We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall experience was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coventry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall experience was excellent”
Reviewed 16 February 2009

For my husband's birthday I had initially booked a hotel further away, but due to the horrendous weather I had to cancel. We still wanted to celebrate so looked for a hotel nearer. I telephoned the MacDonald chain and told them the above and booked a room at the Burlington in Birmingham. We booked a D,B&B package. When we arrived at the hotel, earlier than the checking in time (which wasn't a problem) the Receptionist noted that it was my husband's birthday and upgraded us to a suite - which was a lovely gesture. The suite was fabulous. Birmingham, i.e. Broad Street is a great place to go for a night out anyway, lots of places to eat and drink. As we had Dinner booked at the hotel we ate there. I can be quite critical about eating out - I picked this up from my father who was a Chef. Well the food at the Burlington Hotel was absolutely outstanding. Presentation made you feel that you were in a top London restaurant. The food tasted fantastic (the Chef is very talented) and not over-priced.

All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant.

I don't live very far away from this hotel, but would certainly book again and take advantage of the excellent location for shopping, night out in Broad Street, and would eat at the restaurant.

The hotel has concessionary parking rates at the Pallasades

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    981
    501
    220
    130
See reviews for
215
1,249
173
859
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The check in was smooth and efficient. I had booked a single room and it was tiny. Whilst the room was clean there was a horrendous smell of cooking. The bathroom was tiny and very tired - When the bath was filled a gap appeared at the wall. The restaurant and bar staff were good but I would not stay there again

  • Liked — The restaurant staff
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roseberrylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

What a fantastic hotel. We stayed there for one night on 23rd January 2009. We got a bargain price but I think that the £72 the hotel website was charging for room only would be well worth it!
The recepion is very grand and the staff extremely welcoming and helpful.
Our room was huge, over looking New St. For £62 we were expecting a bed and a bathroom but we also had a sofe, coffee table, trouser press with ironing board, desk and TV with internet access. The bathroom was also big, if a little warm.
We thought the position of the room would make it noisy but the double glazing meant that we had a fantastic nights sleep.
Make sure you take your key card if you go out for the evening. As the entrance is through an arcade during the day huge glass doors are drawn across at night to keep the riff-raff out. Just flash your card to security and the will let you in. Not problem at all!
The hotel is 2 mins walk from Birmingham New St station so has a fantastic location and the price is amazing compared to some of the prices other hotels in the area charge and the facilities they provide.
Would definitely stay there again, might even stay next Friday it was that good!

  • Liked — The staff, the room, the location.
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit hot but that's all!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrssjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2008

As usual, Macdonald went beyond the normal 4-star hotel treatment, from the moment I arrived and they walked back to my car to show me where to park (be a great idea if the car park entrance postcode was provided on the hotel website) and how to get there. I was made to feel a truly valued customer throughout my short working stay. Once again, Macdonald's food was far better than all other hotel chains and the service a pleasure. I also noted that although there was a large private function going on during my stay, neither the service to other guests nor the ambiance of the hotel was affected in any way, and I congratulate the Burlington on this especially as I have had disastrous experiences at other hotels close to Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ancienttraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a small re union with friends and for some Christmas shopping. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - changing room arrangements etc without a fuss. The hotel itself is very close to New Street Station and absolutely ideal for shopping in Birmingham city centre, We will definitely be going back next year.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayno254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

The location is close to New Street rail station and convenient for the city centre. The entrance is strange being up an alley/arcade. The first floor is where the restaurant and bar is located and the reception is on the ground floor.

Reception efficient, but not particularly welcoming. The room smelt of cigarettte ash, heating barely adequate (especially in the bathroom), hot water took forever to arrive to the basin and shower. Well furnished (in a traditional way) and bed comfortable. Poor quality overall for £140 for a single for the night without breakfast.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — below par quality of heating and lack of hot water
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I have just returned from a weekend stay in Birmingham at the Macdonald Burlington Hotel.
I found all the staff helpful and efficient and the location of the hotel was perfect for shopping and dining out.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family looking for a weekend away or business.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CIHMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing