We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there this weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Ranked #101 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stayed there this weekend”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Having read some previous reviews I really thought we were going to be staying in a regimental run establishment - 'do not do this do not do that!!!'. We arrived on friday afternoon and was met by a friendly young lady on reception who was able to answer all our questions on how to get about (as I was parking the car up and didn't intend to use until we left today) within minutes she supplied us with approx 6 different time tables for buses that stopped outside the hotel - She also advised us the the German Xmas Market was taking place (something that we weren't aware of) so this made a pleasant surprise to the start of the weekend. We were given a quiet room overlooking the court yard which was very clean and well presented (there is some updating going on at present but this doesn't have any effect on you as a guest). We ate in the hotel in the evening and found there was a good selection on the menu - no complaints there - breakfast itself was also sufficient - plenty to be going on with. Raj (the manager) was on hand for any questions that you may have had (ie.was the curry homemade and was it good? ha ha). The only down side I came across in the hotel was that there was no water pressure for the shower.Having not been to Birmingham before we really enjoyed the shopping experience. The German Xmas Market, The Bull Ring, The Metro - If you need to take a rest break while there pop into the Yard Bird for a welcoming drink and a well earned rest. (to get about the hotel will also arrange your taxis) We would definately return to the Edgbaston Palace Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    105
    92
    80
    108
See reviews for
83
121
35
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

to be ruined by the fact that we could not get in to the hotel when we got back had to wait for someone to let us in then was interrogated what room we was staying in and where was it bar was shut early paid £24 for 4 drinks in the afternoon was told no drinks in the rooms or no food room was clean shower never worked was more like a trickle of water wires hanging out of walls and ceiling would not stay there again

Room Tip: dont pick any rooms find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillyloo186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Organised my wedding reception to be here the room was lovely, but was told that the bar would be open after party which was a lie. Which meant we missed out on having a quite drink with friends that had come from New Zealand. My great uncle who recently had surgery was denied a hot beverage had to leave early. The nite before there was problems with setting up the room. Staff are unfriendly, not helpful and rude. Some of the rooms that family and friends stayed in were damaged.i feel that they tell you exactly what you want to hear so you will book your event. DON'T TRUST THEM THEY JUST WANT YOUR MONEY. I would avoid them wished I would of booked the quality hotel instead then my wife wouldn't of been upset on her special day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjamesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Somerset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is an unfriendly place. The staff seem unhappy and the service suffers as a result. The breakfasts leave much to be desired.
I was offered a room which had obviously recently been occupied by a chain-smoker. The room I had instead overlooked a courtyard where some drunks turned up at five in the morning and caused a disturbance.
They charge you for WiFi.
I wouldn't go back there if I was paid to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auberon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for just one night and that was one night too much!!.The staff are completely unhelpful and arrogant,the rooms are grubby and claustrophobic.There are wires hanging out ofthe ceilings everywhere, unfinished bodge jobs inthe room, no toiletries provided, couldn't open window, blinds didn't work because incorrectly installed. Was woken up at 4. am by at least 10 young blokes swearing, smashing glasses, inthe courtyard right outsidethe rooms.Theythen set offthe fire alarm for a joke and just carried on drinking outside.The Hotel "Staff" just askedthem to keep noise down and went back inside withthe alarm still sounding for almost an hour. Inthe morning I went to reception to check out and complain butthere was a queue of peoplebefore me ALL complaining about the Hotel, it's staff, problems with rooms,the bad manners and lack of interest in putting anything right. When I got tothe reception desk I was told that it wasn'ttheir fault thatthey couldn't stopthe alarms being set off and it wasn't really a problem!!!!!The staff have a complete lack of control withinthe building so you will not be guaranteed any sleep or any safety and forgetabout trying to complainabout anything becasuethey refuse to listen or do anythingabout it.The queue behindme heard what I was saying andALL agreed and echoedthe complaints. This place is being run and staffed by idiots who haven't got any clueabout running a hotel and are only interested in taking your cash (And that especially goes forthe bar !) You would be better off sleeping rough to be honest, it would be a lot warmer and you would get far better nights sleep!!!!!There are plenty more hotels on this road so do yourself a huge favour! AVOID this nightmare!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother withthe hotel atall, that'sthe best and only advice anyone could give!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed her for one night to go to the NIA. The outside of the hotel gives a nice impression but the woman on the front desk took that away. With barely a smile she checked us in and seemed more concerned about the fact that I had a drink in my hand than customer service. I cant remember where we booked this which is annoying because we booked here because it came with breakfast, anyway on checking in we were told it wasn't included. You're not allowed food or drink in your room according to a looong list of rules found in the bedroom, our room was tiny, barely room to swing a cat although there was only two of us and we were only there for one night. The bathroom was also small, the bin lid was broken and in the ridges of the soap holder on the wall was grubby and dirty. The rest was quite clean and as we were at the back of the house it was quiet so we werent bothered by any noise. There were some Its a bit of a rabbit tunnel in there, we had to go up stairs just to go round a corner and go back down some stairs to get to our room so it's probably worth mentioning to them when checking in if you have any mobility problems. We literally slept here so it did it's job in keeping us warm and dry but I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here on 17/10/12 until 19/10/12. We received a warm welcome and this continued all our stay. The hotel is an old hotel built the the 1800's and still had lots of it's old features. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the evening meals where lovely and plentiful. The staff could not do enough to make you comfortable and was very friendly. It was like a family atmosphere. Even the long term guests were very friendly. We will definately return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercedes270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
73 reviews
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
487 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgbaston Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgbaston Palace Hotel

Property: Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Address: 198-200 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgbaston Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgbaston Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgbaston Palace Birmingham
Hotel Edgbaston Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing