We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunt the bargains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hunt the bargains”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I have stayed here a few times. Not a bad hotel overall, what sets it apart is the cleanliness of the rooms and comfort of the beds. A few other little treats in some of their usually more pricy rooms makes this a decent treat for people staying for leisure or work. It is worth looking out for bargain rates though - since the better rooms can be had for rates as cheap as some of the budget hotel rooms. Oh. and location wise, this is perfect for those travelling in by train and spending time in the city centre - and must be a right pain for drivers to get to.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nowtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    991
    508
    222
    133
See reviews for
218
1,258
175
873
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar, Europe
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

This was the second time I stayed at the hotel. First time was in a tiny single, this time I booked a double and got upgraded and ended up sleeping in a four poster and I had a full breakfast included - not bad for £70.

The main reason for me choosing the hotel is the proximity to New Street Station. After arriving from Gatwick and being unsure if I would arrive during daylight I need to feel secure about getting to my Birmingham hotel. The Macdonald Burlington is literally a hop skip and jump from the station. Staff are friendly, and the other bonus is being on the main shopping street and near to the Bull Ring, after the business of the day is over, there is still time for that all important retail therapy.

Price is a consideration, but I am sure that I will stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Just came backfrom staying here on Business. Overall I wasvery happy . I had a very good sized room but looking at the floor plan all the rooms were different sized and there were some really small ones so unsure how they decide who gets what but I think I was lucky. My bedroom was in victorian style - they also have contempory as well I was told. Large Bathroom which showed signs of age but overall clean and spacious. The shower seemed to have two temperatures cold or burning but you were warned on a sign in bathrooom so no accidents at least , the Tv had the standard channels and my wake up calls were on time.
As I was alone on Business I intended for the first night to have room service however this did not happen as the menu us limited and expensive for what it is. Therefore I ate in the restaurant and was waitered on hand and foot. The price was good the food was amazing and it was quiet with a lovely view over the main shopping streeet I believe for good people watching oportunities! The waiters could not do enought for you so it was a lovely experience. The other main bonus of the hotel is its location - 2 mins from the station , i agree it was hard to find initially as I do not know B'ham and it was dark and rainy , but once I got there it has an amazing presence to it.

  • Liked — Restaurant Food amazing!
  • Disliked — Room looked bit worn in places
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Stayed here on an overnight business trip.

Very impressed with the hotel - its location is perfect for train arrivals to New Street - literally a minute or so...

Located in a small arcade I did find the reception/entrance a bit confusing to locate at first. Lifts are available.

My room was extremely spacious, clean and well turned out, and the bed comfortable.

Absolutely no complaints - bottled water, good quality biscuits and tea/coffee/herbal sachets (its those little touches right?). Would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location to New Street Station
  • Disliked — Hidden reception entrance
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Spent a day and an evening here for business. Staff were good, and the rooms were excellent as well.

Lunch during the workshop I was organising was on the small side and the night porter didn't know how to connect a call to my room.

But overall a nice pleasant stay. One of my preferred hotels in Brum.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank the_bear_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

an excellent 2 star hotel, but a very poor 4 star. if youre going to pay these prices, go to the hyatt off broad street.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sligo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

what a solid gold nugget! We stayed in so called 4 star hotels before but at last we've found one that is worthy of the name.
From the friendly helpful staff, brilliant room, great breakfast, ideal location, this is going to sound like a promo for the hotel, but believe me this is one place that you should check out. We have already recommended this hotel to all our friends.

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scrinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,028 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing