We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location for Birmingham airport and NEC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for an event in one of the deluxe rooms. The room was nicely appointed and very clean and service from the staff was excellent. The lobby areas and bar are impressively designed with lots of marble and chandeliers. Drinks and food prices are quite steep though. Breakfast was excellent, only the dinner (included in event package) was average rather than great. Good value package so would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrumpyAndWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and had enjoyed the famous Hilton breakfast - a bit hit with many of our guests.

I would point out that our prices are constantly monitored to ensure we remain competitive with other 4 star establishments throughout the country.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,333 - 4,339 of 5,557 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were put into the Hilton when Birmingham Airport was closed recently with the bad weather. I can safely say that I will never choose to stay here and pay.

To start with the TV in the room did not work. There was no water available, and the tap water smelled funky, so wasn't keen on drinking it. The pillows were cheap, and uncomfortable. The bathroom was tired, bath didn't look clean - but this could have purely been stains from age.

If this was a room kept for free stays like ours, then I guess I shouldn't complain. But if this was a room I was given for a fee, I would have a lot of complaints to make.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near Lifts B section. Way down the end of the hotel, and shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Lucles

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of your room. I can advise that the refurbishment of our single rooms will commence in February of this year and I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was at the Hilton for a business conference. The staff were very friendly, the venue was clean and well presented.
The only issues i had were that the rooms were a little small compared to other Hiltons I have stayed in and the walls were a little thin. The couple in the other room were very happy with the beds and there must have been a Bible in the room as the female was praying to God for quite a while.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. My company have booked another event there and I will be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid staying above the hotel entrance. The air con units for the bar area are right outside the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEMwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had enjoyed yoru visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

There was a major exhibition on so the hotel was full especially with flights cancelled. The bar and restaurants were packed but service by staff was attentive and fast. The hotel rooms are in urgent need of re-furbishment. Mine had no air con not that it was needed and a single bed I thought they had gone our with the Ark!

Room Tip: Pay extra to get an upgraded room if they exist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 657maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Woka13

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the hotel.

I was pleased to see that you found our team here friendly and helpful - we always endeavour to deliver the highest possible levels of service.

I can advise that our single rooms are due for refurbishment in February and would apologise for any disappointment with regards to air conditioning. This issue will of course be addressed during the refurbishment of these rooms.

We hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Metrapole before departing on our ski holiday, we mustered as a small group of six! bar was nice but menu had no gluten free options so we headed out for a meal! We had a nice room which was by the lifts which was great for us to access with ski's etc but we later found out it was nit such a bonus.
There was a conference for City Electrical Factors and a Wedding taking place whilst we visited, we were unable to sleep due to noise of people screaming exiting the lift and finding their way back to their rooms. The lift itself was noisy and quite frankly it was similar to trying to sleep in a high st! very noisy.

I spent the night bleary eyed and when we went downstairs at 6 am there were a group of men in a drunken state shouting and swearing loudly still at the bar!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunderblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Thunderblob

Thank you for your comments in relation to your visit to the hotel.

Whilst I was pleased to see that you were happy with your room, I am sorry that you were disturbed by inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms during the night.

I can advise that you can request a room away from the lifts in future, if you wish to avoid ther possibility of being disturbed.

I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel last weekend and had a relaxing time. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was very good (although it was a bit on the cool side). We didnt enjoy our evening meal because it was self service and again on the cool side. The drinks are pricey but the atmosphere in the bar area is very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Hazel

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. It is always pleasing to see that our guests have had a relaxing stay.

I was sorry to see that you found the food had not kept warm during buffet service - this is not usually an issue and I will of course pass on your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Good hotel, 4 star corporate, been many times before but for those considering functions and events I simply cannot rate the food more highly. An event catering for 200 had 3 main meals over 2 days and they were superlative. For mass catering it was imaginative, beautifully presented and sensationally delicious.

In the foyer you'll be ripped off for coffee but for the all else; rooms quiet and warm, pool clean, staffing excellent but the food made this last event.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Happy Hayling

thank you so much for such a great review.

I am of course delighted that you were impressed with the catering you received whilst at your conference. Your comments will of course be shared with our Executive Chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing