We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean and comfortable budget priced city centre hotel.....Staff were friendly and smartly presented. Nighttime noise through open window was as expected at the weekend in a busy city. Bed was very comfortable and enjoyed good sleep. Room was on second floor with three fast lifts to provide access. Budget priced breakfast was good value

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

This Travelodge has recently been refurbished and the rooms are bright and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate with an excellent shower. Noise from outside minimal.
Bar/cafe looked clean and there was a good range of drinks on offer.
Reception staff were very helpful regarding facilities and services and also waht was of interest in the locality.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor to further remove the possibility of outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Before getting into the unpleasant stuff, I must first say that found the staff at both the Birmingham Bull Ring and the Birmingham Airport hotels pleasant, prefoessional and sympathetic to the situation that they and I were in. The Travelodge hotels were also very clean, well presented and for the price I paid offered good value.

I booked three rooms at the Birmingham Airport Travelodge six months prior to my check in date, taking advantage of a special 'saver' rate often promoted by Travelodge. I specifically chose this Travelodge due to its proximity and links to the NEC at which I and four friends were visiting for an exhibition. On the day of check in we drove three hours from my home to the Travelodge and upon arrival at around 21:30 I was informed that my rooms were not available, without a clear explanation as to why they were not available. Several other guests checking in at the same time were advised the same. The Reception staff offered either a reallocation transfer and rooms at another Travelodge, the BullRing in Birmingham city centre, some 30 minutes drive away. After much discussion and being a weary traveller I submitted to the offer under duress and my party of four were transfered to the BullRing in Birmingham city centre. Early the next day we had to get up early to avoid city traffic and transfer back to the original booked Travelodge at Birmingham Airport, to leave our baggage and get checked in there for the second night of our two night booking. This was all unecessary stress, delays and spoilt the fun weekend that we had planned. I hope someone from Travelodge will contact me personally to make further explanation, the whole situation was totally unacceptable.

Read the small print in the Travelodge 'terms and conditions', they have a clause 9 Relocations ................ 'Travelodge operates a relocation policy (for more details on relocation policy click here). If a room is unavailable on arrival (except due to an event beyond our reasonable control, (see section 11.2)) then, we will either:
provide a room in another Travelodge hotel and pay the reasonable cost of transport to that alternative hotel or any applicable car park;
OR
at your request, or, if in our reasonable opinion there is no suitable alternative hotel accommodation available, cancel your Booking and refund you any money you have paid in advance for the unavailable room(s) including related extras.'

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Adrian M, we’re really sorry to learn about the poor experience you had. It is regrettable you were relocated on this occasion; unfortunately we had an unexpected take up of arrivals at the hotel. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by to the hotel as possible and we will cover the cost of any additional travel expenses. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, didn't arrive until midnight after a concert so not a long stay. Checked in no problem, very friendly guy on Reception, had a quick drink in the bar then retired for the evening. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable. Location was good 2 mins walk from the Bullring, parked at a car park round the corner, only a couple of minutes walk away. Booked via the sale so only paid £30 for the room which I thought was an absolute bargain given the location in central Birmingham. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, although it looked quite popular in the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great central location, room was clean and tidy, bathroom a little small but as we were only there for 1 night this didn't really cause any problems. We stayed on the 7th floor and could still hear noise from outside, was late on a Saturday night, so I guess this is to be expected.

Breakfast was plentiful, although cooked items could have been warmer and they did keep running out of mugs and glasses.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night in November.
Room was clean, excellent deep mattress, good pillows, duvet - I can tell the difference with the refurbishments/upgrade to the beds
There were a few hen nights, not that there were any problems with noise from them
This is ideally placed for Bullring shopping.
We had breakfast at Debenhams which is only five minutes away, competitively priced.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Only reason it doesn't get five stars is that the price is more than I feel is appropriate, but it was our choice to book.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great value for money, although you are not going to get a 4 star hotel if you just want a clean and comfy room in a good location in the center of town this is it. The only two issues I had was that the toilet seat came off when you sat on it and the shower tray filled with water and would not empty. Otherwise the basic but clean room did exactly what expected. Would come back without a doubt.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank RobNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring

Address: Upper Dean Street, Birmingham B5 4SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing