We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #107 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed on a Friday night and the only problem we had, was cold coffee.
If that is the worst problem, you can see what a nice, warm, comfortable and good value hotel. The refurbishment has made a great job, this hotel is a real gem.

Top tip, the King sized beds are Super kings and are firm, but very comfortable. The Kimg rooms are in the Premier area on the ground floor, making them easy to get to.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Clarion has clearly undergone a very recent renovation, but to be honest the quality is such that it could be a new build.

The hotel offers all mod-cons and the rooms are very modern and tastefully furnished. The bathrooms actually have a full-size bath as well as excellent showers, and little things like bathrobes in the rooms show attention to detail.

I originally booked into a shabby hotel across the road - through Late Rooms - called the Cavalier, which was appalling. I saw Clarion across the road, and immediately switched my reservation.

The bar and restaurant area are clean and well presented, and the menu good. Wi-Fi is available free of charge throughout the whole establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Clarion and you were pleased with the facilties offered. I do hope you'll chose to stay with us again next time you're visiting Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

lets start with the good points...
-friendly staff, good location, free parking and internet, nice rooms and decent room rates, nice bar area, good breakfast.

We did experience some problems, but have still come to the conclusion that we will definitely be back due to the way our problems were handled by staff, the room rates and hotel cleanliness.
- we booked a queen room, but as the room was not made when we checked in, they upgraded us to a king room but warned us that the view isn't great due to next doors construction however we were told they don't work on Sundays (but we did see a few builders on the site and they were making a little noise).

- the hot water took about 1/2 hr to come on in the shower, and we also waited 2 hours for the water to get hot on one of the nights. We finally got a new room across from us (which was a little annoying after 2 hours of us thinking the whole hotel had a problem).

- it says they have 24 hour room service, but this is not true, and there are few staff at night so when we asked for some drinks to our room, we were told we would need to wait as the receptionist was the only person there so was not allowed to leave to go to the kitchen for us.

- Breakfast was meant to be served from 6.30 but we were sitting at our table for 30mins (15mins of which nobody bothered to turn the lights on!)

Other than these things, our stay was pleasant and staff said we would not have to pay for the food and drinks we had (around £40) and as we said we would still go back to the hotel, they gave us 20% off our next stay. To be fair, other than the hot water, nothing else was a really big issue as it is very rare for us to get up at 6.30 on a Sunday for breakfast, and as long as you don't get a room facing the construction you would be fine. We had a great nights sleep and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If there is still construction going on round the back, as for a room which isn't next to this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckface1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thanks very much for your review. Apologies for the issues with the hot water, unfortunately we did experience some problems with the boilers on the Sunday of your stay but these were rectified first thing on the Monday day. There must have been a misunderstaing regarding the breakfast start time- breakfast is only served from 7am not 6.30am, again apologies if this was not made clear at time of check-in. I'm pleased you were satisfied with the way my staff dealt with the issues and do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

nice hotel, but service somewhat lacking attention to detail. not sure it truely deserves its 4* rating, but definitely a very good 3*+, so make sure the price you pay reflects that

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paprastai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

myself and my partner decided to have an evening away in Birmingham, after readin the reviews we chose this hotel, the reviews didn't lie. Hotel was spotlessly clean, food was amazing and drinks were very reasonable. Staff were all lovely too, very helpful and polite. An excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameTussaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Many thanks for your review. It's always very pleasing for us to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were in Birmingham for a friends party and decided to stay over. We normally stay in budget hotels but decided to treat ourselves for once. The room was lovely, very clean and the service amazing. It has to be the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. We were in a room facing the car park so didn't get any of the noise from the road. Didn't try the restaurant this time but will definitely be back to try in out!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u8k49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I loved the hotel and reception was great and the room as well but breakfast was not good enough, i was waiting 10 minutes and nobody came to serve me!!! Also there's an Indian from the hotel next door served me badly becuase he was a bit rude to me. It's pity that one person ruined my good impression.

Room Tip: the rooms are new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
81 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing