We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rusty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Man

Iron Man
Ranked #109 of 275 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Standing almost twenty feet high, this metal sculpture erected in 1993 depicts a stylized human figure bound like a mummy and leaning slightly to one side.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rusty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

What more can one say a rusty leaning man in Victoria Square but it has something about it which i can`t put my finger on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tismyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ugly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

ugly piece of modern art- it is far from beautiful, however it may opinion which can be wrong. Despite of everything it placed in really amazing Victoria square.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank z0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
717 reviews
373 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
“Victoria Square is all the better for having Iron: Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Antony Gormley’s sculptures seem to be controversial wherever they are implanted and Iron: Man in Victoria Square, Birmingham is no exception.

With a backdrop of the Town Hall and Council House Iron: Man seems to sit quite comfortably amongst it’s neighbours in my view giving Victoria Square a good blend of old and new with it’s impressive buildings and new sculptures.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Metallic Monstrosity!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I am afraid that the only non-negative descriptor I can think of at this present moment in time is 'quirky'! I agree that it will capture tourist interest, but,sincerely hope, that as a nation our artistic skills are not benchmarked on this lopsided chunk of eroding metallic junk.
However, if you can stop smiling, and even ridiculing this effort of a sculpture, and raise your eyes to The Council House, and surrounding square, there are always more pleasing panorama's, whatever the weather!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“AN Ugly Rusting Eyesore”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is very much an individual taste and I dislike the sad looking statue. It reminds me of a rusty hulk of a ship

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iron Man also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Iron Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing