We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSE TO NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location and facilities were great but unfortunately we ended up with an awful room. It was meant to be a spacious family room but was cramped, I had to make up the kids bed on a rickety sofa bed and the toilet was on continuously flashed - not the best

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Zey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us.

It's pleasing to see that you were impressed with the hotel facilities and found we have an ideal location, but I do regret any disappointment you experienced with regards to the room size. You may be aware that we do have larger suites available and I'm sure you would not be disappointed with one of these room types on a future visit.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,479 - 3,485 of 5,587 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

i am very disappointed with the overall service hilton did not deliver to my standard. the pool was very nice and the best part of the stay the service and quality was poor. i am very disappointed with the overall service hilton did not deliver to my standard. the pool was very nice and the best part of the stay the service and quality was poor. i am very disappointed with the overall service hilton did not deliver to my standard. the pool was very nice and the best part of the stay the service and quality was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank convel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Convel

Thank you for your comments.

I was disappointed to see that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and live up to our usual high standards. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the uninterested check in, to the request for the water that was missing from my room, service was mediocre at best.
I had to phone the customer hotline "magic" twice to get water.
The room was clean and tidy and a decent size.
I realise this hotel has hundreds of rooms but at £129 per night (without breakfast) you would expect more. Next time my first choice would be the Crowne Plaza I'm afraid.
I stay in hotels on average three nights a week and Hilton are falling way behind the competition in some areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Steve

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this website, following your recent visit to the hotel.

I was sorry to see that you did not feel your stay with us was good value for money and I do hope that you will reconsider visiting us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent hotel to stay either on the Monday before the races in March or on Friday on your way back after the races. Great value compared to Cheltenham and the Fillet steaks are cooked to perfection from the a la carte menu

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear John Paul

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you had such an great stay and I was also pleased to see that you enjoyed the fillet steak in Millers.

Hope you had a few winners at Cheltenham.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was a member for more than a year and it was a waste of money! Dirty, sometimes no parking space because if it is not enough parking for the guests they are giving out the club private parking spaces and you can turn back they don't care! No lockers because they are holding them for the Spa. If you asking something is never a answer! Do not waste your money and time! Find something else!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments.

It would appear these comments relate to the Leisure Club and we would certainly like to offer our apologies for any disappointment you have experienced.

Perhaps you would care to contact caroline.hagan@hilton.com regarding these issues and we will be happy to investigate further.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went to the Hilton for a Gala dinner with Busy Bees the evening was amazing the staff were very attentive and we all had a great time Thanks to the organisation of our marketing team combined with the staff in the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Berny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Berny

I'm really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us when you attended the Busy Bees Gala Dinner.

Ill make sure your kind comments are passed on to all.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for one night last week and have to admit felt quite let down. I must of had one of the newer refurbished rooms with the open planned bathrooms and it just was not for me. The room was absolutely freezing all night even with the heating on full and the window would not close properly as the handle had broken. I had the Ribeye for dinner and it was actually very nice but come on Hilton, do you really need to add a service charge?? Is £30 for a steak and a coke not enough for you?.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not find the layout of your room to your particular liking and was of course sorry to learn that you had experienced an issue with the heating. We would always attend to any reported fault but nevertheless apologise for any discomfort.

I do hope despite your disappointment on this occasion that we may have the opportunity of demonstrating our usual high standards on a future visit.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,099 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £74 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing