We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Clean, helpful staff, copious location and great value for money. Room was cold as the radiator was turned off but it wasn't hard to sort that out. Good night's sleep at half of what you would pay for similar places.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    98
    88
    76
    104
See reviews for
78
112
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hnl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Woke up to find my self with red bites over my back, how clean is this hotel and its beds?
Staff are little less then helpful with everything
By far the Most UNPLEASANT place I have ever spent a night!!! NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808beachlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Whilst not five star it is really very good
Comfortable and excellent food in the restsurant. Thoroughly recommended and extremely good value.
It is close to all other Hagley Road hotels and far better value

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

On a spur of the moment decision my partner and I decided to go to Birmingham and were looking for a hotel to book there and then. We came across the Edgbaston and thought it looked ok and would do for what we needed as we weren't after luxury or any leisure facilities etc.

It is on a main road and when you arrive it is not in any way visually attractive, I don't know how or why they have put the word Palace within the name - extremely mis-leasing.

Old, worn, not overly clean and felt like you were in someone's house as a pose to a hotel.

Put simply we would NOT stay again, nor would I advise anyone else too - go else where.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed only one night, room small bed comfortable and had great night's sleep. Everything there that was needed and everything worked. The room had recently been repainted - could have been better finish but was fine. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment. For the money good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed one night Friday October 18th 2013 single room 442 at rear of Hotel - very quiet slept well in comfortable bed. The Room was well equipped although bath was somewhat short. Around the hotel the paintwork needed sprucing up. I booked direct with the hotel Bed and Breakfast cost me £42.50 , plenty of choice at Breakfast. Hotel is handy for City Centre and overall was good value.

Room Tip: Rooms in new annexe to rear overlooking car park are quiet - gate to car park is locked overnight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyl504009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was very small and had twin beds although booked a double bed. Didn't matter though.
Cheapest hotel on hagley road, cost £36 a night no breakfast but could of paid for it.
Staff on reception friendly no real complaints , although I did ask for a glass so I could have water in the night, this request was refused from the boss I believe .. Which I thought was mean .. Still as I say good for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you make it clear if you want a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLEEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#105 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#74 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgbaston Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgbaston Palace Hotel

Property: Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Address: 198-200 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgbaston Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgbaston Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgbaston Palace Birmingham
Hotel Edgbaston Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing