We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive room a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Executive room a let down”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely hotel, easy free transfer from birmingham international train station! helpful staff however very expensive costa over £4 for a small latte, terrible service at the main bar (gave up after 25 minute wait) and sorry to say the executive bedroom needed updating, stains on wall, stains on carpet, mould on side of shower and the windowsill in a terrible state, also could not open the window more than an inch ,not worth paying for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Do not pay more for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Tlthough i was pleased with the friendly helpful attitude of our team and were also impressed with our courtesy bus service, I do regret we failed to meet your expectations on other aspects. Please rest assured your feedback has been passed to the relevant management for their review and action.

Please accept my sincre apologies for any disappointment experienced on this occasion and I do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,491
    1,200
    680
    478
See reviews for
513
1,060
329
2,433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just come back from a great weekend at the hilton metropole, staff, food and room a1. Everybody could not do enough for you. Staff on the consiagerce desk was especially helpful, looking after 3 old ladies. Well done lads,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jean

Thanks for your review.

It's great to see that our team made your stay all the more enjoyable. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for several nights In Feb for a fair at the NEC. Stayed on 5th floor with access to club room with complimentary snacks (and drinks until 8pm). Staff very helpful and friendly here. Gets very busy. Very nice staff if the restaurant also. Breakfasts are excellent. Expensive, but a very good location for the NEC and always reliable.

Room Tip: Stay on 5th floor with club lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieithryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dieithryn

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, following your recent stay with us.

I'm particularly pleased you found our staff members friendly and helpful. We always aim to give a warm Midlands welcome to our guests and make everyone feel at home.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Only stayed there because of a very good deal on Booking.com. I would normally stay at Novotel for NEC events. The lobby was way more posh than Novotel, the room was bigger ... but when I count the things which are really important for me I must say that this was a let down. A decent hotel, but in this day and age, at least in public areas, free wifi is a small courtesy to the guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Frank

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to learn that you were able to secure a great deal when you visited the hotel recently and trust you were impressed with hotel and its facilities,

The hotel does offer complimentary wifi access in all public areas which many of our guests take advantage of.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just came back from the hilton birmingham 8 girls on spa break, had a fab time enjoyed every minute well worth the money, great value! Staff are very well trained and always well mannered!! 100% booking again weekend of pampering, even got a bottle of Pinot Grigio on the house with a luvly cupcake for my birthday : ))))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopylou110712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

What a great review! !

I'm delighted you and your friends had such a great stay with us for your spa break. Your kind comments will be shared with the team and I hope to see you and your friends return again for another spa break.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have stayed before , but this time in an executive suite !
Clean and tidy as always and the pillows/ duvet got changed for my feather allergy without any problems.
But, Why is the bed so damn hard ?......And the aircon is noisy which you must leave running as my biggest grouse is the Windows are LOCKED shut totally !
Its not like this in the cheaper rooms I have stayed in .......grrrrrrr.

It would also seem the coffee at breakfast has been changed........for the worse. Is this to drive you to the in house Costa coffee shop who charge £4.70 for a medium takeaway Latte.
That is dearer than a motorway services, that I call a Bloody RIP OFF.

Room Tip: Ask for one where the windows actually open if you like fresh air !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jerry

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry you were disappointed with certain elements of your stay with us.

We would certainly have attended to the issue of the windows/air conditioning unit had we have been made aware of the issue at the time, or offered a room change.

I apologise if you found the bed a little too firm for your particular liking.

Your comments regarding the coffee have been noted and I regret you did not enjoy this experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and i do hope despite the disappointment you had on this occasion, we may have the opportunity of seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel upgraded to suite when got there which was fantastic very busy hotel few things going on when we where there but that just added to the fun people in fancy dress food was nice we only ate in the bar breakfast very good would stay again nice friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Zena

I was thrilled to see you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing