We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Comfortable Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is very convenient for the city and train station and parking is very cheap in the nearby multi storey car park. Its not the prettiest of areas, but if you are looking for a clean and reasonably quiet hotel then this is the one. I would recommend that you ask for an upper floor to cut down on the noise from the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    439
    157
    75
    53
See reviews for
215
425
116
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in Birmingham for one night for a WBA match in February. Lovely clean functional room in the centre of Birmingham for a great price. Near the shops, train stations and China town so perfect for a short stay.

Breakfast was everything you need and plenty of it for 3 men and 3 boys off to a match for the day.

Special mention for the staff who could not have been more helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

For the price we paid cannot fault really! Stayed Friday to Sunday group of 4 girls, wanted central location and was perfect for everything! The bullring is right across the road and the main bars and clubs just a taxi ride away. Train stations and coach station a few minutes walk. Clean hotel, clean rooms although a bit basic. No hair dryer which was slightly annoying. TV didn't work properly, we only wanted a music channel. But other than that it was fine for everything we needed. Staff were really helpful booking us taxis and advising us on good places to eat and drink! Maid was really pleasant too. Only other negative I can think of is the noise from the traffic outside and the other rowdy hotel guests! But it is bang in the city centre so this is what you have to expect! Good value for money all round though :) had a brilliant weekend.

Room Tip: The higher the better away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HealsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and unfortunately was left dismayed. The room was fine and clean, although the shower would not seem to turn off properly and the TV didn't work properly either with the controls.

The noise from the street and other parts of the hotel was unacceptable and I was kept awake until around 4AM and had to be up by 6! I also asked the hotel to store my luggage whilst I was away on business and they point blank refused (I have never come across hotels who do not do this.) Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment PAA5. We would expect all of our facilities to be fully functional so it is regrettable to learn you found your shower and TV did not work correctly. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel some external noise may be heard, however we do provide double glazing and insulated walls in an attempt to reduce the noise outside in order to make our customers stay more comfortable. We can confirm that our hotels do not provide luggage storage however we do have an early check in option where our guests can check in from 12pm, this does come at a £10.00 charge and is subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Ive never stayed in travelodge before but because we planned a night out with my friends we decided for this place due to cheap price and perfect central location (also close to the venue we were attending). I paid £32 for friday night which is absolutely brilliant for central hotel. Cant fault anything in the hotel, everything seemed clean, fresh towels provided in the bedroom, quite spacious room. We havent got breakfast as we had to leave earlier in the morning so i cant judge the food. Service on reception was good. Next time i ll be in Birmingham i would definitely stay in this hotel again. Cant fault anything. Thank you for great stay!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beets_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend the night before attending the National Wedding Show at the NEC as it worked out cheaper than us both getting a train from Bristol on the Friday morning. We paid £35 bed and breakfast for the 2 of us which is a fantastic price. I didnt expect much for my money but was pleasantly surprised.

I am a Manager in a hotel myself so tend to be quite unneccessarily picky when staying in other hotels but could not actually find fault with anything.

We parked in the Pershore Street multistorey literally next door to the hotel and this cost us £3.80 for 24 hours....bargain!

Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and lovely shower. The bathroom was a bit of a squeeze and the room not on the large size however for what we paid the purpose of our visit it was perfect. There was no telephone in the room to call reception which i found a bit odd but it was not aproblem as generally i wouldnt call the reception desk anyway.

The breakfast really surprised me. Great quality food (lovely sausages), a good choice of continental options and the biggest suprise was a prop[er coffee machine at breakfast to help yourself to latte/cappucino.

A real gem of a budget hotel and i feel i may now be converted having previously considfered this chain to be a little budget for my liking.

I will use again however i think i would seek out the refurbished properties as this one is and guarantee myself a stay of the same standard!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Unfortunately no fresh fruit and cheese at breakfast! No table/couch to put on your suitcase. The double room is very small, even the kingsize bed! The twin rooms are bigger but no table to put on your suitcase and the wet room is quite an experience when taking a shower and the sink is very low! The beds are too comfortable! Staff are too kind! Ideal location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring
Address: Upper Dean Street, Birmingham B5 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Bull Ring Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing