We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great bed, just too much noise from conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have stayed here many times in the past both with work and for pleasure. It is a huge hotel & caters for many large business conferences, as well as those using the NEC & airport.

On this visit I was particularly impressed with the attention & help at checkin. The room I had been allocated was not the room I requested & the error was sorted quickly with many offers from staff to move my luggage from one room to the other.

There was a huge conference on whilst I was there & therefore the bar was very busy as well as outside (large numbers of people going to smoke) & therefore the noise was higher than normally you would expect. It wasn't a problem but worth considering if you are staying and want a good nights sleep prior to a flight for example.

The breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of healthy food right through to good decent full English cooked breakfast. The staff who looked after us were excellent and were extremely helpful and attentive despite how busy they were.

The only disappointment for me was an issue in the pool I noticed several people slip & hurt themselves whilst I was there. The walkway from the changing room to the pool & around the pool was so wet that many people were slipping. Only after a child hurt their foot so badly they were screaming (the family hadn't even managed to get into the pool!) did the staff get the machine to mop up most of the excess water.

Overall impressed by the hotel staff, the quality of the bed & bed linen and the breakfast.

Room Tip: If there is a conference on, it may be worth requesting a room away from the front of the hotel wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Boosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It's always pleasing to receive such positive feedback regarding the levels of service delivered by our team - thank you,.

Your comments regarding the pool area have been noted and shared with our Leisure Club Manager for review.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,993 - 2,999 of 5,447 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Unfortunately I stayed only one night here (after late arrival from Schiphol). Perfect bed, friendly personal and several facilities included. Shuttle service is OK, but you need to use the monorail first.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Danny

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I'm pleased to see that everything met your epxectations and I hope we have the opportunity of seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel prior to a holiday flight, this time, but did not use any facilities.

What we found was in our opinion of a very high standard.

Our reason for choosing the hotel was that it was one of only two that we could find that would park our car for the duration of our holiday in Austria without having to move it to another site.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Brian

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review following your stay with us.

I'm pleased you were impressed with the standard of the hotel and it's a shame you did not have the opportunity to use any hotel facilities - maybe on a future visit.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight for a visit to Villa Park . The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the surrounding area with access to motorways on the doorstep . Lovely room at a reasonable price which included breakfast .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank anon676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable visit whilst in the area and as you state we are ideally located for easy access to many local Midlands attractions.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

One night stay for a family of 4 (2 kids under 6). Excellent value for money - £79 for bed and breakfast for all of us. Usual, outstanding Hilton standards. Would definitely recommend. We stayed in a family room - the only problem was the noise from the hallway. Otherwise, cleanliness, service and utilities were faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ozan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Ozan

Thank you for such a fab. review.

I'm absolutely delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Had a bad as first hotel was shocking and could not stay there if they paid us went to the Hilton and it was amazing nothing was to much trouble . Spa was fab , rooms , fab , room service , fab ........

Only down side was paying for parking which upsets me every time as I always think it's a scam

Stayed: August 2014
Thank MattWhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Matt

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

Great to see you had an enjoyable experience and everything met your expectations. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel with Avon as part of the national conference. The rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable, was easy to access from the motoway. Would be great if your going to the NEC.
The only thing I would say is the food at the gala dinner was extremely slow at coming out and was the same at the lunch the day after. Apart from this everything was good and met my expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay.

It's pleasing to see that everything met your expectations, although I would apologise that you felt the dinner and lunch service was a little slower than you would have wished. I will of course share your feedback with our management team for their review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £81 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing