We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aston Hall

Aston Hall
Ranked #20 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built around 1618, this was the last conventional Jacobean house erected in England, which today features fine 17th-century architectural detail including plasterwork, woodwork and chimneypieces.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Impressive attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've visited the Aston Hall in April and we quite liked it. It looks lovely both from outside and inside as well. It also took us a fair amount of time to inspect everything. The gardens nearby were also pretty great, nicely relaxing and peaceful. Would definitely recommend if you got a few hours to spare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    124
    22
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Great place with some wonderful decor on the inside. A true great of Birmingham you mist visit this place if in the city. Great outer gardens also. Very peaceful. Near to Aston Villa football club and close transport links.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asif7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wow! Wish we lived there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

An idyllic spot in a fab location. The house is beautiful especially the hall which is panelled and imposing and is very welcoming. The indoor pool was lovely and warm and the grounds extensive and quiet with a trampoline for the children and swing. The outdoor pool would be great in summer months too but was not yet open.
The kitchen was well equipped and functional and there were lots of tvs but we didn't stay in much.
The surrounding area is stunning. We had our dog with us and went on long coastal walks ending at The Ship at Noss Mayo for a well deserved drink.
Go to Bigbury on Sea and take the kids on the sea tractor. The Venus beach cafe was good and we stopped at the Pickwick Inn on the way back for huge pizzas.
Also if have young children go to Pennywell Farm it was great and there was
It's to do.
Will definitely go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynneDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“History in a house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Must confess the O/H is more in to old houses than I, I have the view that seen one seen them all.
Aston Hall is however different from the many dozens of others in that it is in the city, full of character and clearly a working house rather than one to impress the King.
Think you will love it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aston Hall Birmingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Another gem of Birmingham is Aston Hall, a lovely Grade I listed Jacobean Mansion built by
Sir Thomas Holte. It is situated in the heart of inner city Birmingham next to Aston Villa football ground which lends itself to the name Holte End on one side of the terraces. It is accessible for wheelchairs on the lower level but not for the other floors, they have interactive videos though so the disabled can see the house and not miss out. The house is atmospheric and "how it was"
and the Lady Holte garden is very pretty. There is a nice cafe and shop and everyone was helpful and friendly. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aston Hall also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Aston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing