We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel...on some points it could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality hotel...on some points it could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

very good quality rooms for this hotel, and the price represents good value. But lack of any meals or decent snacks after 10pm is harsh when you have worked a long day and with travelling long distances. The breakfast was a bit of a shambles too, with lots of activity but not much action. Just to get a coffee took a very long time and I would have to say the food was average only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    1,023
    354
    137
    56
See reviews for
171
958
141
784
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

A pleasure to stay here. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was very comfortable and spotless. Great stay. Definately would stay again without a doubt.
Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank FredaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have stayed before when it was under the Mint brand. Since then it has been taken over and re-branded Garden Inn. It has suffered significantly. No room service after 10pm (but you can have a Pot Noodle from the 'pantry - at £2.50!). No robes, no slippers, no fresh water (unless you buy it from downstairs), no ice, no mini bar, cheap toiletries, no air conditioning (it never managed anything but warm air). I could go on.
On one day the room was never serviced (colleagues found the same thing so it's not that I was simply missed - one was told by reception "we don't do the rooms every day"). Breakfast was adequate but boring buffet, and the waitress asked "coffee or tea", serving me coffee even though I said tea...repeatedly! She then spilt it all over the table with no apology. If it wasn't for the fact it was so near the venue of the conference I was attending I'd rate it lower - but it is at least in a quiet area and convenient for the ICC.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Ex Mint hotel adjacent to Brindleyplace entertainment complex. Above average rooms with interactive Apple TV (Skysports, Iplayer, internet etc) with nice furnishings. Buffet breakfast fine and evening meal menu is varied and interested

Only disadvantages were no on-site parking (adjacent NCP @ Brindleyplace available at £15 per 24 hours) not more than 2 mins walk to the hotel. Also I had a room facing onto the front and it was really noisy all night (pubs/clubs emptying, domestics from adjacent residential properties, which if I had my time again I would have swapped - others I know had rooms facing in a different direction and had an uninterupted nights sleep

15 minute walk to the Bullring (Selfridges etc.), and hotel very handy for ICC and Symphony Hall - would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012


If only all budget hotels were as good as a Hilton Garden Inns. 4 star hotel with a budget price. Would always stay at one if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

It certainly feels that way, the amount of time I spend there. I could stay at numerous places in Birmingham but I have been made to feel so welcome each time I return, that I would now no longer think of going anywhere, unless that is when they are FULL, which happens from time to time when the ICC has a major conference on.

One of the benefits is that it is so central, within easy walking distance of all the restaurants and bars in Brindley Place, so you are never stuck for something different to eat.

Since the upgrade the beds are now excellent and I never fail to get good nights rest, the rooms are of an acceptable size, although the bathroom is a bit small and only has a shower, which is fine for me.

Room Tip: They have a corenr room on each floor *22 I believe which is slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights room only.
The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Bed is very comfy, TV/Computer, great shower, safe and fridge. They are starting to look a little tired in some places now, but cleanliness is good so you can forgive that.
Bar prices are a little expensive, but in a 4 star, you expect that,
No complaints at all, staff helpful and friendly and great central location.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, was nice and quiet and lifts were very quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigalLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Prepare for a busy day with a delicious breakfast - choose from our extensive buffet and cooked-to-order eggs to accompany our homemade American waffles. Perfect for a relaxing meal, City Café also serves internationally inspired cuisine for lunch and dinner. Unwind after a busy day over cocktails at Brindley Lounge or pick up snacks, drinks, and travel essentials at the Pavilion Pantry. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing