We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money for the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park

Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park
Ranked #27 of 275 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park is home to some of the worlds most endangered animals. During your visit you will see Red Pandas, Colombian Black Spider Monkeys, Yellow Breasted Capuchin Monkeys, Ocelot Cats, European Lynx, Northern Bald Ibis, Ring Tailed Lemurs, Gentle Lemurs, Two Toed Sloth, Pygmy Slow Loris, Golden Lion Tamarins, Pied Tamarins, Meerkats, Otters, Binturong to name but a few!! All of these species are maintained in spacious naturalistic enclosures. Our name reflects our commitment to saving these rare animals through conservation captive breeding, informative talks, classroom experiences and clear signage. Why not become a 'keeper for a day' or have 'an animal encounter'. Hold your birthday party, meeting or special occasion at our park. Get close to the worlds rarest animals, have a fun family day out, we're nearer than you think!!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Even after many years of visiting the nature centre, I still find it extremely good value for money. Despite being in the city, you'd never know it. My 6 year old continues to love it and never gets bored. Well worth a visit. Don't forget your picnic!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    202
    53
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
912 reviews
300 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Young Children to Visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed the visit with our grandchildren. This is just the right size of ‘zoo' to take young children too for a few hours. It is not large enough to spend the whole day at, so not too much walking for the younger ones. There are facilities to sit and picnic or you can use the cafe. Some of the animals we saw were Mere cats, Otters, Lemurs, monkeys, tamarins and goats!

Very reasonably priced and a large free car park. If you intend visiting, look at their website so that your there for feeding time. There are about 4 different times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a rip-off - Great Day Out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Took our grand daughter who is 22 months old. She really enjoyed it. Lots to see without the usual rip-off prices charged by many other attractions in the City. Free parking was a pleasant change also. She was able to get close up to snakes, see otters swimming about and on land, watch Meerkats. If you want to watch the animals being fed, you need to get there in the morning. Retail shop was a bit of a disappointment and we bought nothing ( a rare event) - prices were a little steep and selection was poor. Their card machine had broken down and you could only pay by cash - think they should have a plan B! Signage could be improved to tell you what to expect as you go round. Good choice of food in cafe and reasonably priced. A good day out for families during school holidays who haven't got deep pockets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing little adventure right in Birmingham City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

When planning my daughters first birthday, a trip into Birmingham City Centre wasn't on the cards until I was told about Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park which I had never heard about and only wish I had heard about it sooner as we had a brilliant day out. Me & my husband were really surprised with how many animals were there, how friendly the staff were & the facilities. Such great value for money especially as you can see they are doing such great work, just such a shame this place isn't marketed better as its amazing value for money & a wonderful place to visit especially for young children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StaceLunnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“OK, but not changed much in 30 years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited with our granddaughter and our two great grandchildren aged 1 and 2. As a whole the venue has not changed much in the last thirty years. We have visited with our children, our grandchildren and now our great grandchildren. For 1 and 2 year olds there is not a lot to interest them, apart from one small children's to play area with a few rocking horses and a small climbing frame with a slide. Most of the animals and birds on show look old and tired. The cafe is ok, with reasonably priced food.

Would I go back again, possibly, but not in the foreseeable future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing