We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small village with rotating residents poor & expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A small village with rotating residents poor & expensive”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I appreciate by location it is a transient venue therefore the customer care is limited as you may or may not return deepening on your Job or frequency of exhibitions/concerts.

Booked a double room got a twin, with light bulbs dangling from their holders, TV did not work just said searching al the time after 4 hours of being on…..

A big and rambling place with some good staff and some who blend in to whats happening, food and drink expensive, breakfast average with poor quality coffee.

Bathroom tired and poor quality fixings.

Walls were not insulated hear both rooms either side have their good night conversations one with his girlfriend the other with the kids very clear sound.

On the plus the transfer from the station to the hotel was good and the driver was useful fun and chatty.

Attended a breakfast seminar in the hotel and glad i eat in the breakfast area the buffet breakfast looked awful.

A place anyone could blend in staff, guest or criminal who would know….

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, view the rooms on line and read reviews, or expect what it is for venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Rob

I was disappointed to see that you did not appear to enjoy your stay with us. Your experience is certainly not reflective of the usual high standards that prevail at this hotel. However, your comments have been shared with the management team for their review and I would apologise that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,523
    1,221
    686
    487
See reviews for
534
1,079
329
2,471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Hilton on the 7th Dec 2013 , room was clean , warm and well appointed. My wife is a smoker asnd we asked for a smoking room which was available Staff very helpful and always on hand to help. Function room and meal was good with plenty of room to enjoy the function. Well worth the stay and would definatly stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review.

I'm delighted you and your wife had such an enjoyable stay with us and I very much hope we see you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Almost lost for words.
We've stayed in some top hotels, but the prices here were just ridiculous for what is effectively a hotel on a business park !
Room & breakfast was very average, but £12 for a glass of wine & they still charge you £8 to park is just unbelievable.
If you need to stay near the NEC I'd advise anyone not to stay here - either get the train back into Birmingham or get a taxi 5 miles down the road (Meriden has several hotels).
I hate being ripped off so never ever again for us.

Room Tip: Try another hotel unless you don't mind being grossly overcharged
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Ian

Thank you for your feedback.

With regards to prices, I can advise that our prices are regularly monitored to ensure we remain competitive with other 4 star establishments throughout the country and I can assure we are in line with such other properties.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at the Hilton NEC last night to go to Status Quo gig.1st impressions not good we struggled to find a parking space.& then a massive queue for check in so decided to get a drink £15 for a glass of Rose & a pint of lager= rip off big style.
The room was fine no issues there apart from some idiots shouting at 6.45am without any consideration for others.A £1 donation was automatically deducted for the Hilton chosen charity.
Paid £95 B& b & feel we did overall get value for money as we had no taxi costs to the L.G.arena
Regards
Steve

Room Tip: ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Steve

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you found your stay with us to be great value for money.

We are ideally located for easy access to the both the LG Arena and NEC.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Bedroom window would not shut, the noise from outside was terrible could not sleep most of the night. Told the reception staff, they looked at me as if to say so what!! I usually like the hilton hotel chain, but I would never stay here again! Premier inn have a good night policy, Hilton needs to do better

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Bill

Thank youf or yur comments following your stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that your window would not close and surprised that our Receptionist did not offer a room change or our Maintenance team to rectify the issue. This point will be followed up with the team, but please accept my apologies again for any disappointment.

I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the near future to alow us to demonstrate our usual high levels of service.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at thr Hilton Birmingam Metropole which we were very disappointed with. Firstly I booked a queen deluxe room. We went to the room and couldn't find anything deluxe about it. I had stayed at better and always larger travel inn cheap hotels and what I paid for this is I did expect a lot better. I paid another £200 and upgraded to a king suite, which was lovely but very tired. The lounge had one sofa with two arm chairs, and a large dining table. The room could have easily taken two sofas. The television was on top of the fire place which gave youa stiff neck after watching for an hour, the TV in the bedroom was on a low table and could only be watched by the person nearest to it and the reception on all channels except ITV was terrible. We did report this and they sent someone to the room but it was no better. Paying the money we did I would have expected a TV that we could watch!! As I have pointed out the room was grand but tired, the bathroom had a lovely big bath but a tiny single shower shoved behind the door. The shower was not adjustable and as my husband is 6 ft he had to duck to get under the shower. When turning the shower on because it was fixed the floor got soaked which was dangerous when getting out of the shower as it was quite a drop from the shower tray. The bathroom was very 1970's and could do with modernisation. It had a bide.....I don't know who uses one of these and could do with taking this out and replacing it by a modern decent shower that I would expect in a Hilton.

Once we had our room sorted we went down for a light lunch. I ordered a bicardi and coke. I was charged £8.50 for this yet no bicardi was used it was a cheap white rum and I wasn't even advised that they had run out of barcardi and this is what would be served. It was a good job that this was a weekend break away and we weren't working as I would have followed this through further and will be suggesting a visit by trading standards. I ordered, which was described as HOT beef strips on a bed of salad. When the meal arrived, there was nothing hot about it. It was, best just off cold. I sent it back and then about 10 minutes later it came back Luke warm, it was disgusting. I must admit that the manager, after waiting about 10 minutes for him to come and see me, refunded the bill.

The breakfast was very good, even though the hotel was very busy they turned the tables around quickly and a great choice of food and good quality. As part of the upgrade we had use of the VIP lounge which was good. They laid on sandwiches late afternoon and canapés of an evening with free drinks and again thy were cheap unrecognised brands that you would expect to see abroad on an all inclusive cheap holiday not at a Hilton.

The hotel is very base for the NEC but have stayed in better and cheaper establishments.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevaedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Boonorfolk

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed the benefits of our Executive Lounge and found the choice and quality of the breakfast met your expectations.

I am sorry that certain other elements failed to meet your expectations and rest assured these points will be discussed with the relevant management to bring about improvements in these areas.

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Metropole. The building is beautiful on the inside and a fantastic location for the NEC (3 minute walk away). The room was clean and had everything we needed. The food and executive lounge access was also fantastic! With the breakfast, drinks and nibbles included it was superb value for money! We have already recommended this hotel to family and will definitely stay here again next time we are in Birmingham!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emielizabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and recommendation to others.

I was delighted to see that you had such a great stay - we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing