We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very Noisy Hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was built as like a beach villa, with direct access from outside into the hotel room.

Feel a bit insecure especially there was customers talking quite loudly outside the room and laughed... Well, I guess sound proof is the problem too!

Relatively alright in term of the interior of the room, except the bath curtain is a bit old and dirty!

Not very pleasant stay as can't have quality sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am dissapointed to hear that other guests did not let you have the good night sleep you expected. We do have a security guard and he should have been really happy to help you with this issue and had acted straight away to ask them to keep noise down should you have let us know

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    231
    188
    87
    99
See reviews for
53
250
94
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I reckon this place must have been a Motel that Ibis has taken over. It's certainly not their normal 'style' so maybe should be rebranded as an 'Ibis Styles' hotel, although the Ibis Styles in Birmingham is in my opinion far better than this. First impressions not good when you find it's surrounded by a high security fence. The rooms are in two blocks, a short distance away from the reception, on two levels with no sign of any lift. You'll get very wet if it rains as access to these blocks is not covered. The stairways are tatty and although the rooms themselves seem a bit bigger than the normal Ibis standard, sound insulation is poor and a noisy road outside meant I didn't get a good sleep. The bathroom was large, and did have a bath as well as a shower but the water pressure was low and the shower was one of the most pathetic I have experienced in an Accor hotel. The TV selection seemed limited to 8 channels. The breakfast area is quite small and more like a KFC than Ibis; for £7.95 the selection is barely adequate - Premier Inn does better and there's not much more on offer than the complimentary selection at Holiday Inn Express. Location wise, it's not great, about 20-25 minutes walk from New Street station, in the wrong direction for any shops or attractive eating facilities. Probably worth considering if you're coming by car and want somewhere that just charges you £3 a night for parking, but if you've come on the train don't bother with this unless all the comparably priced places in more central locations are full.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side of the hotel if you're likely to be disturbed by traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

As you say, this hotel is a motel style hotel and also this is pointed out on our website at the time of the booking.

In spite that the main purpose of the fence is to secure the carpark area I understand that it might not cause a bright first impression of the hotel itself.

I wish to take the chance to confirm that the TV channels will be improved on the first week of April with a wide range of freeview channels it was mainly due to a lack of signal coverage a new amplifiers will be in place.
I am dissapointed to hear that we did not fulfil all your expectations during your stay, please allow me to apologise.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from an over night stay, very clean and pleasant room, couple of things need a touch of TLC but nothing major room 143,over looking the secure car park,only thing i didnt like was there was 2 single mattress toppers on the bed,(was a double bed) so i found my self in the middle of the bed and could feel them seperating and me lying between them, but bed was very comfy and slept stright away,their is friendly staff on reception,i will stay again if i come to birmingham

Room Tip: room 143 over looking carpark in the 2nd building and 1st floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkysid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to add comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am sorry to hear that you had a small issue with the two toppers as sometimes this room is used as twin I can understand this was not the most suitable for a single person stay.

Thanks for your comments, we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stay in budget hotels a lot as we pay the bills ourselves rather than company expenses ,this was the first time we had used Ibis & were most impressed,our refurbed room (142) was clean well appointed & very quiet as it is at the back of the hotel, but what impressed us most were the staff,usually in budget hotels there would be one member of staff half a sleep behind the desk looking totally bored. Here firstly the manager (Jordi Pena) was visibly around & very helpful personally helping with our reservation, & sorting out taxis etc. The receptionist (monika) was a delight as was the Spanish girl who came on a later shift & spotted that my wife had a Spanish name. Great location 10 minutes from new street station & the bullring shops also 24 hours onsite parking £3.00. My only negative comment is for Ibis head office please when you repaint the outside get rid of the awful green colour it must put loads of people off booking! Thank you we will revisit when next in Birmingham.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbed room at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammer49shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your time to give comments on your stay.

I feel really proud to hear such a good comments about the ibis Birmingham Holloway team, it is a great pleassure and rest assured I will transmit your positive feed back to them.

We strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and such a supportive comments from our guests give us the strengt to keep going on the right direction.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Regular visitors. Problem with noise from one bedroom room at one in morning (very unusual). Phoned reception and noise dealt with within minutes. Service always excellent and staff very peasant and helpful. Comfortable bed and pillows. Only downside is the charge for parking on their own premises, which disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, thanks for your time to review your stay in our hotel.

Please accept my apologies as other guests did unbehave not respecting you to have the rest you deserved. I am happy to hear that this was dealt quickly by the security staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at Ibis couple days ago. It was very unusual hotel – motel style, but very clean and comfortable. Really good breakfast and dinner definitely worth recommendation. I was impressed with very professional and friendly young girl at reception (Monika). It was nice to be welcomed by Monika with a smile. Well done Monika! We will stay here again thanks to your hospitality

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911Sohil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your positive comments about your stay in ibis Birmingham Holloway circus.

I have already shared your comments with Monika who sends also regards. I am sure that this feedback will serve her as an encouragement, I have a great confidence in her leading the hard working team we have in the hotel and your comments are even more supportive.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Raul Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,088 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Property: ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing