We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class - outstanding staff service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
southend on sea
1 review
“Top class - outstanding staff service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

The hotel was very comfortable, well appointed rooms and the staff were all outstanding, no-one could do more. Delighted I was able to have a smoking room - makes all the difference to me!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    1,452
    1,171
    664
    467
See reviews for
504
1,025
323
2,370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

I had a fantastic stay at the Birmingham Metropole and got looked after very well by all staff especially Adam at the front of house, he went above and beyong to ensure our stay was to the highest standard and he was by far the best most polite man to serve us during our stay. I left feeling relaxed, happy and really special after recieving the level of service i did. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelleHallinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Ok we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights(31st July to3rd August) and we were allocated room number 224, a three day camel ride from the reception which is not a problem, we were suprised that the room was ready for check in at 9.00am(bonus points for this)however that is were things ended. It was obvious that this was not in the much vaunted refurbished area, in fact the only refurb we observed was to some toilets which was still ongoing and on checking out new ceiling tiles were being wheeled in to lift lobby 'B' anyway to the room and the first impression of the room was that it is of a reasonable size(more brownie points) however on closer inspection it appeared that the room had possably had a small fire in the past as it appeared to still have some of the smoke residue on the ceiling and painted surface were the curtains were hung,and sooty particals on the cobwebs. There was also a lot of dust around the only ventilation for the room as due to the plant rooms below and adjcent to the windows which was constantly in use,because of the noise, opening the window was out of the question, not even the glazing was unable to cut out the constant 24hour noise that this produced, then there was the oil stain down the door which was due either to a leaking self closing device or due to careless maintanance of the same.The bathroom whilst clean there was no hiding the fact that it was long overdue refurb as the ingrained dirt and staining to the bath was plain to see and finally my bed there was a constant fear of collapse the bed would rock side to side everytime you turned over or moved,on a side issue the staff leave a card for you to fill in with your observations be good or bad and although tempted I declined because one of the two cards left had already been filled in by a guest who had stayed at the hotel in July 2007!!! The mini rant is over but the Jewel in the crown for the Hilton are the staff they are excellent nothing is to much trouble for them,service with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regimentBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

The staff at the Metropole can't do enough to help me - even taking my personal mail to the Post Office during their days off!
It is a huge hotel but still offers personal and friendly service - from the concierge to the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerksTravellerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent visit to the hotel.

As a gestue of goodwill on behalf of the hotel, we should like to send you a complimentary bottle of wine for you to enjoy.

Please forward your address details to caroline.hagan@hilton.com in order that we may despatch to you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have stayed in this hotel now twice for a conference. It is a lovely hotel and has friendly staff. It is very clean and the bedrooms are finished to a high standard.
The food was very tasty too!
Although I stayed here for business reasons I probably wouldn't be able to afford to bring my family here for a stay but I would definitely recommend it to anyone who can and hopefully some day I will be able to afford to!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreams017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed for two nights with family and dog. Everything was made so easy and we were made to feel welcome throughout hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for staff who were friendly and helpful. Public areas of hotel comfortable and pool area lovely and open long hours which was great. Rooms comfortable with wonderful pillows and plenty of space. Lovely toiletries in bathroom and we had interconnecting rooms which made life easy. Breakfast was wonderful and the best I've had in any 4 star hotel. Only negative thing I can think of is that room service was a little expensive. Would highly recommend hotel for business or leisure stays. Great that things were made so welcoming with our pet.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel is perfect if you want the NEC, but a bit isolated if you want Birmingham central.
The breakfast was the best selection I have seen for a long time. And tasty too!
The food in the restaurant is expensive, but with the kids under 10 eating for free, it evens itself out.
The room was good with a decent double sofa bed for the kids, and air con too.
Good leisure facilities with a baby pool alongside the "adult" pool!
We had to pay for parking - which we did not expect. �7 per night. Not cheap!!
We would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing