We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as our stay in November”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Having enjoyed a fantastic stay in November I chose to stay again in January. The rooms were lovely and the hotel generally is very nice, however,this time the bar service was terrible with extensive delays on drinks and food, often 45mins or so ( even when the area was not busy ) and when it did arrive the order was always wrong. One meal had been taken to the wrong table so by the time they corrected this the rest of us had finished ours. The opening times for the restaurant do not fit in with a visit to the LG ( not open before a show and closed when you arrive back ) so forced to eat from the bar menu which after 10pm was limited, also the bar is full at weekends so could not get a table or seat to eat. I also thought the very noisy renovation / works to the reception / bar area floor could have been timed better....Friday evening? The noise was unbearable not to mention the strong adhesive smell that flooded the bar. I do not want to be too harsh as its generally a lovely hotel, maybe they were having staffing problems? Think I will try the Crowne Plaza next door next time though. Oh and just a warning, although I am used to paying over the odds at these places for food / drinks I did find their prices a little over excessive.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
Thank TheGearys17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,017 - 5,023 of 5,354 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

I stayed at the Birmingham Metropole for a one night business trip in December. I can't really fault the hotel and was very impressed by the value for money. I would definitely recommend the hotel and would hope to stay there in the future, whether for business or leisure purposes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redmist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I've just returned from a 2 night business stay at the Birmingham Metropole and have to say I am disappointed with this Hilton hotel. Check in was quite slow although I was greeted with a fairly warm welcome. But as the hotel is massive and I was sent to lift lobby b it was a fair walk to the room and you feel almost like you're not in the hotel as the walk through is very quiet and far from the bar, restaurants and reception area. Although when I booked the rooms for my colleagues and I, it said single room (no option for a double), I still expected a double as is normally the case at most hotels and other Hiltons. I was wrong, we each had a single room and it was quite small. You couldn't even shut the bathroom door whilst using the toilet! There was no main light and the lamp was very intermittent. It worked one evening but not the next. The television was a small portable which for a Hilton 4 star hotel you do not expect. No flat screen lcds here. The door handle to the balcony was virtually hanging on by a thread. There were a few marks on the carpet too. I had 2 bad nights sleep there as well as the room wasn't very sound proof, you could hear people slamming their bedroom doors shut in the corridor, and traffic outside all night too. One of my colleagues had the same experience and he was on another floor. There was no room service menu in the room apart from the breakfast order form. Ok, they did offer a few Satellite channels and pay per view movies and porn but this wasn't cheap at £13.00 a time. I couldn't access my bill on the hotel information section like it said either. I chose to have breakfast in the room and to be fair it was very nice and plentiful (except for one of the sausages which was vile) and the staff delivering it were friendly. However upon checkout I found I was charged an extra tray charge of £3.50 for room service breakfast on top of the £6.00 room service charge. £19 to have breakfast in room when you have already paid for breakfast is a bit steep. I didn't want to make too much fuss about it upon checkout as there was a massive queue behind me and only 2 people on the desk. It was a slow check out too. In fact the food at this hotel is extortinate. My colleagues and I weren't told at check in about the 3 restaurants having to be pre booked on Saturday evening. Therefore unable to get in the restaurant we had to settle for a bar meal. £102 for 3 people for a main course each and a drink and a couple of side orders. On the Sunday evening we eat in Millers pub restaurant and although the food was ok it was terribly overpriced. Keyaki prawns £9.75 for a starter which included 8 prawns. We each had homemade burger and chips £16.95 a head. Pints of Becks Vier £4.10 each which you can possibly expect, but it seems this hotel is just money grabbing and taking as much as possible, without giving anything back. We did venture out on the Saturday evening for a couple of hours and came back about midnight to find a massive array of smokers blocking up the front entrance to the hotel, it looked very common and having to walk through smoke to get into the hotel is not good. The management really need to sort this out. The bar service was very slow even after midnight, it seems perhaps the hotel is understaffed. It is certainly overpriced. On the positive side the hotel decor is nice and the bar and restaurants are relaxed and nicely lit. It's within the grounds of the NEC so for watching a show at the LG Arena or working at an exhibition like we were, it's spot on. I just expected a lot more from a Hilton hotel and it failed miserably sadly. i think if we do another show at the NEC or I go to a gig, I will give the Crowne Plaza a try.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Stayed here with my son when seeing Green Day - excellent hotel, great rooms and location. Would recommend this everytime

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I booked 3 rooms for myself and 5 friends to stay overnight. We wanted to go to the room early, to dress and also have a good old english breakfast the next morning. May I say that the room was lovely, it was clean and spacious. The food was lovely, on the evening. The beds were very comfortable, but the breakfast was absolutely fabulous. \the staff were very friendly and helpful and we all enjoyed our stay tremendously. I would certainly be using this hotel again. The location was perfect for myself and the rest of my party.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AingeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Impossible to fathom - a hotel hosting numerous conferences midweek yet booking a live band with the loudest imaginable bass to play until 1 in the morning. When I complained that I couldn't get to sleep (11.30pm) I was told the band would stop at 12. Untrue! When I called again, I was offered earplugs. I will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arreede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The hotel is ideally placed for visits to the NEC as it is within walking distance of trabnsport links and the exhibition centre. We had a warm welcome at the desk and in the restaurant. There was an excellentt, wide choice of food for both breakfast and dinner. The room was clean, well decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing