We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time, but lots of room for improvement”
Review of Cadbury World

Cadbury World
Ranked #27 of 280 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Uncover a world of chocolate delights and enjoy a fascinating, fun-packed day out at Cadbury World. From learning how your favourite confectionery is made and uncovering the fascinating story of Cadbury chocolate, to playing in chocolate rain and adding your favourite treat to a delicious pot of warm liquid Cadbury Dairy Milk. You'll discover the origins of the cocoa bean amidst trees and waterfalls in the Aztec Jungle, before jumping on board the magical Cadabra ride and visiting the brand new 4D Chocolate Adventure zone, a 4D cinema experience featuring Cadbury's most popular characters. Cadbury World is located in the grounds of the original Cadbury factory, but isn't a tour of the factory itself. Instead, you'll discover the history, the making and the magic of Cadbury confectionery as you journey through our chocolatey zones.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun time, but lots of room for improvement”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My 3 friends and I specifically went up to Cadbury world from London as a weekend trip.

The place was great once we got there, and you could smell the chocolate in the air. The old school brick buildings with "Bourneville" and "Cadbury" written on them were a brilliant thing to look at.

There was quite a long line to get in and it seemed quite chaotic, but as we had pre booked (lucky we had, because it was sold out for the day) we got our tickets and joined the line straight away.

The chocolate at the start was great and kept us going. Overall, the experince was enjoyed by us - but we are all in our 20's. I can see that while people might think its a great place to take kids, they would leave underwhelmed and wondering where the chocolate magic happens. I understand the need for health and saftey, but it would have been a lot better to see more of the factory - especially with the machines working! I feel like the place needs to get someonein from a museum who really understands exhibitions and can help Cadbury put together a much more informative and more engaging experience - especailly for young children.

Seeing the people creating the chocolate shoes and chocolate footballs was definatley a highlight.

I'm not saying that I didn't have a great time and i wouldn't reccomend it if you were in the area, but there is just a lot of room for movement from Cadburys.

Another big highlight was the brilliant drumming gorilla....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    2,231
    1,436
    635
    430
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Visited in June 2014, it is interestinga nd enjoyable but children under 5 may not understand much and generally ask when will we get some more chocolate.

Some sections were very boring some a little bit more interesting. This is not an all day event at most a few hours to half a day especially if the weather is good and the children want to play in the outdoor area.

The oytdoor area was fab, it was spacious suited different ages for children. I did notice that the outdoor area was very busy and that some people came to th eoutdoor zone without having been to the attraction which would explain why it is so busy. There was even an indoor children's sooty show, where the children and parents get squirted with water. Very enjoyable.

iI would attend again in a few years once changes have been made as I would be aware of all the information given in the various shows.

I recommend if you are at a loose end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank toni15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Got the tickets as part of a promo from Groupon including hotel stay. For a family of four, it would have cost around £48 plus on the counter it looks like it would be better to pre-book your tickets as you're not guaranteed entry for walk-in customers due to advanced bookings.

If you're into a bit of history, then it is a good place to visit in Birmingham. Our children were fascinated with what they learned, from Cadburys humble beginnings to what it is today. There's plenty of chocolate freebies on every attraction inside the factory (not for the diabetics) that was more than enough to keep my kids active if not hyperactive throughout the visit. The shop at the end of the tour sells different varieties of Cadbury chocolates and different souvenir items although be warned that prices are a bit more for the chocolates than what you would pay for in Asda.

There's a play area outside where your kids can burn all the energy from all the free chocs.

One place definitely worth visiting in Birmingham especially if you have kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nirvana231976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Good Day Out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Cadbury world on saturday 28th of june , it was a really enjoyable day out. Really interesting information , fascinating to see a working factory in action , the free chocolate & samples were awesome , cadbara well worth quing for , 4D experience was excellent , got tonnes of stuff great prices in the gift shop and had an excellent lunch in the Cafe , id highly recommend the ribs and strawberry milkshake really good.

Helpful?
Thank KevOD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Outing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great time at Cadbury World... Very interesting finding out about the history of the brand. It would have been great to have some kids with us be we don't have any!! Lots of free chocolate & a love,y melted chocolate pot!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucysreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadbury World also viewed

 

Been to Cadbury World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing