We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Sure”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A group of friends and I booked three rooms for one night through late room. We saved quite a bit on the daily room rate of £239 and paid only £73 Good value!!
Check in was easy and the staff extremely polite and we were given exact instructions on how to get to our room. My wife and I had a third floor room facing on to New Street which wasn't a problem, The room itself can only be described as small compared to other hotels in the city that we have stayed in and seemed dark due to the small window (this was due to the age of the building), It was traditionally decorated, had a good bathroom with piping hot water and clean towels, only one robe though?? As we were eating out that night with friends we didn't try the restaurant or try breakfast as we were room only.
I cannot find fault with the hotel, staff etc. at all, however I felt there was something missing from it all as it didn't seem to have the atmosphere of other city centre hotels which is fine if that the sort of thing you like.
Parking is in a nearby multi storey about five minutes walk away, station directly opposite, shops on you doorstep and nightlife a short walk away so as I say it has lots of positives. Just not for me I'm afraid.

If you are booking through late rooms do make sure the payment has gone through as on check out we were asked for payment, even though this was a prepayment booking and we had booked a week before, eventually sorted out though the payment was till pending apparently

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    968
    497
    219
    127
See reviews for
213
1,239
172
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I love this hotel, have stayed twice now and always experience friendly staff, lovely decor and fantastic food for breakfast. It is located on new street so close to shopping, stations and an easy walk to Brindley place and that area. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nlb8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsdale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for just one night but we were really impressed at the superb service from the reception staff. We were made so welcome and they couldn't have been more friendly. I shall recommend it to my friends for it's warm atmosphere, friendly and efficient service and superb location for shopping and the railway station. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egdirbwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Other than the location of this hotel there is nothing good I can say about it. On my check in I was asked if I'd like a morning paper, never received it on any of the 4 mornings I was there. My room 217 was dirty, stained carpets, bathroom looked like it hasn't been changed since the 80's, chipped paintwork where ever you looked. I'm not sure why this hotel has 4 star rating? Breakfast was a disaster too, poached eggs on toast, soggy bread cold eggs. By the time my coffee arrived each day I was ready to leave for work. My last day when arrived for breakfast at 6.30am I sat there for 10 mins before anyone asked if I'd like tea or coffee. Overall I would avoid this hotel as its dated and the service is virtually none existent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammerhicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

You can't fault this hotel for location - straight across the road from New Street station and right in the heart of the shops.
I was only here for one night to attend a course in a different hotel and didn't spend too much time in the room or the hotel.
Although travelling on my own I had booked an Executive double - well if that room was executive I'm not sure was state the standard rooms are. It was almost as if the bathroom had been refitted but they hadn't bothered doing the rest of the room - the furnishings were quite tatty and I'm not sure what the executive part was. I wasn't expecting a fabulous view on the 3rd floor but overlooked a flat roof which looked like it was being worked on so I had to keep my curtains shut even whilst daylight for privacy.
People have commented that the hotel is looking tired and it definitely is - yes it is an old classical building but it could definitely do with some decorating and maintenance.
At breakfast even though it wasn't busy it took ages for a waitress to come over and take my hot breakfast order.
It was fine for one night but I think the hotel is relying on its location to compensate for its appearance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llong32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We visited the Scottish Steak Club at the Burlington Hotel in Birmingham and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
We were dealt with promptly and the staff showed us to a table with a pleasant view over New Street. The restaurant wasn't very busy but I would imagine this is due to not many people knowing about its existance due to it being back off of the strret side.
We sampled 3 courses each and obviously had to try the steak. I had Sirloin with my partner having the fillet and they were both cooked and served perfectly. We also had the bread and oil to start and that was a good introduction to our meals with the bread being served warm with enough butter and oil for both of us.
We finished with the trio of Creme Brulee and this has to be the best I've ever tasted. The white chocolate in the bottom set the dish off perfectly.
Overall we had a very pleasant visit and would definitely go again. Looking around at the decor I would also suggest that the hotel is brilliant and this is something we will also look to sample in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed at the Burlington again last month, and the levels of comfort and cleanliness were top rate as usual. As well as this, the professional and friendly staff always make you feel so welcome. You see a lot of the same faces when you go to the hotel, showing a low level of staff turnover, which must be a good thing.

Room Tip: I've stayed in lots of different rooms in the hotel and they are all brilliant. You don't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissedOutJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing