We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Italian Job”
Review of Vintage Trains

Vintage Trains
Ranked #86 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly the Birmingham Railway Museum, this location is now a commercial enterprise called Tyseley Locomotive Works. This working steam railway yard is open to the public on specific open days and will thrill railroad buffs with its excellent collection of locomotives including the GWR "Castle" class, an LMS "Jubilee" class engine and three GWR Pannier tank locomotives.TLW is also the home to Vintage Trains steam excusrions and The Shakespeare Express. Vintage Trains run steam-hauled day excursions throughout the year, utilising it's own and guest steam locomotives.The Shakespeare Express (seperate trip-advisor) runs a scheduled steam hauled service from Birmingham to Stratford and return twice every summer Sunday.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Italian Job”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A friend and I went for an Italian meal on a steam train! Vintage Trains wanted to test their 1930s High Speed Steam engine "Earl of Mount Edgcumbe" after its winter maintenance, so they arranged a trip round in a circle from Birmingham to Leicester and back with their Pullman dining cars. We left their Tyseley station at 5.30pm and were back again by 9.30pm having had a lovely four course Italian meal of cold meads, eggplant, lasagne and tiramasu with excellent and cherful service. The hot dishes were piping hot. Wine was available. Coffee after. And a few minutes to see the steam engine when we stopped at Leicester. Our coach steward kept us informed of what was happening and we even met the engine driver. Recommended. Vintage Trains run trips about once a fortnight but this evening dining train was unusual

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cumbrian Ranger-15 March 2014”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent day out with Bittern pulling out from Carlisle, over Settle-Carlisle, with change back to diesel at Crewe. Only downside was Network Rail not allowing Bittern to pull into Carlisle, so extra enforced engine change at Carnforth (why cannot they become more reasonable with people's enjoyment, clearly no safety issue.
Good food, and standard of waitressing. Heavily volunteer use, and no hard sell of anything.
Lovely, will likely use again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyke190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I had the full works on a return steam train trip to Melton Mowbray. Reserved seats with breakfast served on the way out and dinner on return. The arrangements were good, booking was easy, and we were kept informed on the journey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cotswold Explorer to Oxford”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently took a day trip with Vintage Trains on their Cotswold Explore day trip to Oxford. After boarding at Tysley we set off on a lovely exciting journey to Oxford. We chose to travel Club class which include a continental breakfast and afternoon tea on the homeward journey. The food was excellent we had crumpets, croissants and Danish pastries with tea or coffee with plenty of refills. All the tables were laid with crisp white linen cloths and napkins. The waitresses were excellent and served the food professionally and with a smile. Afternoon tea was a good selection of sandwiches, large warm sausage roll followed by a delicious scone with cream and jam.

We had a short stop to pick up passengers and were able to take photos of the engine. We then continue used to Oxford and spent three hours there. Upon boarding the train to return home the carriage and tables had again been reset with fresh linen ready for afternoon tea.

All the stewards and staff were so friendly it made the day. It a wonderful day out and we met some lovely people on the trip, would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CindySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birmingham to Hereford via Maindee”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I decided to join this trip at short notice and enjoyed an excellent tour yesterday with 5043 in good shape. I joined at Snow Hill and we experienced some sprightly running after getting away from the local stopping trains in the Kidderminster area and it was nice to exchange whistles with the SVR.

After a water stop the journey from Droitwich to Hereford was completed without stopping. Once on the Marches mile after mile of good fast running was racked up and the Earl offered a decent climb of Llanfihangel bank near Abergaveny. Route notes were great and the bacon roll was right on time!

I was not able to travel on the return run (heading straight home) but I am very pleased to have been able to do what I could. I have travelled on a number of VT excursions since 2003, and would always recommend them as a tour promoter. I’m looking forward to Cluns completion.

Many thanks to all involved, from the West Coast footplate crews and support crew to the train stewards and catering staff. Communication with the office was quick and efficient.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintage Trains also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
West Bromwich, Sandwell
 

Been to Vintage Trains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing