We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
2 reviews
“Spa day”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a spa day for me and my cousin's belated birthday presents on the 28th October we found it abit difficult to park but managed to find a good space after driving round for a few minutes but was not impressed with the price of the parking £7 and we was only booked in for two hours! The outside didn't look appealing you would of never of thought it was a high rated hotel. Obviously inside it was very nice we walked over the to spa area and the pool looked alot bigger on the website and you could only swim around the sides as thete was ropes right in the middle of the pool for people to swim laps only. The jacuzzi was very small and we never got the chance to go in as people just hogged it for ages. My cousin got her treatment first and was very impressed I however had to go to the gum for half hour to get my moneys worth as time was ticking.The gym was very small and only had equipment that would only really work mainly on your legs and the rowing machines was a joke never broke out in a sweat. The therapists was very helpful and friendly they told us where to go where to get our towels, robes, slippers ect. They pointed us to the right desk to signfor them and the staff there just ddidn't seem bothered to help to direct us to the changing rooms ect. They was too busy chatting and looked like they clearly didn't want to be there expecially the one with the blonde ponytail! So be warned she's un approachable but again the nice friendly therapist's led us in the right direction. I had my treatment and it was fantastic the room was so relaxing I could of easily fallen asleep she was that good. The sauna was just to much for me I couldn't hack it no more than a minute I felt like I was going to die at one point but the steam room was nice felt very refreshing once id been in. Me and my cousin couldn't do much together because we both had half hour difference between us so you did feel alot of the timevon your own. The floor by the showers leading to the sauna and steam room was dangerous I know it couldn't be heloed but maybe the plans for where everything was located wasn't carefully planed out properly and no signs to say wet floors either. Maybe a steam room a sauna and shower shouldn't be next to each other am surprised they haven't been sued I know I slipped atleast 20 times luckily not on my behind! The changing rooms was very embarrassing I know us woman all have the same but I personally don't feel comfortable getting undressed infront of my partner let alone a bunch of strangers and there was a few woman of the Muslim religion did not want to show others there bodies infront of people either as we onow from there beliefs they have to be covered up I did feel sorry for them. The lockers some didnt work properly the staff failed again to tell us you needed a pound coin for the lockers and not all of them had ones with a pin key a key to pin onto your swimming costume whilst your swimming ect. I think the therapists need to be praised with the way they delt with the incompetence of the other staff doing there job for them and dealing with un organisations of the place. I will however consider coming back again for what I paid it was worth the money but next time I would like my complimentary herbal tea on arrival I was offered in the package I paid for!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cathyboo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Cathy

Thank you for your comments.

I was pleased that you had enjoyed your spa treatments, although sorry to see you were disappointed with certain aspects of your visit to the gym. Please rest assured your feedback will be shared with the Leisure Club Manager for his review with the team.

I'm glad that you will return in the future and we look forward to offering you a warm welcome then.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,491
    1,200
    680
    478
See reviews for
513
1,060
329
2,433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here last year, which is why we went back., this time was very disappointing will not be going back again. The twin room was small and the comments from previous occupants were still in the room and had not been handed in which we read,(over priced and hairs in the bath) so I looked in the bathroom and they were still there( hairs in the bath), so obviously this had not been cleaned,dirty mirror ,dirty windows,not what you would expect from the Hilton.when we told reception about this,oh very sorry will make a note of it,no eye contact as she was busy organising here paperwork, not very professional at all,we could of gone to a premier in and got better service.VERY VERY dissapointed.for what they charge they could use the money to bring the decor up to date

Room Tip: When booking don't go for twin beds,they are small and very narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Chris

Thank you for your feedback.

I was sorry to see that you were disappointed with yuor experience on this occasion. Your experience is certainly not reflective of our usual high standards and I can confirm that the issues you highlighted will be discussed with each relevant manager.

Plese accept my apologies for the shortcomings you had during your stay and I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again at some point.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because we were attending a charity ball and it was ok for that, certainly wouldn't stay here out of choice if weren't going to an event. Hotel facilities are good but rooms are a little dated and in need of some renovation. Drinks are very expensive, £4.70 for a medium takeaway latte at Costa Coffee is ridiculous.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Phil

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I can confirm that the hotel is constantly updating and renovating the property and I regret any disappointment you experienced on this occasion.

I do hope you consider returning in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The hotel was busy the first night so we could only be offered a twin room but staff were happy to move us into a double room for our second night. The place is on a very grand scale and the service at reception and in the Executive Lounge was impeccable. The only downside was we felt the cleaners who were cleaning the rooms on our corridor seemed to visibly begrudge the fact that we had organised a late check out. This should really be kept underwraps to the guests no matter whether this provides a problem to their daily duties.
The facilities on offer are good although, the place is a little dated and could at some point in the future do with a bit of a facelift. The shop seems to sell some very touristy things which don't seem to be in keeping with a 4 star hotel.
We enjoyed our stay all the same.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Lou

I was pleased to see that you had overall enjoyed your stay with us and that the service you received from our team was friendly and efficient.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for two days earlier this month and was really impressed by this hotel. Rooms are clean, have everything you need and a security guard even walked me and my partner to the pond by the NEC after asking him for directions! Can't remember his name, but may have started with a 'J', and he was very polite and helpful.

Went to the German Market in the evening also and had a great time and the transport links back to this hotel are top notch. Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, following your stay with us.

I regret that had a delay at check-in - we normally offer a very efficient check-in process, however would offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I can advise that our peices are in line with other 4 star establishments throughout the country and are regularly monitored to ensure we remain competitive.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The good: very easily accessible on foot from the NEC/airport/train station, and breakfast was good. The not so good: everything else!

Upon arrival at around 8.45pm, the check in queue was over 30 people long with just one staff member on the desk, luckily there was a slightly shorter hilton honours queue but the wait was still far too long. Hotel huge so lots of lift lobbies, the one I had to use had half the lifts out of service and I waited for more than 5 mins each time. Breakfast was usual hilton standard, plenty of variety and seated promptly seated so that was a high point.

The prices are ridiculous at the hotel, £2.30 for a small bottle of water, and drinks/food at the bar were heavily overpriced.

Room was lacklustre and in dire need of updating. Comfortable but bathroom starting to look grimy etc. due to age. Aside from the queue and lift nothing really worth complaining about, just a distinctly average hotel. Maybe a trip to Vegas is in order so the team can see how to run an enormous hotel in style?!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank savagenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed last night as we had visited a show at the NEC just a few minutes walk away
After a lengthy queue at check in we went to our room which was nice and clean and very comfortable.
We had an executive room which gave us use of the VIP executive lounge which was good, The male host (Simon) was very accommodating and was interacting with all of the guests while it was very clear that he and the other staff were rushed of their feet, there were not enough seats for everyone but we managed with the help of Simon to get a table. The only downside to the Executive lounge is that there wasn't a continual supply of food!
The following morning we used the swimming pool where the staff were equally as friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again as it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: pay extra for executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your feedback following your visit to the hotel.

I'm pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the benefits of our Executive Lounge.

We hope to see again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing