We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank christaylor27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank shawpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was built as like a beach villa, with direct access from outside into the hotel room.

Feel a bit insecure especially there was customers talking quite loudly outside the room and laughed... Well, I guess sound proof is the problem too!

Relatively alright in term of the interior of the room, except the bath curtain is a bit old and dirty!

Not very pleasant stay as can't have quality sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mktiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am dissapointed to hear that other guests did not let you have the good night sleep you expected. We do have a security guard and he should have been really happy to help you with this issue and had acted straight away to ask them to keep noise down should you have let us know

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rosie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I reckon this place must have been a Motel that Ibis has taken over. It's certainly not their normal 'style' so maybe should be rebranded as an 'Ibis Styles' hotel, although the Ibis Styles in Birmingham is in my opinion far better than this. First impressions not good when you find it's surrounded by a high security fence. The rooms are in two blocks, a short distance away from the reception, on two levels with no sign of any lift. You'll get very wet if it rains as access to these blocks is not covered. The stairways are tatty and although the rooms themselves seem a bit bigger than the normal Ibis standard, sound insulation is poor and a noisy road outside meant I didn't get a good sleep. The bathroom was large, and did have a bath as well as a shower but the water pressure was low and the shower was one of the most pathetic I have experienced in an Accor hotel. The TV selection seemed limited to 8 channels. The breakfast area is quite small and more like a KFC than Ibis; for £7.95 the selection is barely adequate - Premier Inn does better and there's not much more on offer than the complimentary selection at Holiday Inn Express. Location wise, it's not great, about 20-25 minutes walk from New Street station, in the wrong direction for any shops or attractive eating facilities. Probably worth considering if you're coming by car and want somewhere that just charges you £3 a night for parking, but if you've come on the train don't bother with this unless all the comparably priced places in more central locations are full.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side of the hotel if you're likely to be disturbed by traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

As you say, this hotel is a motel style hotel and also this is pointed out on our website at the time of the booking.

In spite that the main purpose of the fence is to secure the carpark area I understand that it might not cause a bright first impression of the hotel itself.

I wish to take the chance to confirm that the TV channels will be improved on the first week of April with a wide range of freeview channels it was mainly due to a lack of signal coverage a new amplifiers will be in place.
I am dissapointed to hear that we did not fulfil all your expectations during your stay, please allow me to apologise.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from an over night stay, very clean and pleasant room, couple of things need a touch of TLC but nothing major room 143,over looking the secure car park,only thing i didnt like was there was 2 single mattress toppers on the bed,(was a double bed) so i found my self in the middle of the bed and could feel them seperating and me lying between them, but bed was very comfy and slept stright away,their is friendly staff on reception,i will stay again if i come to birmingham

Room Tip: room 143 over looking carpark in the 2nd building and 1st floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkysid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to add comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am sorry to hear that you had a small issue with the two toppers as sometimes this room is used as twin I can understand this was not the most suitable for a single person stay.

Thanks for your comments, we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Raul Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
531 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,138 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £31 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing