We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night while in Birmingham we wanted to visit the Bull Ring which this hotel is very well situated only 5mins walk.The room was very clean and tidy well maintained the downside was our room was facing a car park and we were woken at 2.30 in the morning by loud music, then woken again at 3.30 in the morning by people that had decided to park up and have a chat which was so loud that it echoed. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Irrelevant of how much you have paid for this budget hotel, Travelodge lets down their guests by promoting the new-look rooms and comfortable beds, while not ensuring better housekeeping. The room was dirty (huge stain on mattress, one dirty handtowel for a family of four, missing bedlinen, stains all over the bedroom door....). I felt sorry for the exhausted but very helpful staff dealing with all the problems. Travelodge could put its prices up and get the cleaning staff to spend longer on the rooms and have a checklist of what needs to be done!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel was was very well priced for a city centre hotel and how close it was to amenities. The room was a little hot, however, the temperature that day was over 30 degrees so slightly understandable.
It would have been nice if there was some way of cooling the room down either with a fan or even if there was a cold setting on the heater thing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

For the money paid (£37) I can't really complain, expect the usual here, check in and check out was very fast, tried to use the check in machine although it failed to print the room card, but staff were friendly and efficient right on to it and I was checked in within one minute, did not eat here so cannot comment on the food/breakfast, my only real problem with this hotel was the heat, I stayed on a very hot day and I do not think the rooms have individual air conditioning, the building is just air conditioned as a whole so it was a little to hot in there, plus the duvet on the bed was very very thick, you could not possibly sleep under it in summer. Expect to be woken up at 7am by noise from people unloading deliveries for the wholesale market if you are on the Dean St. side of the building, This is not the fault of the hotel but if you don't want that I suggest asking for a room on a higher floor on the Pershore road side of the building.

Room Tip: Pershore road side, high up floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank person888777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Check in staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was very basic, no wardrobes just hangers on a rail, lacked bedside cabinets but for the price I couldn't complain. The bathroom was fine, and the room was perfectly clean.
The location is great, right next to the Bullring centre, so it's ideal for shopping and for trains from New Street Station.
I also liked having the bar/cafe area downstairs, which was ideal when waiting for friends, instead of loitering in the reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed as a group of 5 for one night in two bedrooms. We arrived at the travelodge at 2pm and was informed check in was at 3pm but we could pay an extra £10 to check in early - we just wanted to leave our bags while we explored so we paid the extra on one room and made our way up to the sixth floor.

On first impressions it was fine, cheap and cheerful. We had booked early in advance and we were only in the area to see a gig so wasnt anticipating being in the room much anyway. It was all very basic and slowly started to realise how little features were available the longer we were in the rooms!

There is no lock on the bathrooms which I found this very odd and occasionally the door would just slightly open! Also the window needed to be open as it was so hot (25 degrees outside) and the rooms do not have any air con or fan or anything to cool the room down! we left the window open whilst we were out which slightly cooled it but it was definitely still humid - we left the window open through the night but there is a karoke bar across the road and you can hear the singers still singing, roadworks happening and the builders yard across the road seemed to be a 24 hour operation - it may be fine with the windows closed but as the room was so hot anyway there was no way of keeping cool!

All in all, it was close to the bullring and a 10min walk to the New Street station so a good base but just dont go when its warm, if you expect anything more than the bare minimum or you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
561 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring

Address: Upper Dean Street, Birmingham B5 4SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £44 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing