We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #113 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here once and would be reluctant to go back, the best thing was the price but if it was expensive i'd of really complained. As you go in the corridors stink of smoke. My wheelchair accessible room (only one) never even had a curtain or blind and so people from st could see in room so they nailed up a blanket for me, I made a mistake of leaving the shower on a little and as water went into the bedroom carpet it made it stink really bad and had to put up with that for the duration of my stay. People including staff were constantly parking in the disabled spaces with no blue badge. Definitely wouldn't stay here again unless i was too tired to drive, it was freezing and there was nothing else available and

Room Tip: different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenTravelonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    40
    53
    411
See reviews for
76
112
51
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This really is a very poor hotel.

Filthy hallways, potty mouthed residents swearing at reception and windows that would not lock.

When I checked in, the staff were unaware that I had paid a £5 deposit online and tried to make me pay the full rate. Whilst I was discussing this, a woman holding a baby was swearing and blinding that someone had been smoking in her room.

The layout of the hotel was very confusing and the hallway of the first floor was disgusting - filthy and poorly decorated.

My room was situated near either a wedding or a reggae club. Either way, the phat bass lines were not conducive to sleep. Neither was the fact I could not lock the windows. I spent an uncomfortable evening worrying that Chaka Demus and Pliers or some other ne'er do well would climb in and murder me. Or worse.

When I did manage to drift off, I was awoken at 1.30 by what sounded like a lady being attacked someway down the hall. She was quite a disance away but it soon became clear she was not being attacked but actually involved in love making. It went on for ages and she was far too noisy.

there were the usual load of drunks banging on doors at all hours of the night.

It was a thoroughly depressing experience, a new low for me and one that made me question what I want from life.




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Delramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I know there are an awful lot of negative reviews here for this hotel. But we stayed here recently with four friends and found our room to be of an acceptable standard for what we paid, £33 for us both for the night.

We had a single bed and wardrobe with tea and coffee facilities in one room, then another room with a double bed a flat screen TV in the other, then a shower and toilet off this. Bedding was clean and perfectly acceptable, so were the towels. It was warm in the room with the two radiators on all night but no complaints from us at all.

We were on the 4th floor which I have since learned are the refurbished rooms, reception staff were all polite too on check in and check out.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 480, 490 and 380
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards.

All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

the hotel and it's manager are an absolute joke, the hotel smells of stale cigarettes and dirty food, the hall ways of the hotel clearly haven't seen a hoover in all their life, and the rooms smelt sickening, the manager and it's staff have the worse attitude in the world but apparently they don't care about what people think of their hotel because "it's always full" this hotel is seriously worse than a prision and you should be paid to stay in the filth, rats live in better conditions than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcjlcjlcjlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a one night stay due to an interview the next day at the university. This hotel is horrific!! Upon arrival we were greeted by a group of drunks binging by the entrance hall talking of how they were going to get smashed, trash their room and shread their bed sheets - this explains how the rooms look the way they do! We took the lift to the first floor in which the floor was peeling up and had a stench of vodka (which was spilt over the floor). The corridor hummed of weed and stale cigarettes. Doors were boarded up and there was music pumping from many of the rooms. We finally walked around to our corridor and yay it had been freshly painted! The paint fumes and smell of blow was overwhelming. The rickety door led to a dilapidated room. The carpet was soiled, there was blood stains on the bottom of the bed, furniture was missing doors, electric wires were exposed from light futyings hanging off wall, the shower had little insects in it, the sink was dirty, the glass provided had toothpaste throwbacks leftover on it, and the bathroom had a leak over the floor. Needless to say we left within an hour. This hotel is likely a halfway house for those who have left prison (a cell is probably more welcoming!). I can only imagine alot of bad things have happened in this hotel judging by its state. Do not be tempted by the cheap price! For an extra fiver you can book the travelodge which was lovely (where we ended up!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent service very helpful clear n tidy room clear beds wonderful place to stay I would come again ? Clear showers and bath room ? Room at heaters ?parking space available ?......................................

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Finding our room was like walking through a scene in a post-apocalyptic zombie film- Wall paper hanging off, carpets in tatters, dim lighting and the sound of howling wind. Went the wrong way a few times- bumped in to a terrified worker scuttling around in one of the rooms.. Who knows how long he had been here. Luckily he sent us the right direction. Our room looked like it had been involved in one of the many zombie attacks. The door was covered in big scratches, obviously bared witness to a horrific struggle of some sort. Inside, Some streaky yellow stains on the floor, and a big red stain on a chair next to a telephone. Someone couldn't contact help in time.
The furniture was all falling apart- may have been used as a barricade at some point,
Jokes aside.. this place is bad. I mean seriously terrible. I cried myself to sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
487 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
445 reviews
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
#104 of 117 in Birmingham
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
73 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Property: Norfolk Hotel
Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing