We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“understated class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Suffolk
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“understated class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed at the Burlington when another hotel double booked us and let us down very badly. (They will be nameless at the moment as they are mortified and trying hard to make amends.) We arrived soaking wet, upset and about an hour from the beginning of a concert we had booked. They were marvellous, gave us confidence and did everything they could to make us comfortable. They upgraded our room to a suite, and accommodated our teenage son just down the corridor. My wife has coeliac disease and they were so so kind. Preparing special meals for her. The rooms were clean, the staff helpful and this hotel saved our week end. I cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    971
    498
    219
    127
See reviews for
213
1,240
172
849
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

This is a lovely old style hotel in a very central location - walkable to the Bull Ring and Mail box and Broad Street for bars etc. Staff are very helpful and the rooms are lovely with comfy beds. Breakfast was waiter service and exemplary. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillieLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

hotel is very is old style building, but rooms are very clean and well furnished at par to the modern style. The only problem I had that room somehow smelled strange. I didnt complained on that day but left a feedback. I have now recently received a written apology from manager and offered me a free upgrade next time i stay in one of the hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stay at the Burlington Hotel several times a year, either on my own or with my mum, and the quality of everything about the hotel is consistently excellent. I have never had a bad room, they are al really well decorated and feel comfortable and luxurious. There seems to be a low level of staff turnover, meaning that you get a friendly welcome from everyone that works there throughout your stay.

It's location is brilliant as it is very close to the station and right in the middle of the city for shops, restaurants and culture.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissedOutJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed in this excellent hotel in May for 4 nights in total, had some issues with the room on the first night, but once I explained this to the Receptionist Celia, she did her utmost to solve the problem for me . The staff were helpful and friendly and very professional. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of the pedestrian street with many shops and eateries on the doorstep. All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engineerbob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Daughter and I stay several times a year to visit family, friends. art gallery and football!
Staff always friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to help guests.
My daughter and I have also stayed as solo guests and always have good rooms, often doubles.
Rooms are always very clean, comfortable, well thought out and well stocked.
Location is perfect as we travel by rail and it is a couple of minutes walk from New St station.
The staff at breakfast tend to be the same faces time and again, which is a good sign.
I would and do often recommend The Burlington.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Superb location we got a deal through last minute dot com£50 unbelievable!

A bit noisy but to be expected in a city centre

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjonesgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing