We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a 4 star .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #106 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never a 4 star .....”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We found the hotel through a last minute booking deal and it was also recommended on trip advisor. We arrived on Saturday tea time and initially we were pleased with our room. However, after we had checked in we only had one towel , 3 pillows, no remote control and bare wires hanging from the wall along. The door had a broken lock and we had to go to reception 4 times to be able to get into our room. We were then informed that there were no facilities such as a bar or restaurant as there was a wedding eying held and we were not allowed to go into the main reception hotel area!
We we t out for the evening and had been promised that everything missing would be resolved when we returned. Unfortunately it wasn't.... But they did have a spare towel behind reception which we were given.
On Sunday morning, we had to go outside to the next part of the hotel for breakfast. We ordered a full English and everything was deep fried.... Including the bacon and the mushrooms. The tea and coffee were cold and the bread was stale with flies around the fresh fruit. We left our food and ate elsewhere.
I would not recommend the hotel as it is still carrying out building work, the staff were not fried,y and the experience was actually quite funny in that it was pure faulty towers .....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    100
    109
    86
    116
See reviews for
42
194
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist who directed us to our executive room, we had a super king size bed, the room was very clean, the room and bathroom were very modern and also very clean. The room was provided with a flat screen tv and DVD player, iron, ironing board, fridge, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits. Parking was free and easy. What made our stay even better was there is a TGI Fridays and beefeater across the road and also other places to eat very close, we went to the plough for breakfast and it was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel it's a good location and only 5-10 minutes away from all the the shops (great place to shop) x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Paid extra for executive room with super king bed, was a treat for other half hotel looked fab online, wanted luxury. Key card wouldn't work door, door and entry system looked ancient felt like I'd bought her to a hostel for the night... When we got a key card that worked we had no electric, 3rd trip to reception was moved quickly to another (cheaper, smaller) room. For which we were offered nothing as a good will gesture, didn't even get an apology. New room wasn't made up we had to take the towels through from the other room and make do. Was annoyed that their was one towel to share between two of us after a bath ...bizarre if you ask me. But we later found one tucked away in the wardrobe (just where we needed it when we got out bath) on the plus side the rooms were big and lovely, beds comfy and plush, are tv was huge if not a 42" then it was a 37" way bigger than advertised, no fridge/mini fridge or safe or anything that was advertised just your usual hotel bits tea coffee kettle. Decided against the £10 each breakfast after reading bad reviews, but Toby carvery was the best I've ever had :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had been to an event at the N.I.A late getting out needed a hotel at 1am, this place was recommended to us by a cpl that were staying there, so they rang them up and asked if it would be possible , no problem was the reply , so off we went, we had a first class room at a reduction price due to late hour, the night porter was first class nothing to much trouble, ordered us a takeaway and brought ordered drinks to the room very quickly.
The room was spotless clean and tidy, good full sized queen bed , a very good sleep was had by us all, highly recommended

Room Tip: All room seem to be the same no problem with choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcapphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Well got there had to move straight away as the cupboards were broken the rooms actually were quite descent for the price! As we entered the second room it was very hot fridge wernt working phone was broken it was all shambles had only one staff working in the night service was really bad as not the receptionist fault! So next morning wanted a refund but the manger at the end did rectify the problem as these things happen and the second night went quite well!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singhs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week on a business trip. Booked through hotels tonight app and they didn't have my booking upon arrival. They also didn't seem that bothered and told me to contact them direct. Upon finding out my iPhone didn't have connection to this number the American guy behind counter said that the hotel phones didn't dial out so I couldn't use theirs and he tried on his personal mobile but he got same response. Again he didn't seem to worried about this but at least he tried.
The hotel itself is in major need of renovation but it does look like they are in the middle of doing this. The room itself was very nice and looked like it had been recently renovated but was not that clean and their was a half loaf of bread in the wardrobe? (Weird)
Tried to order room service at 9.40pm to be told its finished and I'd better hurry up if I wanted a drink as bar closes at 10pm.
It was cheap at £31.00 with hotel tonight £15 discount off my first booking but at £46.00 I think a travel lodge would be nicer.
Shower made a huge racket from the pump and I thought at one point the bathroom was going to shake to bits.
No.... Don't think I'll be returning thank you all the same.
And as for the American guy on front desk...... IT'S CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE... And you go out of your bloody way for customers or else guess what...."THEY DON'T COME BACK"

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmason885111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel was getting work done so it was hard to say how it would be where redone.
They need to sort out the bedroom doors as every night we had to get 2/3 keys to get into the room .
The lady receptionist was fantastic nothing was to much trouble and really bent over backwards to help
All in all good location and if the doors were sorted out nice hotel for the price

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 117 in Birmingham
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
584 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
72 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#82 of 117 in Birmingham
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Property: The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing