We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does exactly what it says”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

An ideal budget stay if you want to be in the centre of Birmingham.
I cannot fault the security (enclosed FREE car park and high security gates) and value for money that this hotel offers especially for a single night if you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogget-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus and I look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    224
    180
    80
    96
See reviews for
49
244
84
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I booked my stay in South Africa, prior to our trip to the UK in May 2011. Got accommodation at a special rate. When I arrived, my booking was lost and the receptionist was extremely unfriendly. Basic room, very small bath, bed uncomfortable. Will not return, even if I got my stay for free!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn about the issues you have experienced at the hotel.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel isn't on Holloway Circus but on a side street past a primary school and some dodgy looking buildings. It's behind wire fences and a gate with a buzzer to get in.
Reception and bar are in one building and the rooms are actuaaly in a building behind this. They are a bit like really old fashioned butlins chalets and the doors open straight into the open (not a corridor). I really didn't feel particularly safe walking back after a night out. When I got back I had to ring a bell on the gate and a security guard checked my details and let me in. Despite the presence of the security guard I didn't feel very safe in the room either. Check in and check out very very very slow and I was in a rush. I had a pint at the bar and it tasted awful. I doubt I'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toferbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn that your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus was not as pleasant as expected.

I would like to confirm that the hotel is located in a safe area in the city centre of Birmingham and the building itself is very secure. Note that the hotel exterior is fenced to provide enhanced car park security to our guests.

I do apologize if you thought that the service by the hotel reception was slow - i am sure that this was a one off as other reviews in TripAdvisor do compliment the service provided by the front of house.

Once again I thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you at the hotel in the furure.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripponden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

It looks like somewhere either a)a sleazy man would take a lady of the night b)a crime scene. I didn't feel safe there! The rooms were dirty, stale and old and the bed was uncomfortable. Very basic.
The receptionist wasn't particularly friendly, and everything (including the hotel rates) are just SO overpriced! It seems they charge what they do due to it's location.
It's not in a bad location in regards to access to the city centre, but seeing as it's behind high fences/ locked gates, I'm guessing the area isn't so good either.
You could get better value for your money elsewhere, even if you are a little further away from the centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for reviewing the hotel via TripAdvisor.

I am dissapointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel, I have taken note of your various comments and remaks - Please rest assured that these will be addressed as applicable.

Once again I thank you for your feedback which is invaluable to improve our services and standards.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here last Saturday as I was looking for a hotel close to the 02 Academy. Well this hotel could not be closer, so was ideal. It's also great for the mailbox and brinly place. I don't think you can stay anywhere else in centre Birmingham and have free parking, that alone is worth £20+ The hotel is basic but what I expected, was really pleased with the room, location and service. Will recommend and stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaspoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read about your positive experience at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

The team and myself look forward to be part of your future travel plans should you choose to return to Birmingham.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
2,295 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Property: ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing