We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday evening trip 4th April”
Review of Vintage Trains

Vintage Trains
Ranked #86 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly the Birmingham Railway Museum, this location is now a commercial enterprise called Tyseley Locomotive Works. This working steam railway yard is open to the public on specific open days and will thrill railroad buffs with its excellent collection of locomotives including the GWR "Castle" class, an LMS "Jubilee" class engine and three GWR Pannier tank locomotives.TLW is also the home to Vintage Trains steam excusrions and The Shakespeare Express. Vintage Trains run steam-hauled day excursions throughout the year, utilising it's own and guest steam locomotives.The Shakespeare Express (seperate trip-advisor) runs a scheduled steam hauled service from Birmingham to Stratford and return twice every summer Sunday.
wellingborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friday evening trip 4th April”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went on their Italian Job evening trip. What a great time we had for our 10th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent as always. This was our 6th trip with them and it was faultless. A big thank you for organising the surprise bouquet of flowers from my husband too, all these extra bits help to make trips like this so special so keep up the good work xx

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Italian Job”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A friend and I went for an Italian meal on a steam train! Vintage Trains wanted to test their 1930s High Speed Steam engine "Earl of Mount Edgcumbe" after its winter maintenance, so they arranged a trip round in a circle from Birmingham to Leicester and back with their Pullman dining cars. We left their Tyseley station at 5.30pm and were back again by 9.30pm having had a lovely four course Italian meal of cold meads, eggplant, lasagne and tiramasu with excellent and cherful service. The hot dishes were piping hot. Wine was available. Coffee after. And a few minutes to see the steam engine when we stopped at Leicester. Our coach steward kept us informed of what was happening and we even met the engine driver. Recommended. Vintage Trains run trips about once a fortnight but this evening dining train was unusual

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cumbrian Ranger-15 March 2014”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent day out with Bittern pulling out from Carlisle, over Settle-Carlisle, with change back to diesel at Crewe. Only downside was Network Rail not allowing Bittern to pull into Carlisle, so extra enforced engine change at Carnforth (why cannot they become more reasonable with people's enjoyment, clearly no safety issue.
Good food, and standard of waitressing. Heavily volunteer use, and no hard sell of anything.
Lovely, will likely use again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyke190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I had the full works on a return steam train trip to Melton Mowbray. Reserved seats with breakfast served on the way out and dinner on return. The arrangements were good, booking was easy, and we were kept informed on the journey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cotswold Explorer to Oxford”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently took a day trip with Vintage Trains on their Cotswold Explore day trip to Oxford. After boarding at Tysley we set off on a lovely exciting journey to Oxford. We chose to travel Club class which include a continental breakfast and afternoon tea on the homeward journey. The food was excellent we had crumpets, croissants and Danish pastries with tea or coffee with plenty of refills. All the tables were laid with crisp white linen cloths and napkins. The waitresses were excellent and served the food professionally and with a smile. Afternoon tea was a good selection of sandwiches, large warm sausage roll followed by a delicious scone with cream and jam.

We had a short stop to pick up passengers and were able to take photos of the engine. We then continue used to Oxford and spent three hours there. Upon boarding the train to return home the carriage and tables had again been reset with fresh linen ready for afternoon tea.

All the stewards and staff were so friendly it made the day. It a wonderful day out and we met some lovely people on the trip, would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CindySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintage Trains also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Vintage Trains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing