We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We arrived after midnight and was made to feel welcome.The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. The room was furnished to a high standard with a comfortable bed and the decor was particularly stylish. We would have loved to stay longer as the leisure facilities looked good.Car parking was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Maddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Maddy

I was so glad to see that you had found your recenty stay with us to be great value for money and everything was as you would expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,234 - 4,240 of 5,345 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here at a great rate as we were visiting the NEC. AS the hotel was really busy we did not get an upgrade for being gold members but we got a fruit tray and chocolates to compensate.I have no complaints; lovely breakfasts (they coped very well with the large number of people),lovely swimming pool,great dinners at usual Hilton prices, but drinks expensive. There is Wi-Fi in the reception area. We will certainly stay here again as long as we can get a conference room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Airmilesfreak

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you had enjoyed your visit and found the rate you received was good value for money.

We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have stayed with the Hilton at various locations many times over and never had a problem in the past. However the Birmingham Hilton Metropole is VERY dated. Rooms are cold. If staying in rooms located via Lift Lobby B then you will have to contend with a very loud generator/aircon unit outside your room all night.

Main problems.

* Beds are very small and uncomfortable.
* Rooms are dirty and extremely dated in need of dire refurbishment.
* TV picture quality is pathetic, more snow than the North Pole and TV is slow/unresponsive.
* One of the lifts in Lobby B constantly breaks down leaving only one other small lift.
* Water pressure for the shower needs some attention, although plenty of hot water available.
* Room furniture is falling apart, wall paper hanging off walls and black heat marks around TV

It is such a shame that the Hilton name is attached to such a dated hotel. I would not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone (enemies included) as the quality does not match the brand.

On a good note however, the staff are generally polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid "Lift Lobby B" at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Dave

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The hotel is currently undertaking a huge refurbishment programme and I can advise that the next phase of our refurbishment will be our single rooms. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. Rest assured I have spoken with our Chief Engineer regarding your comments about this particular room and the appropriate corrective action to be taken.

Thank you for yoru comment regarding the helpfulness of our team here and I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed one night when attending a presentation dinner in one of the hotel function rooms. Food quality at both function and breakfast very good. Luxury feel to the hotel with courteous, efficient staff. Negatives? Expensive parking changes for hotel room guests unacceptable. This seems to be a common issue with the Hilton chain in the UK.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank STGLNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your comments following your stay with us.

I was very pleased that you found our team to be courteous and efficient, we always endeavour to make all our guests feel welcome and valued.

Glad to see you enjoyed your dining experience and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Although the hotel does operate a parking charge policy, residents do receive a discount on parking.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

£198 for a two night stay at this place is a joke!! The prices in the bar are ridiculous, just because your in the middle of no where they think they can charge £7.40 for a Malibu and coke! The room was just a bog standard 3 * hotel room, we had paid for a queen delux, nothing special at all. We where only provided with one glass in our bathroom which is not a major issue but you expect the basics when paying for it! Also the shower curtain was horribly stained at the bottom. i had a treatment at the spa which was advertised as around 60mins, from where i'm from 40mins is not around 60mins. I am waiting for a call from the spa manager about this as she was on holiday and apparently there is nobody else responsible enough to deal with complaints. I wouldn't go back to the Hilton again, go to the mint hotel, cheaper, great location and clean!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! go to the Mint hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cromer2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Gem

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was sorry that you had found your stay to be a disappointing experience. Our prices are monitored to ensure we remain competitive and can advise they are in line with other 4 star establishments throughout the country.

Your comments regarding the shower curtain have been passed to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention and I apologise for this lapse in standards.

I will of course discuss the issue of the spa treatment with our Soa Manager and ensure you are contacted.

I do hope that your disappointment on this occasion, you may reconsider visiting us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Great price, and I was given a free room upgrade as well!!. Staff very polite especially restaurant staff. Will stay here again myself, highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Pippa

I am delighted that you had such a fantastic stay and that we were able to offer you a complimetnary upgrade.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

First time Guest at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Absolutely fantastic hotel, right next door to NEC. Room was very comfortable, lovely decor and very clean. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast great, lots of choice and excellent quality. Super facilities, took advantage of the pool and spa, very relaxing. overall hotel far exceeded my expectations. Thank you very much. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Pippa

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the hotel.

I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay so much and that we had exceeded your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing