We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a decent city hotel at last......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a decent city hotel at last......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Travel a lot for business/pleasure and have got a bit fed up with people saying foreign hotels are not quite the same star rating as UK ones. I always wonder if these people have ever had a 'staycation' as I am usually distinctly underwhelmed by home offerings and often wonder what our tourists think! However the Mint ticked boxes for location (in middle of Broad St action), clean modern room with all necessities tucked away (took me a while to locate the tea stuff haha), free wifi (with IMAC if you havent brought yours), classy products (organic and White Company), nice cafe restaurant , good staff attitude (special mention to unobtrusive breakfast buffet staff keeping things tidy and stocked) and car parking discount (though you have to stay > 9hrs for this). Even the AC managed to cope with the hottest weekend for a hundred years, all at a decent price for a city centre 4 star (unlike most of the others > 100 quid). I will definitely be staying here again and will recommend it to anyone on a short trip to Brum.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    1,015
    348
    133
    56
See reviews for
168
952
140
773
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west mids. uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed a Saturday night at this hotel.
Location is excellant just off Brindley place and Broad Street. A 10 min walk to The Mailbox and City Centre.
The service from the staff on the front desk was also excellant, very friendly and overall only too pleased to help. Breakfast was average, buffett style continental and full english. Tea and coffee was served direct from a large jug. I would have preffered to be able to make my own. Room was of an average size with a tiny bathroom with just enough room to manouvere in there. Bar is ok and stays open until 2am. Its ok for a passing drink or a night cap.
The room was non smoking but had cigarette burns on the furniture. Room has an Apple mac pc which doubles up as a tv, bit of a gimic if you ask me.
Overall the best thing about it is the location. Its ok for one night but i would want a larger room if i was staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imavillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern,clean and comfortable and have an iMac which doubles as a TV/DVD player. The buffet breakfast was the best we've had in a hotel but try to avoid eating around 9.30 - 10.00am when the dining room is very busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsieur_Andrew_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Smart hotel, near lots of lovely restaurants and bars, comfy room with good shower and good value for money, hotel even arranges for discount on nearby NCP carpark. Didn't stay for breakfast as- went to cafe on the canal instead but would definately stay with this chain again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombMargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stopped here when going to the NIA and this hotel is in a fantastic location. Just a short walk to the arena and really close to the canal area with some great pubs and restaurants. The rooms are clean and modern and the hotel is great value for money with comfy beds and nice bathrooms. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Half expected the hotel to be noisy given the location but it really wasn't. The car park is a bit of a tight squeeze if you're in a biggish car but not bad value at £12.50 for 24 hours and seemed secure. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini62c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

fantastic hotel clean rooms fantastic location for nia computer in room only let down people queueing for breakfast items not ready time and time again this would have been 5 out of 5 other than this lots of pubs and restuarants near by nice area of birmingham central just off broad street.asked for white wine in room for surprise got red !!!!

Room Tip: ask for facing square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliejune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel, and the next time you stay I am sure you will see an improvement in our breakfast service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the weekend as we were going to see a show,it was perfect location,2 min walk from the NIA and just a short walk from the canal area with great pubs and restaurants.The hotel was fantastic value for money with a comfy bed,nice bathroom and lovely clean bright rooms.We didnt eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but we stayed late at the bar into the early hours,it wasn't the cheapest for drinks but the staff and service was really good and a great atmosphere.We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked in for 3 nights next week for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHull10, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Prepare for a busy day with a delicious breakfast - choose from our extensive buffet and cooked-to-order eggs to accompany our homemade American waffles. Perfect for a relaxing meal, City Café also serves internationally inspired cuisine for lunch and dinner. Unwind after a busy day over cocktails at Brindley Lounge or pick up snacks, drinks, and travel essentials at the Pavilion Pantry. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing