We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be worst hotel in mc donald portfolio” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must be worst hotel in mc donald portfolio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I usually stay in the indigo hotel birmingham but decided to give the burlington a try not because of the price which was not worth it but because of the mc donald name hotel rooms badly need refurbishment walls peeling and cracking floors not even. Also air con non existent I would not consider staying again until hotel was refurbished only good thing was location

Room Tip: Try not to get a front room as the work on the station opposite starts early also noise from staion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwellScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear maxwellScotland

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Burlington Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit.

As you can see from other reviews on trip adviser, the vast majority of our guests leave the Burlington more than satisfied with their stay. I am very sorry to hear on this occasion this was not the case for you.

We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and as such have an ongoing bedroom refurbishment programme in place. On this particular occasion I can only assume you were allocated one of our older bedrooms, although I fully appreciate this should not detract from the expectation that basic maintenance standards should be in place. I have discussed your feedback in detail with our maintenance manager so the appropriate interim remedial works can be undertaken to ensure any future disappointment could be avoided.

I would be delighted to discuss your stay with you directly and would welcome any further feedback you may be able to provide. I can be contacted on gm.19@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    960
    493
    216
    125
See reviews for
214
1,232
171
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for one night when in Birmingham for work. Was deeply impressed given some of the reviews indicated this may be a disappointment.
Had a single Executive Room and although "single" was literal, the room was small, it was extremely comfortable and immaculately clean.
Room service took a little while and meal was lukewarm on arrival, however, all that aside the overall service was pleasant and good. Location is excellent for train station and shops.
Would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Glo S

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to learn overall you enjoyed your stay with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you wish to book and I will ensure you are allocated a larger room. I can be contacted on gm.19@macdonald-hotels.co.uk.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Although we did only stay here one night, the service we received was very good. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was situated just across the road from the train station, which was ideal for us as my husband cannot walk too far. The shops were also just outside the hotel.
The only down side was the bacon at breakfast, it was overcooked and hard. But this would certainly not deter me from choosing this hotel again. Thank you for your staffs polite service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helensbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Helensbid

I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular I was delighted to note you found all my staff very helpful and received good service throughout your stay. Thank you so much for your kind comments, which I will be sure to share with them!

I am sorry to hear the bacon you were presented with at breakfast was not up to our usual high standards and I have addressed this with our Head Chef who has especially asked to be associated with my apology.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at the Macdonald Burlington Hotel in March with my husband and 2 children. We stayed in 2 VERY large adjoining rooms, the beds were massive and very comfortable, we had everything we should need in the bedroom and bathroom, it was immaculately clean throughout. When we needed anything including a cot and milk bought to our room we were met with a very prompt and polite service. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and helped orientate us to the hotel, City and shopping areas. We ate our dinner in the hotel restaurant which was good quality and value, the children were given activity packs to keep them entertained between courses and the waiting staff were helpful and welcoming to families. We enjoyed the same level of experience at Breakfast with fantastic service and a vast range of breakfast items on offer. The waiting staff were always mindful of the table filling up with used crockery and quick to clear it away. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this hotel for its central location to the shopping area and the excellent standard of service, cleanliness and comfort. We look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebears12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Thebears12

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments! We are very proud of the Team and how they all work to deliver exceptional customer service. I will be sure to personally pass on your feedback to them.

The two rooms you were allocated are very popular with families and in order to secure them, I would recommend booking as early as possible to avoid any potential disappointment. Next time you wish to book please contact me directly and I will endeavor to allocate you the same bedrooms. I can be contacted on gm.19@macdonald-hotels.co.uk.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!.

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel with my wife while attending a family function nearby. The location is excellent, right beside New Street station and in the centre of town for shopping.The hotel itself is old and there are quite a few areas where money should be spent on upgrading, such as worn carpets,old bathroom fittings etc.but it is still quite nice inside with a nice sense of grandeur about it. The beds were comfortable and the floor we stayed on was mostly quiet.
I was dissapointed by the staff who seemed to be trying very hard to appear serious all of the time (which actually comes across as grumpiness).They could try smiling and at least appear a bit more friendly.
However, there was an incident in our room with some nails sticking out of the carpet which was sorted out promptly by the girl at reception and she also left two vouchers in our room for breakfast by way of compensation which I thought was a very nice gesture.
I would recommend the hotel for it's location and it is reasonably comfortable, but I would price around as there may be better value available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear pw46

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am extremely disappointed to learn of your disappointment with my team. As you can see from other reviews on trip adviser, this is an area we usually excel in throughout the hotel. I am very sorry to hear on this occasion, this appears not to have been the case for you and I have shared your feedback with the team to highlight the importance of delivering exceptional customer service to all guests at all times.

May I take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused as a result of the nails you found in the carpet in your bedroom. I am pleased to note this was quickly rectified to your satisfaction by my reception team and would like to take this opportunity to assure you I have also reviewed your feedback in detail with my maintenance and housekeeping managers. A full check of all our bedrooms has now been carried out to ensure any similar incident could be avoided in the future.

I do hop this isolated experience will not deter you from using us again!

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent hotel.

Nice staff, big large rooms(and bathroom) and very comfortable beds!!
And to top it all of the location is just right next to the train station and the high street!!
I Will return here!!as really enjoyed staying at the hotel.It was very clean with lots of old features in the building

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kellyjeynes

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am delighted to learn you really enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here at least 10 times before . I asked for big room for 4 of us. Was assured by phone I would be given largest suite. Was given small suite unlike previous visits. The double bed was missing a leg/coaster so was lob sided We were looking out on new street which was noisy at night
Shame guy on reception made a promise that he couldn't deliver on with the room
Hotel is very well situated for shopping and trains etc

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank david939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear david939

I am so sorry on this occasion we appear to have let you down. Some of our bedrooms are very popular and unfortunately we are not always able to allocate specific bedrooms on request, although I do I fully appreciate we should deliver on promises made. I have discussed your feedback in detail with my reception team to ensure any future disappointment could be avoided.

I do hope this isolated experience will not deter you from using us again and please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you wish to book, and should you have a particular favorite bedroom I will endeavor to allocate it to you . I can be contacted on gm.19@macdonald-hotels.co.uk.

We do hope you will allow us the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again soon!

Kindest regards

Derek McDonagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing