We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good executive lounge and fast room service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good executive lounge and fast room service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Well I had a deluxe room booked but I was given a complimentary upgrade to a executive room upon arrival as a gold honors member (however, I did have to ask for it). The room was clean, smart and had a leather couch. The bathroom was modern and had a bath tub plus a standalone shower.

The executive lounge has a good selection of snacks at all times (plus tea with sandwiches is served between 3-5pm and evening snacks with drinks served between 6-8.30pm).

I also ordered room service which arrived promptly and tasted nice (chick pea curry with naan and rice). Both me and my wife really enjoyed our stay despite reading previous negative reviews about this hotel. I was very impressed with their service.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if you are a gold/diamond member. They tend not to offer it unless you ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,431
    1,155
    658
    461
See reviews for
490
1,017
320
2,343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were staying at the hotel to see Beyonce as it is a short walk to the LG Arena so was perfect. The rooms were spottless, very modern!The staff were really friendly and approachable and the receptionist was really helpful when we arrived. And when I came back from the pool and sauna (which is free access), the staff had left me a bottle of wine and cakes in aid of my birthday which was so amazing and made my day!
The bar sold food which you could even eat late on (even after 12 at night) with reasonable prices, even though the service was a bit slow this was probably because a lot of the concert fans were staying there so it was really busy.
On the morning of my birthday, the staff noticed it was my birthday as i was wearing a badge and everyone said happy birthday to me, they even came to my table with a cake with candles in, with 'happy 18th birthday' writen on the plate which was so thoughtful and made me feel special!
The breakfast was well worth the money, buffet style, which offered various different foods catering for everyone, their was a variety of different drinks that were available at breakfast too!
All in all a really good stay, would definitley reccommend this hotel, and if i'm staying in Birmingham again this would definitley be my first choice.We once stayed at a place called ENCORE hotel in birmingham which was really poor, dirty and bad service. This is definitley the best! You could change the temperature of the room really easily the beds were really comfy and there was so much room in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenoliviaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

For a hotel carrying the Hilton name and of that size it must have the smallest gym. Overcrowded, poorly ventilated. Helpful staff in health club, but poor impression.
Good food in restaurant, reasonable service.
Good size room, very comfortable and as far as location you can't do better for access to NEC and Airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Clean and tidy hotel which has everything of Hilton standard. Was in an excellent location and is incredibly handy for functions at the NEC next door. Just had room only for one night so couldn't comment about the food but we did have drinks and the service was a little slow and the quality of the cocktails on arrival were very below par but we'd waited that long we didn't turn them away! Overall good hotel none the less and wouldn't hesitate to stay in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahw0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Used husbands Hilton Honors Gold points for overnight stay before an early flight in February. Booked a twin deluxe - nothing deluxe about it - more like a standard room in any other Hilton. Tiny room. No robes/slippers, no hospitality basket and not even complimentary water - in fact no water at all. I rang reception to ask about these missing standard deluxe features and was told they were cutting back but would see what could be done. Nothing. Went down to reception to find out why nothing arrived and eventually was given one robe, one bottle of water and one bar of chocolate! The hotel was full that night and we had to eat a buffet meal in the main restaurant. This was £28 each and was the worst buffet food I've ever had. This is not what we've come to expect from Hilton hotels and would never consider staying here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottingham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a conference in the hotel. The conference facilities were great, as were the public areas of the hotel, but I was very disappointed with the room. Not what I expected from a Hilton hotel. My room was in the 'B' lift part of the hotel (room 330) and it was small, narrow and just looked dated I don't think it had been decorated for 15-20 years.
I wouldn't mind in a budget hotel, but I was looking forward to a bit of a treat- a rare night away from the kids- but this unfortunately just felt a bit shabby.
It was clean though.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms accessed by the 'B' lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Nick

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel.

We are currently in the process of updating our roms in this part of the hotel and I regret any disappointment experienced on this occasion.

I was pleased to see that you had otherwise found the facilities to meet your expectations.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I recently visited this hotel with business colleagues to source a venue for our event.
During the day visited other venues and upon arriving outside the Hilton my heart sank. From the outside the building appears to be ugly and in desperate need of some paint.
When entering the venue I was pleased to see that the hotel was more impressive. We did not view the bedrooms as I should imagine that are pretty standard which you will find at any Hilton in the world.
Meeting rooms fairly impressive and seemed to offer professional services for our event.
Great location for Birmingham airport and overnight stays, however we decided not to use this venue as looking for more than a standard hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pimms29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Pimms29

Thank you for your comments.

Appearances from the outside can be deceiving. Whilst I was pleased that you were impressed with the venue and the facialities we have to offer, I was disappointed that you decided not to hold your event with us on this occasion - maybe next time.

I do hope you will consider us for any future events you are holding - you will not be disappointed with the levels of service delivered.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing