We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic JaZz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic JaZz”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. We had no idea what we were getting and when we pulled up we were even more unsure but what a welcome, the young man on reception greeted us helped with our bags then parked the car in their secure car park. This is a very posh part of Birmingham, which we had never experienced before, we would never have considered visiting area but would in the future. The room was amazing, first time I had ever seen a bath in the bedroom. The finish, wifi all you need and more. The cocktail bar was a unique experience, we're not into Jazz but it was good with a huge range if cocktails. My only minor disappointment was that for a hot breakfast you had to pay extra, saying that the continental offering was very good.
If you want a couple of nights if luxury but not posh, with a great atmosphere, then give it a try
Never given 5 before !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    98
    88
    76
    103
See reviews for
77
112
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a double room situated on the ground floor. The room was clean, tidy and the bed, albeit a bit small was comfortable. For the price, not bad. The window dosent open very far, which I guess is good for deterring anyone climbing in...However, the room got quite warm and stuffy due to the lack of air. The breakfast was quite good.
On the whole, not a bad for the price but does need sprucing up a bit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jok1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Place was dirty and could do with good clean. Our bedroom was large enough. Paid extra for this. Bed was good. Breakfast was also good. Having a clean hotel is important. Carpets worn. The main court yard was full of the party held previously. Dirty. Someone needs to put some TLC into this hotel. I will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianKampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As so many have said, the manager and staff are rude and unfriendly. On ething we have learnt - never, ever check into a hotel which demands full payment on arrival. There were far too many problems to list but one in particular is worth mentioning. On the night we arrived there was a raucous wedding taking place. When we complained about not being pre-warned there was a function, the manager offered us a refund!! I accepted his offer and then he said we should be able to find another hotel somewhere! Doh!
The breakfast staff have had surliness training - bringing another piece of toast is a huge effort and done begrudgingly. The car park is closed on Sundays because they only have one night porter!!! I ordered a newspaper which didn't arrive. The receptionist had no idea why and couldn't be bothered to find out. Very pleased to leave. Oh and the double room was a tiny single with a three quarter bed. Impossible for the person jammed against the window to get out without disturbing their partner.
And so it goes on. Don't think about staying here, it really is terrible.

Room Tip: Look at the Premier Inn website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namwennitramluap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here with my parents, sister and nephews as a treat for my nephews to go to cadbury world for the day.
Initial thoughts on arrival were looks ok for the price we paid until we checked in. We were asked if we wanted to pre-book for breakfast but were told there was no child option for breakfast and we'd have to pay £8 plus per child which is crazy when all they would have eaten was a bowl of cereal. In the end we said no to breakfast as there is a Premier Inn down the road with a beefeater attached. You pay approx £8 for an adult breakfast and then kids eat for free and it's a 5 minute walk or 2 second drive away.

I can't comment on dinner at the hotel as we went out to eat

The rooms were reasonable. Standard hotel rooms and clean however what we later found out during the night is the walls are paper thin. There was also a lot of noise from other guests that went on from approx 1.30am until 6am in the morning. My mum called down to reception at 4.30am to complain about the noise but nothing was done about it. It's more like an 18-30's hotel during the night. We were at the top of the stairs on the first floor so not only did we get the loud partying noise, screaming and singing from other guests we also heard every single footstep by the quietest guests coming up the stairs. Worst nights sleep ever had by all the family which then meant our Sunday was ruined as we were all very grumpy due to lack of sleep especially my nephews.
I have written in an email of complaint to the hotel but have received no reply and chased up twice and still no response or apology from hotel! Utterly disgusting customer services!

Don't get me wrong, I know staying in a hotel near a party town centre you are always going to expect some noise from other guests but this was very loud continuous noise throughout the night until 6am and the hotel seem to think this is perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms all in different parts of the hotel and all seemed to be equally as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room was spacious and clean. Hotel in general needs freshening up throughout. Noisy night with people up and down corridors. For me personally this hotel is extremly over priced. All hotels have a place in the market. We paid £120 room only for one Saturday night.......about £80 may have been a fairer price. When we arrived we decided not to book breakfast, draw your own conclusions???
On checking out we were not asked if everything was ok...........?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBURTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

It was fine - seemed clean and beds quite comfortable. We were there on a Saturday night so despite being at the front on the main road it was quiet. Rear garden not as attractive as the photo and very scruffy rear car park. Breakfast OK though expensive for what it was and when we asked for more tea, having been given a very small pot between two, they just added hot water giving us a very weak second cup.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#105 of 118 in Birmingham
469 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#74 of 118 in Birmingham
71 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgbaston Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgbaston Palace Hotel

Property: Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Address: 198-200 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgbaston Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgbaston Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgbaston Palace Birmingham
Hotel Edgbaston Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing