We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our family stayed here as our base for visiting Birmingham, Cadbury World and then Alton Towers on our return home. My daughter recommended this hotel when she had been to the NEC which is within walking distance. We we are pleased with our rooms (we had 3) and the breakfast was wonderful (not cheap though!). We also had a bar meal one night which again was excellent.
What was a treat was the pool, which was lovely and quiet every time we visited.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1988VIKT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Chocolatedeborah

I am delighted to see that you had enjoyed your leisure break with us whilst visiting other Midland attractions.

Our leisure Club is very popular and I'm pleased that you were impressed with our pool - one of the biggest hotel pools in the UK!

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,285)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,004 - 4,010 of 5,285 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Normally I'm not a great fan of the Hilton Chain - I've had a lot of experience with the Metropole on Edgware Road in London, and it's all ways left me less than impressed - HOWEVER, this Hilton, I'm pleased to report, is different.

Staff - Very helpfull. Room - Clean, tidy and well presented. Bathroom spotlessly clean and smelling fresh. Shower pressure - decent enough. I like the kind of shower that almost draws blood, this wasn't one of those, but it was good enough.

Breakfast was fresh and plentyful.

All in all - not bad, not bad at all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we have restored your faith in Hilton.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel int eh not too distant future.

Kind regards


Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My company put here for three nights, and I was not disappointed. While my room could have done with an update, I am more interested in a clean room and hotel which I am very happy to say it was.
What makes this hotel for me is the service, nothing was to much trouble. The shuttle bus to and from the hotel was great and so were the drivers. Front desk, on the ball with a nice quick check in, but the star of the show, Kitti from the F & B department was fantastic, as is the way with me I had so many questions and requests and she was more than happy to help.
I work in the catering and hospitality industry and know all to well that most places have forgotten what customer service is, that has not happened here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Lewy

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us.

I was of course delighted to see that you had received excellent service from our team and especially our F&B team - your kind comments will be shared with them.

I do hope we can offer you another warm welcome back to Hilton Birmingham Metropole very soon.

Kind regards


Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Situated as it is on the National Exhibition Complex in the prime location near to the entrance Plaza this Hotel shamefully takes advantage of this and offers nothing to justify its four star rating.
Poor service in all departments,Overpriced Room Rates,Dreadful Food,Unhelpful Staff and Management and TLC needed throughout the complex.

I have delayed putting my thoughts down on my awfull four day stay here because I was trying to forget however I finally decided to just issue a few words of warning to any future customers to avoid them wasting their money.

From the moment I entered the Hotel having found Failed to get any of the three staff situated at the concierge desk to help me with my luggage despite me pushing a wheelchair with my partner in who was unable to walk to the dreadful check-out experience when I found that they debited unspecified amounts to my credit card without my knowledge. I cannot record a more unpleasant Hotel than this one.

As a Hilton Hhonors Gold Card member I have stayed in their Hotels all over the world none has been as bad as this and Hilton should be ashamed of themselves,

Find somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you have to stay ask to have a room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Russell

I was very concerned to read your comments in relation to your stay with us and surprised to learn that you had received poor service from all departments. Without further details, I regrettably am unable to investigate further.

Our Concierge will always assist guests and I can only assume they were dealing with other guests at the time of your arrival. I do however regret any disappointment this may have caused.

Perhaps you would like to contact me at the hotel to provide further details of your stay and I will be happy to look into these issues for you.

In the meantime, I do hope you will accept my apologies for the poor impression gained on this occasion - it is certainly not reflective of the high levels of service that prevail at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

Kind regards


Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked overnight+parking for 8 days via website also booked 2x meals @£25 each. Although starter & dessert were ok the main buffet food was awful, unrecognisable mush - complete waste of money. We also booked a taxi with concierge for 7am and it never arrived!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your main course. We usually receive very high praise for the quality and variety of dishes provided in our restaurants. Howevger, your comments will be shared with the Executive Chef.

Perhaps our Millers restaurant may be a suitable alternative next time you visit.

The taxi company the hotel uses is usually always very reliable - i do regret any inconvenience caused as a result of this taxi failing to arrive.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

At a work conference of 500 people which seemed to stretch the hotel! my bathroom was in need of a refurb and had a strange chemically smell - not nice. Clean enough but food was a bit average and very slow service. As a few other reviewers have commented - prefer the Crowne Plaza to be honest!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Battie1

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay.

I am sorry that you felt the levels of service were not up to our normal efficient standard on this occasion. I do hope you will accept my apologies for any disappointment. Your comments will be shared with the management for the review and action.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards


Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My last review concerned our previous stay when all was not as we had come to expect from the hotel which is one of our regular ports of call when flying into the UK.
Glad to report that our stay just before Xmas was really good with normal service resumed.
Excellent suite and full use of the exec lounge.
As per other reviewers beverages / food in lobby lounge bar still considered to be expensive when compared to other hotels.
Full marks to the staff for making our stay comfortable & enjoyable.

Room Tip: Exec / Suites very good looking over lake at rear
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was of course pleased to see that you had an enjoyable visit on this occasion and that the usual levels of service you would expect were indeed delivered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £82 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing