We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel. Poor Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Hotel. Poor Reception”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

the overall stay was fine, but the response received for informing reception that entry to the car park was very difficult due to snow was disappointing. The feedback was given to help them and other customers who may slide into the tight entry, but the response was borderline aggressive. Good hotel overall for accommodation. This was a return visit, but unfortunately, will be my last.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dazusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

It is very rare for us to receive such a negative feedback about our employees and I would really appreciate if you could let me know in detail the situation that you experienced so any necessary corrective measures can be taken.

I can be contacted by email on h2092-gm@accor.com

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    224
    180
    80
    96
See reviews for
49
244
84
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Actually this hotel is not that bad, but my first impression until I left was of pure insecurity and it reminded me of all American movies where people are under attack during various hotel stays. The receptionist was very kind and helpful and explained that the hotel is safe, but throughout the stay I could not relax. The hotel is about 10 minutes’ walk from the city centre and offers good prices, comfortable rooms, parking space. If you are looking for a convenient hotel room, close to city centre, clean and not expensive, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor and facing the parking area, not the main road. Upper floor has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

The team and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and look foward to welcome you soon at the ibis.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel rooms are clean but perhaps a little tired and the the shower needs attention all in all a good basic hotel and having on site parking is an advantage although they levy a small charge for this. The hotel is arranged in a motel style and to access reception you have to leave the room and go outside to a separate building which is fine except it was cold and raining on the day of my stay. Breakfast was fine and a contential or selection of hot items is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank IGLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience at the hotel and also the buffet breakfast in the morning.

The team and myself look forward to welcome you soon again at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

A great value hotel. Very handy for Hurst Street area. Cheap and secure parking. Round the clock bar and snacks. Staff were helpful enough. Like an old Butlins chalet set-up . Would certainly stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive review following your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

The team and I are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our central location.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a rough stag du with friends. Absolute value for money and walking distance from birmingham central. Parking available, reasonably clean rooms and great room rates. Add the morning buffet options and you have a cosier b&b option...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway in TripAdvisor.

The team and I really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcome you again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

It's a budget Ibis. Clean, dated rooms in old style chalet type hotel. The kettle was iffy but was changed and the shower was weedy. Slight problem with the flush of the loo (not bad enough to warrant a 15min fix) which we mentioned at check out so if you get room 124 make sure it's OK. 12 min walk from Bullring, New St station and the Gas St basin - so convenient for central Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKHatIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel following your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

I am pleased that you overall enjoyed the stay at the hotel - Following your comments I will ask our Maintenance Team to check the toilet flush in room 124 to ensure it is in working order.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

i was booked into this hotel by my company as i was on a training course. My initial impression was that I found the hotel rooms to be likened to barracks- rows of wooden chalet like apartments, It appeared dated and quite basic. The receptionist was polite and professional. The room was fine, i have stayed at worse, but could do with money spending on it for a refurb- definately this is a poor advert for the Ibis brand in opinion. The bed however was comfortable and i found it quite acceptable.
Kids were hanging around the outside of the rooms sitting on the floor of the outside corridor, smoking, which was offputting and some may find this intimidating if a regular occurance.
The rooms seem to state that they are soundproof, but unfortunately on the second night i heard a lot of loud moaning coming from a female in the next door apartment. This continued on and off for many hours, along with loud bed squeaking, until i realised there were the voices of several men coming from the room which was most certainly not sound proof! The front door kept slamming regularly as more men came and went, and several cars also came and went. I could also hear other disturbing sounds which im sure i dont need to spell out to you- by about 11pm it was clear to me that this room had likely been hired out for questionable activities. The moaning - which happened for several minutes every half hour or so- ended around 12pm and eventually all went quiet. Several of my colleagues in surrounding rooms all commented on what they thought they had heard that night, all assumed it must have been what you are probably thinking now reading this.
I thought the hotel was truely seedy as a result of my experience, and i sincerely hope this isnt a regular use of the rooms- what if a young family were staying there and having to listen to this?
I am so happy to be back in lovely cornwall, and have asked my business to never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurencrcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your hotel experience in TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you found our staff to be polite & professional and that you also enjoyed our brand new "Sweet Bed by ibis".

This is an older type of ibis hotel and therefore we do not enjoy the latest ibis room design, however these are cleaned to a high standard and are well maintained.

I am sorry that you were disturbed at night due to noise caused by other guests and your comments will be followed up accordingly.

Please let me assure you that this is not a seedy hotel, as you have suggested, but a very respectable hotel in the city centre of Birmingham and I am honestly very surprised to read about your experience at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Property: ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing