We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out within hours. Didnt even stay the night”
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Aweful hotel! I didnt expect anything spectacular due to it being cheap but this was something else. Dont be fooled by the nice reception/lobby because its all a front! The room its self its extremely basic, which wouldnt be a problem if it was clean however, it looked as though it hadnt been hoovered in months. There was blood stains on the carpet, dirt on the walls, infact there was so much dirt in the door peephole that you couldnt see out of it. No aircon/fan so with it being high 20's outside it was too hot to breathe. The taps and toilet flush were broke, and it make a loud noise every so often which shook the shower. The worst part was that it had a very distinct smell that I just couldnt stand so within 2hrs we had checked out and only got half our money back. Definately avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kallum b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

second time i have stayed here. First time was during refurb. Just about finished now and looking OK. Lobby minimal but clean and welcoming. Staff friendly. Room was clean and newly refurbished. Clean bedding and towels. Bar now open (this was closed last visit) For a cheap hotel it you get slightly better standard now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we booked the hotel the same day that we stayed, it was a last minute thing as we were travelling from milton keynes to birmingham to take our little one to the live in the night garden show. upon arrival we parked the car and there were some lower class individuals sitting on the wall with their children drinking cans of beer, i suggested to my partner maybe the parent and son had been put in the hotel as temporary accommodation by the council and their friends met them outside. so we carried on to the hotel, the lobby area was fresh and spacious, we spoke to the gent on reception who said they didnt have any cots available (luckily we took our own travel cot) so he upgraded our room and gave us adjoining rooms, we paid the fee for the room and he also asked for a £20 deposit, the adjoining rooms had a single bed in one and a double in the other with a flat screen tv, the rooms were substantial, roasting hot though and the window didnt stay up, decor was neutral and cost effective. we just used the hotel to sleep and shower and it was perfect for this, on check out we gave our key back and asked whether the receptionist needed to check the room so we got our deposit back, the receptionist was a little confused that we had to give a deposit and just gave it back without saying too much... strange.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairyprincess_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very good for the price we paid. Lobby was clean, the lift to our room looked new and the room we had been allocated was clean and also looked new. Me and my wife could not fault the hotel in any way. And we are glad we ignored the negative reviews and gave this hotel a chance.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I didn't think that it could be possible for a hotel like this to actually exist. Do NOT be deceived by the reception, that is simply a front. All the other negative reviews of this hotel are true, read them and believe them. Once checked in and allocated our 2 rooms, we hopped in the lift, yet quickly considered hopping out, it was disgusting and made your skin crawl. Along the corridor we ventured to our first room which looked to be a part of the 'newly refurbished' part of the hotel. A term I use very lightly. There were hand prints all over the wooden headboard, not a great initial impression. The window was spring loaded meaning it wouldn't shut properly so you got plenty of road noise to keep you going. The curtains came down to cover just half of the window. Really? Yes, really. It smelt stale and incredibly lived in. The bathroom was pretty large, but rather scruffy and the shower shouldn't even get a mention. The carpets don't look to have ever been acquainted with Henry the hoover and I now get a shiver down my spine thinking I walked my bare feet on there.

On to the second room. Wow. A massive wow. It stank of ciggies. After being told we would be charged if found to be smoking in the room, I gathered they had either made a fortune out of these charges, or they were telling porkies. The outside window sill was littered with cigarette ends and allowed for a good wretch. The furniture looked like it had been pulled from a shipwreck and the walls were full of holes and loose electrical fittings. There was no control for the tv though I don't think we would be spending too much time in there. Walking around the hotel was pretty horrible. It was dirty and smelt vile. There were several 'cleaning' trollies dotted around, but I'm thinking they were just for effect and not actually put to good use.

The location was ok, but there are plenty of other nice places to stay nearby. Had we not consumed as much alcohol as we had, I think we could probably guarantee a sleepless night, based on the noise, fear and the hope that you make it out of there without having caught something.

The price was cheap, but I wouldn't stay there again even if I was paid to do so. They need to employ some professional cleaners, electricians, decorators and builders to sort the place out, or simply realise that the hotel game just isn't for them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Duckdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far and away the worst hotel i have ever had the misfortune to step in. I have travelled extensively across the world and stayed in hotels for less than £4 a night, they were all significantly better than this horrendous establishment.

One room was at the very possible lowest passable standard, but the other room was akin to the set of a horror movie.

The corridors were filthy and carried an unpleasant odour. and the entire place seemed incredibly run down.

We looked at the room and immediately left. A refund was given without complaint.

Not worth the money ! Stay elsewhere!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank 788KSNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having read the mixed reviews on here I thought I'd add my thoughts. The hotel was excellent for what I paid. I had a room on the 4th floor and it looked modern and refurbished. The bathroom was fairly small but at least it was new and clean. The lift made it easy to get to our room and check in was easy. The bar and restaurant I am told was next door, but I didn't use it so can't comment on that. I didn't see any "so called council clients" at the hotel. And to me it just seems like a nice modernised hotel. I have already booked my next stay in September.

Room Tip: 4th floor was clean and looked new
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jollyjohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
488 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
#64 of 118 in Birmingham
316 reviews
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
553 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £31 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing