We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way to Cheltenham Races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent hotel to stay either on the Monday before the races in March or on Friday on your way back after the races. Great value compared to Cheltenham and the Fillet steaks are cooked to perfection from the a la carte menu

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear John Paul

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you had such an great stay and I was also pleased to see that you enjoyed the fillet steak in Millers.

Hope you had a few winners at Cheltenham.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,408 - 3,414 of 5,510 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was a member for more than a year and it was a waste of money! Dirty, sometimes no parking space because if it is not enough parking for the guests they are giving out the club private parking spaces and you can turn back they don't care! No lockers because they are holding them for the Spa. If you asking something is never a answer! Do not waste your money and time! Find something else!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments.

It would appear these comments relate to the Leisure Club and we would certainly like to offer our apologies for any disappointment you have experienced.

Perhaps you would care to contact caroline.hagan@hilton.com regarding these issues and we will be happy to investigate further.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went to the Hilton for a Gala dinner with Busy Bees the evening was amazing the staff were very attentive and we all had a great time Thanks to the organisation of our marketing team combined with the staff in the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Berny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Berny

I'm really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us when you attended the Busy Bees Gala Dinner.

Ill make sure your kind comments are passed on to all.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for one night last week and have to admit felt quite let down. I must of had one of the newer refurbished rooms with the open planned bathrooms and it just was not for me. The room was absolutely freezing all night even with the heating on full and the window would not close properly as the handle had broken. I had the Ribeye for dinner and it was actually very nice but come on Hilton, do you really need to add a service charge?? Is £30 for a steak and a coke not enough for you?.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not find the layout of your room to your particular liking and was of course sorry to learn that you had experienced an issue with the heating. We would always attend to any reported fault but nevertheless apologise for any discomfort.

I do hope despite your disappointment on this occasion that we may have the opportunity of demonstrating our usual high standards on a future visit.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

me and my bf are stay here for a weekend, the hotel are so good but the location is terrible, easy to get there with can but we travelling with public transport, fron train station to the hotel is 20 min walk if NEC is open, horrible! the hotel is full with friendly staff, nice and clean bedrooms, i had an executive room for 2 night and the executive lounge is so good, concierge are friendly! Abdul who is worked in exe. lounge is so friendly, he is helping for me on saturday night, many things! but the livingwell staff is unfriendly!!!
i won this 2 night stay but we will coming back if i can!!!

Room Tip: room with balcony or ecetucive room are so cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandKecskes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Roland

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm not sure if you were aware that the hotel provides a courtesy bus service to and from the train station which runs every half an hour. Maybe on a future visit you will be able to take advantage of this service.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of the team - your feedback will be shared with the team.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hilton NEC during crafts. We had expected the hotel to be a little tired as it was such a big and busy hotel but this absolutely was not the case. From the moment we walked in through the doors it was a pleasurable experience. All of the staff were friendly which you very rarely see these days, from the front of house to the staff seeing to the rooms. When you consider how many pets were allowed into the hotel, which is only right of course during Crufts, it was amazingly clean. I have to give special mention to the lady who worked tirelessly in the Executive lounge, it was incredibly busy as you can imagine with such a big event going on, but the buffet was constantly replenished and she smiled throughout, even having time to talk with guests when approached. Please please pass on our personal thanks, I'm afraid I cannot remember her name but we stayed on the Thu/Fri of Crufts week. Thank you so much, we will definitely see you next year for more of the same.

Room Tip: Go Executive, worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Dawn

Thank you for such a great review.

I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us whilst you were visiting Crufts. We always strive to show some warm Midlands hospitality to all of our guests and your comments will be shared with the team - thank you again.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again every soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Well worth the extra cost to stay here at such a busy time. Closeness to the NEC a definite bonus, combined with the usual quality that one can expect from a Hilton hotel. Stayed in a suite and therefore had the ability to relax in a lovely quiet environment. Will be booking for next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lyndasaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

It was great to see that you had enjoyed your visit to the hotel and found everything as you would expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £67 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing