We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were visting our son at Uni and found this accomodation to be extremely convenient. We were able to shop until late, find all types of cuisine and visit the lovely new library with its great view of the city from the top. Excellent staff - we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for one night (Saturday 15.02.14). Booked due to location and price (£51 including card fee for a double room).
Excellent location - short walk from coach and train station and very close to the bull ring.
Room appeared clean on arrival, however there was an awful smell coming from the drains in the bathroom. To my horror there was also a tub of garlic sauce on the floor at the bottom of the bed.
Although the location was great for getting about, the noise coming from passer bys (traffic and drunks) during the night woke me up several times.
Would recomend if you want a cheap, basic break, close to the shops and plan on being out most of the night. Would not recomend if you want a decent nights sleep after a hard days shopping and like a clean room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review Kelly P. We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by external noise during your stay and that the serviced you received fell below our expectations. We try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing however due to the central location it is not always possible to completely prevent noise. It appears there was a lapse in service as we always expect our rooms to be clean and fresh. We'll be sure to make our hotel management team aware of the concerns you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at this Travelodge for one night in January 2014.

Pros: Directly opposite the Bullring Shopping centre so handy for shopping at the Bull Ring shopping mall. Hotel seems newish, so rooms were clean and everything worked well. Staff were very helpful. Also handy location for Birmingham market and China Town!

Cons: Nothing memorable.

Overall would stay again when in Birmingham!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed for one night, wanting somewhere within walking distance of railway, venue for following day and within easy reach of somewhere to eat in the evening. Following the GPS I just thought it was sending us the wrong way, as it looked like a car park but it's slightly further on, past it.

The rooms were as expected, clean, tidy and had everything needed. I did turn the radiator down as it was warm and noted there was no air conditioning, (not a problem). I had asked for a room with a bath and shower, colleague just had a shower. Bath was too short, I am only 5'7 so in the end I just used the shower. I too suffered the smell from the drains, put the toilet seat down which helped but it was really bad during the night, even with the bathroom door closed. Colleague said their bathroom floor vibrated all night, sounded like helicopter blades, all night, even with the door shut. The floors are suspended so might account for drain smell and vibration. We were both on the eighth floor.

Reception staff were incredibly helpful, we needed an iron and board and asked for directions to the restaurant nearby we planned to go to, got both on check in. Same the following morning on check out, being given a map and directions to the venue.

I was woken around 6am by building work nearby, did not get back to sleep. No idea what they were doing at that time, very close to hotel but sounded like metal pipes being thrown off the roof. Anyway no fault of the hotel, just nearby development and mad builders starting that early with hotels in close proximity. Colleague was at back of hotel so did not hear the noise outside.

There was a fire alarm before 8am, staff dealt with it quickly, seemed someone might have been smoking on the eighth floor. Evacuation was cancelled and all sorted out so no delays.

We had prepaid for the buffet breakfast but I would not bother next time. I am a bit fussy but there was only scrambled egg available. I had bacon, sausage, beans and toast (toasted on one side as the toaster was not effectual), only ate the bacon and beans as the sausages was horrid, poor quality and cheap. For the price, standard and availability I would skip and go to McDonalds. It was only so we could book B&B and then head straight off without getting breakfast en route.

Would probably stay again if was in the area as it is really close to New Street Station, easy to get to, staff are friendly and helpful and close to amenities but would just book the room and get breakfast elsewhere. Other people we met had stayed close by and paid nearly double what we did for room only so overall we got a deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS352013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review KSW352013. It is regrettable that you noticed an unpleasant smell in your room as we expect our rooms to be fresh and we would like to offer our apologies for this. We are also sorry to learn of your disappointment with the breakfast; they should always be prepared to high standards. We’ll be sure to make our Hotel Manager aware of your feedback so they can ensure improvements are made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for a night for business and Birmingham was very busy that night. Not having stayed in Travelodge for a year, I knew what to expect. Everything was as expected if basic, except for the smell eminating from the drains in the bathroom. Had this issue been addressed the stay would have been very adeqaute for the purpose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have recently stayed in 2 different Travelodges and I love the new look to them. They look fresh, clean and modern. I would surely stay at this Travelodge again, the staff were very helpful, on arrival to the hotel a member of staff helped me to check in via the new self service kiosk which was easy to do and will make checking in the future quicker.
The stay was fairly trouble free, we did have a bit of noise in the night as our room was situated next to the lifts and we could hear people coming and going.
We had dinner in the dinning room, which was very pleasant, my veggie burger was lovely but my mum had fish and chips and the fish was a touch over cooked and not great quality. We also had nachos to start, they were lovely, really big and good value for money.
Over all we had a lovely stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the standards of this group.
Not too sure if this place is fairly new or been refurbished. The whole place is clean & tidy. The bedroom was more than adequate for a one night stay albeit quite basic. A little disappointing in that the spotless bathroom had only 1 tiny soap tablet & no hair dryer.
I must mention the staff as there have been a couple of bad reviews, we experienced nothing but polite, courteous, friendly & helpful people who gave us plenty of good advice & took the time to give great directions to where we wanted to go & to where they thought we should take the time to see.
The only real negative we have is that there is no facility to leave baggage for a few hours unless you are willing to pay for a late check out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at our Birmingham Central Bull Ring hotel JimboWorcestershire. We can confirm that as a brand standard we do not provide toiletries and hair dryers in our rooms, we do however provide a vending machine at reception which will contain toiletries should our guests need to purchase anything extra. We also will have hair dryers at reception which our guests can borrow at a first come first serve basis. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
308 reviews
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#52 of 118 in Birmingham
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring

Address: Upper Dean Street, Birmingham B5 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing