We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for 1 night, 2 at a push”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay at this hotel 3 times a year due to business, and each time it seems to get a little bit worse food wise.
The hotel is spotless and so was my room, the bed was a little hard but I still seemed to sleep well.
The buffet restaurant is awful, we held a function in the hotel, and could not make it to dinner until 9.30pm, what food was left was terrible, I know it shuts at 10pm but what was on offer was a disgrace, so didnt eat a lot.
Would not stay and eat here through choice as it is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa and Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Lisa and Phil

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your visit.

I was sorry that you had not enjoyed your dining experience in our buffet style restaurant on this occasion. The hotel has a number of food and beverage outlets to cater for most tastes and budgets and perhaps I could recommend our A la Carte menu in Millers on a future visit.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,054 - 3,060 of 5,448 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been visiting this hotel since 1990 and have never been disappointed. The cleanliness is second to none and all the staff are extremely efficient and knowledgable and cope admirably during busy times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Julie

Thank you for posting your review following your most recent stay.

I'm delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy your visits to the hotel and still receive the same efficient service.

We look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed 2 nights while on business in the Midlands. This is your usual Hilton offering which already being expensive, then stings you for car parking, for a feeble internet connection and breakfast The hotel is looking rather tired and in need of a freshening up. I didn't use the bar and restaurant so cant comment on those. There was a big conference on and there was a lot of shouting and disturbance in the night. All in all though, a reasonable experience.

Room Tip: I would guess that having a room on the higher floors would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your visit to the hotel.

Your comments have been shared with the management team for their review and I do hope you will accept my apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced on this occasion.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrival was extremely busy with what appeared to be a wedding and and a conference all trying to check in at the same time so had a 20 minute wait which could've been shortened if they had opened all available check in points. After the initial madness everything else was lovely although the rooms looked slightly worn with wear and tear and could do with some TLC.
All staff were absolutely wonderful especially in the Executive Lounge which we used in the evening and for breakfast. The food and drink on both occasions was gorgeous, it also had a lovely, chilled atmosphere. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dinky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dinky

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel.

Whilst I was of course delighted to see that you had a very relaxing stay with us and you were also impressed with the levels of service you received from our team, I do apologise for the delay you experienced at check-in. Your comments will be passed to the our Front Office Manager for his review.

Thank you again for your feedback and i hope we have the pleasure of seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Warm friendly Birmingham welcome from Consiege team.

Efficient check in.

Room spacious with Great Lake view, very clean with good size bathroom with separate shower.

The executive lounge is very good with afternoon tea and sandwiches, early evening drinks and a great healthy option breakfast.

The swimming pool is very clean and water temperature just right, less busy late in the evening.

Had a great nights sleep and woke up early to see the sun rise and a family of ducks heading across the lake.

Dinner in main restaurant was a bit disappointing, buffet style food not being favourite and would use the other restaurant next time.

Left early Sunday morning to avoid motorway traffic , check out being friendly and efficient.

Would recommend this hotel, even though very big it still has friendly service.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an executive room with use of executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Andy

Thank you for your review and I'm glad to see that you were happy with your stay and thank you for your recomendation too.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Indeed, it was Hilton I stayed. It has beautiful entrance/reception area, beautiful swimming pool/gym and nice stuff... but the room seems to be a bit out of date. You can see it as well as smell it (not particularly in bad way)
Probably difficult to get to the hotel from the airport for especially first-timers. (Take "air-link" train to Birmingham In't station and arrange hotel bus or walk through NEC 15min walk)
It's a comfy hotel but if you are just looking for just a place to sleep, then hotels in front of the airport will do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minoue-Sisteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your coments following your stay with us.

Whilst I was pleased to see you were impressed with the hotel and it's facilities, I regret any disappointment you experienced with regards to your particular room and yuor coments have been noted.

I do hope you will consider returning again in the near future.

thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

a wonderful weekend at this hotel our 52nd wedding anniversary, which could have been started all wrong. Our room was not to our liking and as we waited at crowded reception when the duty manager appeared as if by magic and asked if we had a problem and promptly sorted everything out. We noticed throughout the weekend he was always on hand for everyone. We were also there for a very large conference and found the staff always helpful and courteous.from front of house,lobby bar, restaurants,housekeeping and maintenance they were on hand to meet our every need. we even received a anniversary cake and wine compliments of the hotel. The members of staff we had dealings with were exceptional, some were senior management through to a trainee. I could name them all individually as they were so friendly and we got such marvellous attention from them, Thank you all John C.

Room Tip: rooms higher up with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear John

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

I' m truly delighted that you had such a great stay with us and the service you received from our friendly, helpful team made your stay all the more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £78 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing