We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner is a Hilton Honours member and this is one of 17 Hilton hotels we have stayed in.

First impressions was how busy it was. We felt like we were checking into a hotel abroad. There was an Elvis event on/Pool event, Indian wedding and Gary Barlow in concert. The hotel was heaving as was the check in which formed a long queue.

The executive room are okay, not very big compared to other Hiltons. The lounge looks like the table's need replacing due to marks. The staff however worked their socks off ensuring the drinks were replaced and from arriving in the lounge at 7pm until the drinks were locked away at 8pm the staff constantly replaced the drinks/cleared the tables and the Manager should be proud of their efforts. The drinks fly out of the fridge and it takes some keeping up with it. It's the shame the lounge itself looks dated.

Breakfast - was a long queue which had grown longer down to the pool area by the time we had finished ours. The food was nice and plentiful - the staff moved the customers into the dining areas fairly quickly and extra rooms were open - the downside is the staff working in the area lack of abiity to clear the dirty plates and having to stack them close to where people were eating. All around where we sat were tables piled up with dirty dishes with the Hilton staff clearing at a very slow rate, having to stop to show people to their tables or provide tea/coffee. I am not sure why the hotel does not employ staff to just focus on clearing the dirty tables and setting them/loading the plates onto something that can take them all straight to the kitchen the notion that the staff can somehow multi task in the dining rooms is a sorry state of breakfast service and poor organisation, Cleared tables would allow the customers who were lined all the way to the swimming pool area to be seated.
Good location for Birmingham city centre and we caught the train into Birmingham for lunch.
Despite the comments we said we would return but probably avoid an Easter weekend or a concert event if possible due to the sheer numbers in the hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us over Easter week-end.

We were very busy indeed and whilst I was pleased that you had generally enjoyed your stay I do apologise for any disappointment you experienced with regards to breakfast service. The team attempt to clear tables as quickly as possible, however at times, this can prove a little challenging when the hotel is particularly busy.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff in our Executive Lounge, I will be sure to poss these on.

We hope to see you return again very soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,523
    1,221
    686
    487
See reviews for
534
1,079
329
2,471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here as attending a concert at the LG Arena. Had Executive room on first floor. Arrival was disappointing as car park is very confusing and not well signposted for easy walking route to hotel entrance. Car park is clearly not big enough when hotel is busy with guests and events on. Queued for 8 minutes for check in. Had paid in advance and they didn't offer to take credit card swipe so were unable to charge food to our room during stay. Couldn't get seats in the lounge or executive lounge to eat prior to the show. Having large banks of sofas for groups is a problem when there are lots of couples as tables are half/part used and lots of guests left without spaces. Room was small but adequate. Shower was tiny. Got disturbed by housekeeping twice before breakfast checking to see if we had left so they could clean our room. We were only there 1 night so why not have a system to check we has checked out! Huge queue for breakfast and continental options pretty bare. Staff were good but hotel feels dated and tired and relies too much on captured audience due to the location

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I regret you found the car park layout confusing and your comments regarding signage have been noted. Although we have over 700 car park spaces, when the hotel is particularly busy, this can fill quite quickly, as I'm sure you will appreciate can happen with most popular venues.

I apologise that you were disturbed by our Housekeeping team, we would always recommend using the DO NOT DISTURB sign to avoid any unwanted disturbance.

When the hotel is particularly busy, unfortunately queues can develop at peak times for breakfast. Whilst our staff do endeavour to seat all guests as quickly and efficiently as possible, regrettably due to demand a slight delay can be experienced. To enjoy a more leisurely breakfast, we would always recommend taking breakfast either before 7.00 am or after 9.00 am.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

An excellent hotel,ideal if you want to go to the NEC. The facilities were top class,as you would get. We stayed in a twin room,i'd say they were a bit to cramped for my liking. It was also very stuffy.it was a good job the window could open. As for the food, it was excellent,and the staff were very friendly. Now the down side,there was a convention on and i had to wait for over 1/2 hour to get served,it seemed that there was only one bartender on the one side and no one seemed to be in charge,it seemed to be understaffed. The prices were extortionally on the high side £9.80 for 2 pints (about London prices).

Room Tip: I.d say nearly all rooms are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and I'm delghted to see that you found the facilities to your liking. It's a shame you didn't use your air conditioning unit, this would have regulated the temperature for you quite quickly.

Thank you for your comments regarding the team and although we do attempt to serve everyone as quickly as possible in the Lounge Bar, I regret you experienced a delay on this occasion.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having previously given a positive review for this hotel I am sorry to say I could not recommend this hotel and would not rush to stay here again following a second visit. As with our first visit we booked an overnight stay with car parking prior to our holiday. Having checked in we went to the bar where we had to wait 30 minutes for a drink. Our room smelt of stale cigarettes which to a non smoker is disgusting. The taxi to the airport was fine. On returning to BHX we waited for the Hilton courtesy bus to be greeted by a miserable driver who did not engage in any conversation. At the hotel the car had been moved, it was raining with our luggage left outside and only when I asked did a concierge bring the car and eventually helped to put the last case in the car. The staff were generally disinterested, unhelpful, in the case of the bar understaffed, and a lot of them plain miserable. For just under £120 I quite frankly expect much better customer service.

Room Tip: Closer to the elevators than we did - a long walk with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMurrayMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sam

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to see that you found the service you received from our team members to be anything other than polite and courteous. We always strive to make everyone feel welcome and valued, however please rest assured your comments have been shared with the management team for review with their departments.

Although the majority of our rooms are non smoking, we do have a very small few smoking rooms that are reserved for those guests who prefer this room type.

I do hope that despite any disappointment experienced on this occasion, we may have the opportunity to demonstrate our usual warm welcome on a future visit.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We attended a wedding at the Hilton Metropole, and stayed for the evening.
This was an excellent venue for a large wedding. The service in the function room was very good and the food was very nice. The food I would say was above average considering the wedding was for approximately 400 people.
The down side was the limited amount of seating in the lounge area of the hotel and the very poor service (because there were not enough staff to serve the number of guests) and a very long wait in order to get a drink. The cost of the drinks especially a small glass of wine (£10) was very expensive. I expect a better level of service if I am paying this amount of money.
As Hilton Honours members we had an upgraded (superior) room. All I can say is I am glad I had nothing less, because this was fine but only adequate.
Breakfast was very good value for money, lots of choice as you would expect.
The staff in general were really nice and very, very efficient and helpful.
I will definitely return, but there are a few issues with staffing ratios which need addressing.
Overall a very nice stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I'm delighted to see that you found the hotel to be an excellent wedding venue. We host many weddings. from small initimate weddings to very large wedding events.

Our Lounge Bar is very popular and can get very busy; I regret you experienced slow service on this occasion and hope this did not spoil an otherwise great visit.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

No doubt it's expensive, £5 for a stella! No doubt the rooms can be hit or miss, but when it all comes together it's a great place to stay - particularly if you have hhonors benefits to use.

The heath facilities have recently had the changing rooms refreshed, before that they stank. The pool and steam/sauna facilities are great.

All in all if you get B&B for less than £100 prpn, then take it, negotiate an upgrade at the desk, and you should do ok!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Great to see you had an enjoyable visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

the Hilton has a high standard of customer service to all guest. are treated in a polite way nothing is to much trouble love coming because of high standards of what im looking for,everything a hotel should be all credit to staff for their hard work and dedication of bring people back time after time would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sonia Jacquelin... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a great review and for your recommendation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing