We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great convention hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having recently stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole for a convention, I'm very happy with this hotel. Friendly, hard-working, helpful staff that made us feel welcome, clean and comfortable rooms and generous function space; what's more, the hotel always put in that extra effort, going beyond mere professionalism and proving that they genuinely cared about providing us with the best possible experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your sharing your feedback. It means a great deal that you were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness our team showed to you whilst you were at the hotel.

I'm pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    1,525
    1,223
    688
    490
See reviews for
540
1,085
330
2,471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This is a nice Hilton located very close to the NEC. Facilities include the usual small giftshop and a Costa coffee bar. The room was a lot smaller than I was used to and had a tiny window. Apart from that its OK and the staff are great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to the hotel.

I was glad to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities met your expectations. I'm sorry you felt your room was a little small; we do of course have many different room types and size available, maybe I could suggest one of our larger room types might suit you better on a future visit.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I visited the LG Arena, Birmingham last Wednesday evening to watch the Eagles in Concert. I must say the were Outstanding.

On another note, my wife and I stayed at the Hilton, Birmingham Metropol Hotel, a short walk from the Arena

Our room was clean and spacious, also very quiet. We had an evening meal in the Restaurant prior to the Concert. I must admit the food was excellent, with a fabulous choice .

In the morning we had breakfast, which again was excellent. I found the staff very pleasant and polite. There is not much more I can say, only that, should we visit the area again, we will definitely use the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Arthur

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

I was delighted to see you had such a great stay with us and also pleased you enjoyed the concert too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole next time you're in the area.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole for the last two UK Games Expo events. The convenience of staying in the hotel hosting the event is well worth the step up in price compared to the Premier Inn we stayed at in previous years. Rooms are larger and breakfast is better as well. We will be staying there again next year, without a doubt. The hotel puts on a food hall for the Expo which, while expensive, is not unreasonable. However, it should be noted that the normal prices for food and drink within the hotel are ludicrously expensive. The food itself is nothing special either - there's nothing wrong with the food, but no effort is made to justify the price. The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the NEC, so it would be equally convenient for people attending events there. Also, during events at the NEC, there are plenty of places within that complex to get food and drink at reasonable prices - beware however that when no events are on, most of these are closed. We have not experienced any of the hotel facilities nor investigated their costs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone attending events either in the hotel itself or at the NEC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear James

Thank you for your review following your visit to attend the UK Games Expo.

It's pleasing to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and also enjoyed your breakfast experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel. I chose this due to its proximity to the LG Arena. The Hotel had an easy check in, and the room we booked was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We found the staff helpful - they directed us to the easiest exit from the Hotel to get to the LG Arena. It is literally a 10 minute walk from the Hotel, well signposted and the most convenient I have ever stayed near to a venue. Avoid all those car park queues! Parking was available at the Hotel (£9.00). The breakfast was amazing - a fantastic selection of hot and cold food and we weren't hungry until late afternoon ! Good service and specious seating. Check out was at midday and was simple. All in all I am extremely impressed with the Hotel, and I will be looking to visit the LG Arena again and will definitely stay at this Hotel again when I do!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Wendy

Thank you for such a great review.

I'm so pleased you had such a great stay with us and you also found our team here friendly and helpful.

We are ideally located for easy access to the LG Arenda and the NEC and glad to see you will be returning when you're next in the area.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I were given tickets for a show at the LG Arena so booked a one night stay at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole. We found the whole experience very pleasant. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with courtesy and politeness, our car was parked and after freshening up in our spotlessly clean room overlooking the lake we were able to relax in the executive lounge before the 5 minute walk to the Arena. Even though we were in sight of the airport our room was quiet and we enjoyed a wonderful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast lived up to the usual Hilton high standard and checking out was as smooth as checking in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Alan

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I'm so pleased that you had such a great time when you stayed with us.

Glad to see that you enjoyed your breakfast experience too.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Three of us stayed in a family suite at the Hilton Metropole. It was a terrible experience throughout, and very disappointing for a family trip we were looking forward to. There were long queues to check in at reception, the carpets on the floor leading to our room were dirty, and there was debris in the corridor, tucked round a corner in the hope that no-one would see, except it was outside our bedroom. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable that it was not possible for our 15 year old to sleep in it, the springs were poking through the mattress. So our daughter slept in the king size bed with us. The next day, the housekeeping service had not emptied our room bin, there was a long hair by the kettle, the bed had not been fully made up. The trouser press did not work, wall paper was peeling off the wall. On leaving I handed in our comments on the customer service feedback, but the hotel has not contacted us about our comments. Hence I have decided to write this feedback.
The only good aspect was the great swimming pool. But then I don't need a rubbish hotel if all I want is to go for a swim.

Room Tip: Stay at a premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkley614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Bridget

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Your experience is certaihnly not6 reflective of the usual standards that prevail at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole and I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please rest assured your feedback has been shared with the relevant management team for their action.

I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we may have the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing