We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I revelled in comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at the Burlington overnight to attend a friend's wedding and it was just spot on. They happily allowed me to check in early to get changed for the wedding and what a room to get changed in it was. You know when you want lots of space to prance about in checking how your new outfit falls? Maybe that's just me! Lots of natural light and mirrors and air and space. And everything spotless. Good shower. Good hairdryer. Lovely staff on reception. Just a good solid thoroughly pleasant place to stay. I got a great price so shop around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,781 - 2,787 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and loved it. We were upgraded on arrival, the reception staff were lovely. Room was great, bathroom with fabulous shower, fridge and tea-making faciities.
Negatives, only one bathrobe and the street noise at 4 am.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

From start to finish, the two night stay (Half Board) was well worth the slightly higher price that could have been obtained in another nearby hotel, which, having stayed there before, I chose not to.
The hotel has a lot character many hotels have now lost in their rush to modernise. Whilst this hotel retains it's charm, it is not in any way in need of modernisation in any way. The rooms are fully up to spec (dependant on the room rate you choose of course). The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and very well looked after. A very pleasing stay. Oh, and the food was well worth it but there are numerous other good places to eat nearby if that is what you would prefer to do.

Room Tip: Not many rooms have 'views'. Some rooms may overlook the rear bus exchange which could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GABJLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel was lovely and the staff were brill could not fault anything on our first visit. we are already planning our second and third. So close to all the amenities which is why we chose it. Only complaint if you could call it that was the website needs better details of the rooms because we found out they had executive and feature rooms and would have gladly paid the extra. Well done fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolverhamptonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed there when I was attending a conference. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Who needs London or Manchester Brum has it all. Fabulous cosmopoliton shops and restaurants.Super city life full of culture.What a well kept tidy shopping area and fantastic sales !!! Our hotel a little expensive but on the doorstep of "the city heart".excellent service from the staff super breakfast and a beautiful huge bathroom.Number 500 is the room to book. We will be back.O and The shakespeare pub with its clean bar,friendly staff and super safe location topped off our night after a super china town meal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very centrally positioned Hotel very handy for all amenities, adjacent to the Railway station Just stayed for the one night, thought there had been a mistake when we first saw the room with its four poster bed, very deluxe, wish we had been staying for longer. Excellent breakfast with a large selection of cold and hot items, Overall great service. Night manager/ reception helped us with the printing off of our flight boarding passes for the next day.
Altogether a wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartinButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,631 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £71 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing