret that your newspaper delivery was overlooked on a couple of occasions and apologise for any delays you may have experienced due to high occupancy levels on certain dates.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole in the near future.

PS I would recommend our Express Check Out facility for those guests wishing to queue at Reception.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

It seems you get an inferior room if you get a deal, my room was very small and hot
It was a long way from the reception and other facilities
The price of food and drink was expensive with service charges automatically added regardless of service

Room Tip: Ask when booking to get a decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Malcolm

Thank you for providing your comments following your recent visit to the hotel.

The hotel has a number of different room types and sizes and great deals to be had on all room types. perhaps i could recommend one of our larger rooms the next time you visit - I am sure you will not be disappointed.

We hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Check in was usual matter of fact hello room here you go goodbye. No personality there.
As a Hilton honours gold member was informed no upgrade available it's ony one night so no big deal.
On opening the room door there's a small dark old tired room.
There is squashed fly stuck to window the widow catch was broken so would not close. Pulling back curtain cloud of dust bellows towards you. The dirt and dead insects fill the sliding door crevice. there's a smell of old dusty dirty textiles.
The bed small and very old looking. The pillow cases have shoe prints on them and another has lots of yellow stains.
Reception don't really want to know untill requesting to speak to a manager then suddenly they come up with another room.
Excatly the same standard but cleaner.
This has to be one of the worst hiltons we have stayed in. Considering the cost it really needs a revamp to be charging the rate.

Room Tip: Room 3047 is filthy Room 4057 view of roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Kaz

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you appear to have been allocated a room that had not been serviced. As a Hilton Honors member, you will be aware that a complimentary upgrade will be offered when availability permits and I regret that due to high occupancy levels, we were unable to do so on this occasion.

I was pleased to see that we found an alternative room for you and do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing