We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

£198 for a two night stay at this place is a joke!! The prices in the bar are ridiculous, just because your in the middle of no where they think they can charge £7.40 for a Malibu and coke! The room was just a bog standard 3 * hotel room, we had paid for a queen delux, nothing special at all. We where only provided with one glass in our bathroom which is not a major issue but you expect the basics when paying for it! Also the shower curtain was horribly stained at the bottom. i had a treatment at the spa which was advertised as around 60mins, from where i'm from 40mins is not around 60mins. I am waiting for a call from the spa manager about this as she was on holiday and apparently there is nobody else responsible enough to deal with complaints. I wouldn't go back to the Hilton again, go to the mint hotel, cheaper, great location and clean!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! go to the Mint hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cromer2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Gem

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was sorry that you had found your stay to be a disappointing experience. Our prices are monitored to ensure we remain competitive and can advise they are in line with other 4 star establishments throughout the country.

Your comments regarding the shower curtain have been passed to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention and I apologise for this lapse in standards.

I will of course discuss the issue of the spa treatment with our Soa Manager and ensure you are contacted.

I do hope that your disappointment on this occasion, you may reconsider visiting us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,492
    1,201
    681
    479
See reviews for
513
1,062
329
2,434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Great price, and I was given a free room upgrade as well!!. Staff very polite especially restaurant staff. Will stay here again myself, highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Pippa

I am delighted that you had such a fantastic stay and that we were able to offer you a complimetnary upgrade.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

First time Guest at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Absolutely fantastic hotel, right next door to NEC. Room was very comfortable, lovely decor and very clean. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast great, lots of choice and excellent quality. Super facilities, took advantage of the pool and spa, very relaxing. overall hotel far exceeded my expectations. Thank you very much. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Pippa

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the hotel.

I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay so much and that we had exceeded your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights as part of a business conference. The room was well laid out and stylish with a super comfy bed. Not much of a view or much natural light. The bathroom was functional hit felt a bit dated compared to the room.
Breakfast facilities great despite being incredibly busy the staff were on top of it. The conference facilities were good and the buffet supplied tasty if not a bit stodgy!
Car park a bit intimidating as its huge and must be used by airport users as a longstay alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you had found everything to your satisfaction and you had been impresswed with your dining experiences.

We hope to see you again some soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we are going to be staying here again in january for the international elvis convention-it will be our third annual stay for this event and we cannot fault the hotel in any way.
the facilities,food,staff,service are all excellent and their special price for the convention is excellent-3 nights dinner,bedand breakfast for two is only costing £196!!!
the parking is expensive at £15 per day but that is reduced to half price following a stay at the hotel which isnt as bad when you know in advance

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Donna

We are delighted to be able to welcome you back again in January for the every popular Elvis Convention.

It is always pleasing to see our regular guests again and hope you enjoy the Convention.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

For the second year running I stayed at the Hilton whilst visiting the Top Gear Live show at the NEC, and for the second year I was delighted at the attention to detail shown at this hotel. From the point of booking (by phone, as I like to check the details) the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and spent a good deal of time making sure I was happy.

The room I booked was a straightforward one but it was quite spacious, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and the view, whilst being of the car park (I noticed a red Ferrari!) wasn't unpleasant. This year I had room service as the bar was crowded by the time I returned from the event, and considering it was 11pm on a Saurday night the meal arrived very quickly, and was enjoyable.

I will certainly stay here again. Yes, it's not the cheapest in the area, but sometimes that's not the point, if you feel you've enjoyed yourself. I can't fault the attitude and helpfulness of the staff, and that's very important when you're a lone female. One thing - when you're booking, ask about special offers. When I did so I got a package of bed, breakfast, afternoon tea and a 30-minute treatment in the Spa, at nearly 40% discount off the bed and breakfast price!

Room Tip: Phone to discuss possible rooms as you'll get more information to help make the best choice. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Diti

Thank you for for taking the time to post your comments following your feedback.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us again and we very mcuh look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I visited for an exhibition and stayed for three nights in October of 2012.
Having booked on Expedia for a very good room rate I certainly did not expect too much and my expectations were certainly not exceeded.
On arrival the parking was expensive, I had a free pass as an exhibitor to the nearby Nec car park and opted to take the long walk as opposed to being charged to park nearer to the hotel. Check in was efficient, and after a long walk I arrived at my room. Booked as a single (I expected it to be small) it was tiny, the room was not in good repair, the bathroom was tatty with the tile work in a very poor condition. The room was clean and the daily cleaning service was of a very high standard.
It seems this hotel should have its ratings split between conference and non conference, when chatting to some other guests they reported that their rooms were of a very good standard in the main body of the hotel. I suspect I was in the budget wing and honestly for the $99 a night I should not expect much more.
I did have to walk through two wedding receptions to get to my room over the weekend and possibly could have blended in with the wedding party.
If you get a great price at this Hilton be prepared for the room to be a motel experience, but the in house prices to be 5 star, (Wireless Internet at $21 per day!!!!!)

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Kevin

Thank you for providing your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I was pleased to see you had found a reasonable deal for your stay with us and would perhaps recommend one of our larger rooms next time you stay - you will not be disappointed.

I would advise that complimetnary wifi is available in our Lobby area and our Executive Lounge area and regret that you may not have been aware of this.

I hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing