We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping weekend! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #95 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel was fine for a 2 star, clean and tidy with a helpful receptionist (reception open 24 hours). Shower not brilliant, lacked pressure and was either very hot or cold. Very basic tv channels unless you pay £9.99 for a package. Wifi was free though, and a 19 minute walk to the shops and New Street Station.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthEastDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Nye knew we would be back in early hours of New Years Day so not looking for luxury rooms just bed to put head down. Rooms are what you expect for the price, worn out stained 'carpet', shower was dirty with last guests hairs still in there and smelt funny, very dated motel style rooms and breakfast wayyy overpriced would be nice if it was included but receptionist said it was extra charge. On a plus bed was comfy and clean, towels provided were clean, good location, quick check in, fairly good value for money. All in all would stay again for night out with girls but not if I was with family or partner one night is enough.
Tip: be careful of black cab drivers from station. On arrival one took us on a 20 minute drive and told us it was far from the station and charged us £10. On departure the hotel booked us a taxi it turned out to be a 5 min drive back to station and driver charged us £6 (new years day rates)! Watch out for conning taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review about your stay at the ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus hotel.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I apologise about the smell but even with a non smoking policy in all the rooms in our hotel it is almost impossible to avoid this to happen.


Sincerely
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed Here with partner , beds were comfy but other things like breakfast was a lacking variety . Also my partner left his phone charger in the room and we realised as we was heading home but we came back and the reception said nothing was found which is strange as i no excatly where i left it. Wasnt happy. But overall a ok time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to give a review about your stay in ibis Birmingham Holloway circus.

I am really happy you enjoyed our new sweet beds by ibis.
Please can you contact the hotel, we will be happy to send you the mobile charger you left behind, but as you were part of a group with several rooms it was found on a different room than the room you checked upon your request in reception.

Sincerely
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gavkar111a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ive stayed at this hotel twice now and have been happy with both stays. Very clean and has all the facilities id need. the only thing id like is the facility of all the tv channels that others like the bristol ibis does

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sarahcopestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review about your stay at the ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus hotel.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I apologise as due to the characteristics of the antenna emplacements we are not able to receive all of the TV channels that are available in other ibis in UK.

Sincerely
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel in mid-December 2013 for my graduation at the University of Birmingham. I stayed with my parents and boyfriends (2 rooms) and we had a very pleasant stay during that time.

PROS
- The Wifi is free in rooms after agreeing to their Ts and Cs.
- Extremely easy to check in and out, especially if you have paid beforehand (check-out took us less than a minute)
- The hotel is easy to find and access, especially by car. There are separate car and pedestrian gates.
- Parking for 24 hours is £3 which is reasonable, and if you have a room facing the car park as we did it is possible to park right in front of your room
- Extremely central location (15 minutes to the Bull Ring, one minute from the O2 Academy)
- Breakfast is plentiful, tasty and quiet
- Staff were helpful and friendly
- I did not find the room anywhere near as noisy or bright as other reviewers have stated. I find this to be extremely harsh, in fact. I am not bothered by light or noise nearly as much as many others I meet, however...
- For those concerned by the motel-style setting, the rooms have double doors to as to keep the heat in during the colder months, which was greatly appreciated!
- We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. While it is true that a refurbishment is needed, the staff are clearly doing a good job with what they have.

CONS
- Initially the staff could not find our booking on check-in, however that was solved very quickly once we showed them our papers. I therefore recommend bringing your booking documentation if you are not already in the habit of doing this.
- While the area is "dodgy", those who know Birmingham will see it as pretty normal for such an industrial-style city. I would, however, still remain on your guard.
- The breakfast may be plentiful and full of variety, however some MAY consider it expensive at around £7 per head. Compare this to a cooked breakfast at a standard restaurant, however, and you may not be so deterred by the price.
- The price for the room is so-so. Compared to other hotels in the area, however, it is very competitive.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after a no-fuss hotel in the central area of Birmingham. For those after a more luxurious stay I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifesEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review about your stay at the ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus hotel.

We very much appreciate your the time and effort you put in your comments. We are really thankful as this is always really helpful for any other visitors to appreciate the small details that bring a pleasant stay like you experienced

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a saturday night when out in birmingham. Plenty of car parking space and good value at £3 a day. 10 min walk to the bullring and the surrounding area really is not that bad! Friendly receptionist and interesting motel like rooms. Pleasantly suprised as we expected a sat night before xmas to be noisy but we were not disturbed at all. Bed very comfortable but room basic, no frills and not really worth the £100 we paid, would stay again if room a more reasonable rate

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trellybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to write a review about your stay, we very much appreciate your comments.

Comments from our guests are always welcomed as they help us to improve the quality of our services.

I apologise as you booked your room within one of the busiest days and we could not offer you any better deal, hotel rooms rates increase in busy periods like the one you stayed and on these dates it was almost impossible to find cheaper rates in any other hotels.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,102 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £35 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing