We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, pity they didnt clean ours.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #104 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, pity they didnt clean ours.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed for two nights, and our rooms were not cleaned. House-keeping failed to clean our room at all, and upon returning to the room in the evening, informed by management there was nothing they could do at that hour. They offered free breakfast as a response but didn't even come close to making up for it (especially as we had brunch plans) as after all, you pay for the privilege of a cleanup service (fresh linens, towels etc) when you stay at a hotel and these were most definitely lacking from our stay

Positives - rooms were nice but no temperature control and there is also free car parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avstar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    98
    108
    83
    100
See reviews for
41
184
19
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Me & my husband stayed here for one night which included a 3 course dinner and breakfast. The room was lovely and def 4* it even included bath robes for us to wear. The dinner was beautiful and plenty of choice even on a set menu. The staff who served us were really friendly and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was also lovely and plenty of choice they even cook the eggs and mushrooms seperate for you.

This hotel was a fab break away and I would def go back here.

The only fault that we could find was there was an awful smell around the lift area but if its a beautiful room and good food you want then this hotel is a must visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Always a good all round experience. All the staff want to please all the time and try hard to make a stay comfortable and pleasant. Rooms always consistently good, any problems always taken seriously...my last problem was the free wifi connection not working...they reset the router, all worked again and a thx for pointing it out. Leave something in yr room...by the time you realise Cris at reception probably has it next to her to send on or collect next time. Plenty of TV's in the bar showing sports/music/soaps (just ask) if that's not enough choose every type of food within 5 minutes walk (worst case 5 min taxi)..and the restaurant is always
a great option...but tryJonny wongs all you can eat chinese menu...fresh tasty and amazing value, with a safe pleasant 5 minute walk back to hotel.If you want later entertainment...casino is 100 yds away. No need to be disappointed here...if something's not to your liking just ask.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

It was clear that money had been invested in this hotel. The bed was lovely, nice big tv, swish bathroom. However on closer inspection nothing was quite right. Mugs were dirty, milk in little pots had gone off, fan in the bathroom was very noisy.
All in all it was a pleasant stay as the location for Birmingham city centre was good and TGI Fridays across the road. If i had paid any more than 50 pounds i would have been annoyed but value for money was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked this hotel through a Groupon offer which was £70 for two for one night with 3 course evening meal & breakfast. Emailed on Thursday to request room for Friday night which was confirmed quickly.
Plenty of parking at the back of hotel but car park a little desolate looking and the net curtains on hotel windows a little daunting. Reception very helpful and initial thoughts that the hotel had had a make-over. Check-in quick. Booked evening meal for 7pm. Decor modern but I noticed all the deep skirting boards were marked and tired which was odd & the lift had a strange smell. Room was nicely decorated and bathroom modern but small bin was old and broken. Some things seemed to have been updated but they had left some of the old accessories around. Plenty of tea and coffee, biscuits etc but the kettle was old and leaked!! Looked out the window and that was a big disappointment as we looked over the building work (possibly the leisure centre). Started work on Saturday morning at 9.30 which was noisy. Fortunately we were up at the time for breakfast which was a nice buffet and about 6 other people were eating.
The meal on the Friday night was disappointing too. We were the only people eating - bad sign ! The menu was basic. Waiter extremely helpful (I think he had nothing else to do!!). We chose cream of vegetable soup to start which was ok, my main was grilled fish, chips & frozen peas!! Fish was definitely defrosted and was still cold & boring. Didnt bother to complain just left it and ate my chips and peas - exciting! I had fresh fruit salad which was definitely tinned fruit and I presume it was the same fruit which appeared on the breakfast table. My partner had sherry trifle which was a round sponge, custard on top with a strawberry - not your usual sherry trifle? Asked if they did a particular popular wine but the waiter couldnt tell me and came back and offered me an alternative.
Bed comfortable and bathroom clean. I complained on check-out about the view and asked if it was because we had booked through Groupon but was told no and given a 'sorry'!! On check-in we were told hotel very quite as its holiday time so there was no excuse for giving us that room.
Hotel was situated on the Hagley Road, close to Fridays with a bus stop outside. Buses only go to Five Ways on a Fri/Sat (reception didnt advise us of this). So we had quite a walk to Brindley Place.
Overall very disappointed with this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the car-park and not the back of the hotel. There may also be rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPentreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at the Clarion with 4 colleagues during the week for 3 months on business. The hotel is smart and design led and the rooms are comfortable. It is rare for me to be able to stay in the same hotel for so long (I regularly travel on business) but the friendliness and personal touch of the owners and senior staff make it more tolerable than the anonymous chains who always ask 'have you stayed here before'.
Some of my colleagues did experience some hiccups in housekeeping but I never did so it hasn't affected my review
Some reviews mention language as an issue however a smiling Spanish waitress trying her best in her 1st job in the UK just adds to the character in my view (p.s. the owner is Scottish)
I agree it's got it's flaws but is exceptional value for money and friendly which is a good start

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Sir



Thank you so much for this review – we really appreciate it! It has been a pleasure looking after these past few months. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The location is reasonably convenient for the city centre and the owners have invested to create an attractive, modern hotel but their lack of experience as hoteliers shows in the shambolic housekeeping and poor staff (pot luck, for example, if they do or don't speak English...).
Rooms and bathrooms are consistently unacceptable - food left in fridges from previous guests, bedding not properly cleaned, sometimes bins are emptied but sometimes not. It's not just housekeeping - the bread at breakfast this morning was mouldy.
It's a shame because it otherwise represents good value for money and the owners are very committed - but I can't, won't, stay somewhere that's simply not clean.
Try this place in six months when they have had a chance to get their act together, until then - avoid.

Room Tip: If you really must stay, go for the first floor rooms so you can leave the windows open at night (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,



Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is a valuable tool in helping us assess our business and customer expectations. With regards to housekeeping, we are in the process of training a new team of housekeepers. I have also spoken to our breakfast waitress and it has come to light that she didn’t follow her breakfast checklist with states that all items should be checked before being put on display. I apologise profusely for this incident.

However, I do not agree with your point regarding ‘poor staff’. A large majority of my staff are committed and hardworking. English may not be their first language but they have demonstrated their loyalty and hard work over the past year. Yes, we are committed and yes, we may not have years of experience but we do have an excellent team of staff helping us every step of the way.

In terms of the cleanliness of the hotel, I do not think your review is a fair reflection of our hotel. I agree there have been a few minor issues but nothing so severe as to say our hotel is not clean. You stayed a total of 34 nights at our hotel, that’s a long time! If the hotel was as dirty and un-clean as you have noted, I don’t think you would have stayed this long.

In conclusion I would like to say that we appreciated your repeated custom and we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.



Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#100 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Property: The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing