We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too bad here but nothing really stood out either. I stayed at a copthorne hotel the night before and was expecting similar standards but sadly it was lacking. Can't fault the staff who were very welcoming and friendly. The bar was pleasant if a tad expensive but you do expect that at big name hotels. The breakfast was superb, both quality and options. The biggest let down was the room. First floor, twin beds, badly in need of paint job and distinct smell of smoke despite it being no smoking. It wasn't awful, you just have an expectation of Hilton which in the main the hotel lived up to, but the room let it down. Fortunately my company paid, so I wasn't too disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your visit.

Whilst I was pleased to see that you were pleased with the levels of service from our team and their friendly welcoming attitude, I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. Your comments have been passed to our Chief Engineer for his attention.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast experience, we do indeed offer a huge variety from the full English to Continental and healthy options too.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    1,524
    1,221
    686
    487
See reviews for
534
1,080
329
2,471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The weekend we went it was full of people from narcotics anonymous and the hotel was packed. On arrival their was 30/50 people standing around the entrance smoking and drinking. The check- in was packed and staff could not cope. We were giving the wrong room and it took them two and a half hours to change it. We were first told the hotel was full then we were told for £50 we could have another room.Shocking!!!!!! We waited 15 minutes at the bar then was asked to sit down and it would be brought over, it was and we were charged 50p we couldn't find a seat as it was full of people eating their own food and drink they had brought into the hotel. Breakfast in our room was so cold we could not eat it and was charged an extra £5 for tray service. We did complain and the sent us £50 voucher to use in the hotel that I will never return to. Bad service from start to finish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Liz

Thank you for post your comments.

I do hope that our letter of explanation and apology for your disappointment went some way to demonstrate our concern.

We do provide smoking shelters for guests to use, however not all guests will use this facility, despite our encouraging them to do so.

The confusion surrounding your room was unfortunate and again we apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.

I would advise that Hilton vouchers may be used at any Hilton hotel, however we hope to have the opportunity of restoring your faith in Hilton Birmingham Metropole at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel is fairly basic but what I expected for an overnight stay close to an airport.Some confusion at check in was soon sorted out room was comfortable & clean.Bar snack food & wine very overpriced & not excellent.The mini bus service to the airport was very good,both drivers we had,Dave & Clive were polite & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Jennifer

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I'm glad the confusion at chjeck-in was rectified swiftly and regret any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Dave and Clive, I'll be sure to pass these on.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Poor service quality. The single rooms are best avoided. Help is not forthcoming. Staff knowledge is low. You could easily have better hospitality at a Holiday Inn or Four Points. Baggage services, reception, check in experience and the telephone assistance are the biggest let downs. High points were the efficiency of the in room dining, conference and banqueting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank FRT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the hotel.

I was saddened to read your review, especially as we pride ourselves on giving all guests a warm welcome, however your feedback has been shared with the team and I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future to allow us to demonstrate our usual levels of service.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel is in a good location and easy to find but what you get for the price is pretty poor
WIFI is £15 if you want it in your room and in the lobby only lasts for an hour (although you can log out and log back in again), There no complimentary tea in the rooms and the toilet didn't flush properly, the bath was a bit grubby as well. However the room was clean & tidy
I stayed in a nice quaint hotel the nigh before and it was loads better, more homely for £10 cheaper.
This hotel is almost too big IMO - it's adequate but nothing special.
Booking in was fine and staff are friendly which makes up for it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlackbladderFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the trouble to shae your feedback.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay. Although complimentary wifi is available in all public areas of the hotel where many fo our guests take advantasge of this facility, there is a charge for wifi in guest rooms.

Complimentary tea and coffee is available in all guest rooms and regret if this had not been replenished for you. We would certainly have attended to this issuea, along with the faulty flush if this had been reported to us but I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ideal for overnight before early flight. Good deal for room only and 8 days parking. Nice, spacious double-bed room, clean and quiet. Facilities fine, bath included. Comfortable bed. Staff encountered professional and helpful. Left at 5am, only booking for airport transfer at that time so they provided a taxi instead. A practical stay, recommended for the stay-over / car parking package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdall07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

We do offer some great fly and park deals and I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay here frequently and nothing is too much trouble for the concierge and reception staff. The rooms are clean and functional and there's a huge variety on offer at breakfast. Be aware - the bar and restaurant prices are VERY expensive so don't forget your credit card!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sophie

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm delighted to see that as a regular visitor to the hotel you always receive great service from our team.

As I'm sure you are aware, the hotel does offer a variety of dining options to cater for all tastes and budgets.

I hope we see you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing